We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off they charge for everything!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

On arrival we were told our room wasn't ready, when it was eventually ready, we went out on the balcony to be greeted with a whole family of wasps, they put some powder stuff down, and the wasps just kept coming bak, due to the dirty water from above dripping on our balcony, we told the receptionist this, but she was just aggressive, and says well what do ya want me to do extend the pipe, (well yerh) so she got her pool guy/handy man/ rubbish man to sort that out, great no more wasps, then after paying 90 euros for 2 wks of air con, everytime we switched it on it leaked water everywhere, and clearly according to the receptionist this was our fault!!! So again it was sorted out, and again and again, eventually it was fixed, then the cockerels, oh the joyful sound of all nite crowing, (if we found them they woulda been chicken pie) as for a self catering holiday, ya had no oven or grill, and everyday things like a kettle, toaster microwave had to be paid for!! Oh yerh and the pool guy, liked to get his tractor out at stupid o'clock when normal ppl were sleeping, or at least trying to!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TinkaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at Koukounaria and would thoroughly recommend it to all!
We have stayed in several Greek resorts but have never been allocated a hotel of this quality for around the same price on a self catering basis.
My husband and I stayed in Room 333 which had a corner balcony overlooking the pool, which was a gorgeous view. I think we were allocated a room for 4, so had loads of space!
The rooms were really clean and the cleaners came in everyday, changed the sheets and gave us fresh towels. We were really impressed with them
The pool was massive, but was really deep! The shallow end was 1m 20cm!! There is also a shallower pool which has a seating shelf all around it and also a jacuzzi!! very refreshing!
We decided against Aircon (at an extra cost) as it was too expensive, however we decided to hire a fan for 15 Euros for the week, which was perfect. As others have stated there are other extras, but we didn't come on holiday to watch TV and it was too hot to drink tea!!
As others have said you will be asked for a 50 Euro deposit, but if you cannot afford to pay in cash they will take your card number and only bill from it if there are any damages to the room. At the end of the holiday they will delete your card number from their records.
Lino's Restaurant at the Hotel was beautiful - a lovely setting and lovely food. The staff there were really friendly and helpful too
Outside the resort I would recommend popping into Iris Bar (on the way down to the beach). Chris and the staff there were really welcoming and fun and made fab cocktails!
If cocktails are your thing then I would also recommend a trip to Spikeys and Cafe Bar (above the Restaurant called Fidelios). The staff there are brilliantly friendly but not OTT and trying to sell you stuff. Plenty of freebie shots were given!! ;-)
My hubby and I are no longer interested in clubbing etc but Alykes is lively enough as well as being relaxed with lots of lovely Tavernas to eat out at - especially Fidelios!
Try it out people!!
One word of warning, which in fairness is more to do with Thomas Cook, if you are arriving on a Monday morning on a 7 night holiday, you will be expected to pay and extra 40 Euros to stay on the last night as Thomas Cook state your holiday started on the Sunday (even though we didn't fly out of Gatwick until 0120 on the Monday!!) A real con that is an unexpected and unfair extra cost

Room Tip: all we had to do was specify a balcony and pool view when booking the holiday at the Travel Agents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danielle2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

BEWARE Room 304
If you are allocated a room numbered in the low 300's you will be stuck in the basement below swimming pool level.
We were allocated room 304 which had trees blocking what view there was also the swimming pool maintenance room is to the left of the balcony/patio. Also it looked like staff accommodation next door as they were in and out of the room while we were trying to relax on the balcony/patio. We had no privacy all week !
On asking to be moved from room 304, Elainie refused stating that every room in the hotel was full. Nearing the end of our stay she offered us another room at the cost of 30euros. We declined the offer due to it being so close to our departure. The Thomas Cook rep also tried to get our room changed at the begining of our holiday but to no avail.
We will be visiting Alykes again but definately not staying at this hotel.
Andy&Jenny

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Jenny67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koukounaria, Manager at Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Andy & Jenny,

we are astonished about your review. After several times you have been in our hotel you suddenly write such a negative review and try to encourage possible future guests NOT to book our hotel?

We have to mention, that you have been several times to our hotel as a private booking guest, but this year you booked a package holiday through tour operator.

When you book private, there is an immediate contact in between the guest and the hotel, and of course it is easier for the hotel to fulfill special wishes concerning the allocation.

When you book a package, this contact is not possible and also the possibilities for the hotel to fulfill clients’ wishes concerning the allocation are very low.

The tour operator has twice a week arrivals, and only a certain number of rooms under contract, so there is not a lot of room for changing allocations.

You had booked a certain room type with Arrival on Sunday and we supplied you with this room type, but not as wished on a high floor but on the ground floor, as this was the only room of this type left within the tour operator allotment. There is no problem with the ground floor rooms, they are of same standard as the rooms on higher floors.

Your room had a view into the garden and to the mountain, a beautiful view.

We do not have a swimming pool maintenance room next to the ground floor rooms.
We also do not have staff rooms in the pool building, so your argument about "no privacy" is not standing.
If you would have been on a higher floor with balconies to the right and left as you had in your ground floor room, wouldn't there also have been other guests next to you, so again you wouldn’t have had any privacy?

We informed you right on the arrival day when you asked for changing into a higher floor room, that we could change you into a higher room only on the next departure day which would have been the following Thursday, as we were fully booked. (So not at the end of your holiday we offered you the room, and not the rep tried to change your room)

Eleni never told you that you would have to pay 30 euros, such information you had from the representative of the tour operator, not from us.

It is a typical reaction of guests who usually used to book directly with the hotel and suddenly book through the tour operator: they don't understand that we do not have free choice of rooms but can only allocate the room types booked into the certain number of the tour operators' rooms contracted, so we cannot fulfill all clients wishes of a high floor.

It is quiet unmature to tell now everybody not to choose our hotel. Your problem was not us but your wrong expectation that your clients wish through the tour operator would be fulfilled for sure, though it was only a clients wish and we as a hotel did not do anything wrong.

Let us say at the end that we were expecting a warmer good bye as we were not at any point hostile or rude to you. On the contraire: we tried our best to come up to your wish by trying to move you at least for your last days, the only thing we could have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We (family of 5, children aged 2,12 & 14) had a fantastic 2 weeks in Alykes in August, staying at the Koukounaria Hotel. We have toyed the idea with trying a different resort next year but came to the conclusion that we would be hard pushed to beat the enjoyment that our family experienced here so we have just booked another 2 weeks next August !! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful (which made up for the Thomas Cook rep, who was not! ).The pool is kept clean and the beach is only a 10 minute walk away (about 15 minutes back up the hill in 40 degrees!). The beach is clean and shallow so you can walk out a long way. We tried many of the local restaurants and never had a bad meal, our favourites being 'Relax' and 'Fidelios'. Our only regret was not going to see the Turtles do it's on our 'to do list' for next time.
Looking forward to 2012!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Beesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My sister and I arrived 28th August for a 2 week stay. Weather absoulutely fantastic over 40 on arrival and stayed late 30's early 40's for the remainder of the holiday couldn't ask for better than that.
Room wasn't ready but this was fine only waited about 10 minutes, ample time for a chat with Claudia who took details and filled in forms. Room 333 was as expected very Greek! basic but comfortable. Had a pool view room however had a sea view along the front, both very nice. We enjoyed several evenings before going out on the balcony with a little drink! Beware noisy humming fridge and early rising cockerals...lol common tho in Greece, air con drowned the noise tho and ear plugs helped to...lol
Hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the beach so we went there nearly every day. Pool area was crowded when we first arrived but as it was near the end of school holidays we did expect this. Once we discovered the beach it was no problem, always guaranteed a lounger there, fab beach perfect for families, shallow water and nice sand.
Alikes resort is first class just the right amount of tavernas, tut shops and bars not built up at all like Tsillivi and Laganas, both of which i have been to before but never again they are like Blackpool compared to Alikes.
Iris bar just down the road from the hotel is worth a mention, excellent quiz night on wednesdays and a massive screen for watching sporting events on also a crazy golf course for 5 euros each, I let my sister win so she didn't get upset!!...lol
Food was on par wherever we went roughly spending between 20-25 euros between us. Favourite places were Zorbas and the Piccadily also the Asteria on the beach where Vladimir who has looked after you with snacks throughout the day would welcome you at the front and if you are lucky would give you a voucher for a free carrafe of wine which was 1 of the better wines available. The hotel has its own restaurant which also delivers excellent food slightly more expensive but actually was worth the extra as we both felt it served the best food.
Trainaki was worth the 12 euros, wine not too good tho but the rest of it was very interesting, Spiros has a nice taverna,museum and vineyard to look at, a very wealthy man me thinks...lol
We also did the island tour by coach, this was a long day as we were picked up by a coach at 7.50a.m transferred coaches 40 mins later then proceeded to pick up along the coast so we were on the trip for over 2 hours before we actually got going! something to bare in mind if you book it. Rest of the day was ok tho, 15 euros for this, book trips along the street not via Thomas Cook reps as they are nearly double the price, don't no why they do this as if prices were more reasonable surely they would get more bookings, just a thought.
All in all best holiday ever very relaxed, chilled out place. The staff are helpful and friendly particularly Claudia and Eleni nothing is to much trouble.
All being well we will be back next year hopefully with some family and friends in tow.

Room Tip: Perhaps not book a room above the bar or the games room probably could be quite noisy at peak season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bekkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

we stayed only one night were booked for 14 they gave us the first room with a double bed against two walls with a gap between two small for a case to go through we complained they gave us another room god so basic my garden shed has more in it but they said they would sort us a better one out on an upgrade the next day this is all you want on your first day of your holiday but we went along with this next day we went to have a look at the room it wasn't as they say 4 star it was a two star max so we checked out in the reception they have a sign which says 3 star but they advertise on the web as a 4 star not the case well i would only rate this as a max 2 staff are aggressive and defensive would not recommend this there is a lot better for less avoid if you can help it they charge extra for every thing including air con which is standard every were else

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 333trip333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koukounaria, Manager at Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

The truth is:
The guests booked a double standard room at a rate of 47,00 euro (high season!) per night for 2 persons, including breakfast. We supplied the guests with a standard double room, including breakfast, water kettle, TV, air condition, welcome package of coffee/sugar/tea/milk, water, orange juice.
The guests wrongly expected a superior de Lux double room, a room type we never had and never advertised anywhere, obviously the guests mixed up descriptions of other hotels with our hotel description.
We were not obliged to show the guests any other room as we supplied them with exactly the room type they had booked. As we want our guests to feel happy and relaxed, we showed them another double room with different “cutting”, which they accepted for the 1st night.
We went even a step further and showed them the next morning a studio which is normally for 4 persons, a very large studio. The guests informed us even before looking at that studio that they prefer not to stay in our hotel.
The guests’ attitude and behaviour were insulting, nevertheless our staff members were at all times professional responding and not aggressive or defensive.
When guests book privately with our hotel, we do not charge for air condition and many other room facilities extra, so of course also in this case the air condition was included in the room rate.
Our hotel is of officially category “4 stars”, given by the Greek authorities.
The 3 stars the guests saw are actually several “Rewards of excellence” from the British tour operator that sells their rooms in our hotel as “3 stars +”.
We know that the guests were travelling with a big wedding party and from the beginning wanted to stay with the others in their accommodation, so we have to believe that all the noise of these guests was only for having an excuse to leave for the other accommodation.
Last but not least: Though we had every legal right to insist on the full payment of the booked 14 nights, we charged the guests only for the 1st night they really stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

just back from alykes, stayed at the koukounaria hotel was very good it was very clean and had good amenities, The pool area was good the snack bar was excellent and cooked a great breakfast. There was a restaurant in the hotel grounds and the bar area was good. We went in sept after the school holidays but it had a play area with toys tramploine slides etc and had tv screens providing music, football, sport and Jannis at the bar wood put it on what u wanted he was a laid back barman who stayed open till everyone left.The room was very spacious but i think we got a room for 4 and there was only 2 of us the maids cleaned every day and changed towels every 2nd day. alykes is a delightful place and the food is lovely, busy beaches, trips, bars, mopeds,quads,horse & carts,small shops very very hot !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
3.4 km away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
0.4 km away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
15.8 km away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
780 reviews
13 km away
Hotel Strada Marina
Hotel Strada Marina
#3 of 12 in Zakynthos Town
321 reviews
0.3 km away
Montes Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites

Address: Alykes 29090, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Alykes
Price Range: $84 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 star hotel with total 78 studios, apartments and deluxe suites is situated in a beautiful lush green environment of colorful flowers and very old pine trees, with stunning sea and mountain views, just a few minutes walk (300m) from the center of Alykes and the wide, child friendly sandy beach with its shallow waters. We have impressed our guests, couples and families, of whom many are coming back for years, with our high quality services within a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. You will hear the village roosters, goats, swallow parents feeding their babies and many more village sounds in the morning; the smell of jasmine will captivate you in the evening, and at the same time you will enjoy 4-star services in a family environment. We are a little different than the usual 4-star hotels: You will not find staff with the typical uniforms and serious faces - we are a large family who is committed to serve their guests and we love to do this with a smile and a personal touch. Every guest is like a friend of the family that we haven't seen for a long time: we will offer the traditional Zakynthian warm hospitality. We want you to feel comfortable, relaxed and want you to get to know the Zakynthian kitchen, just enjoy your stay at the KOUKOUNARIA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Bookgreece.com and Agoda so you can book your Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koukounaria Zakynthos
Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites Alykes, Greece - Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing