We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The cosy sitting room with log-burner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy sitting room with log-burner
The dining area The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The cosy sitting room with log-burner
The dining area
The kitchen
The master bedroom
The master bedroom
The second bedroom
The second bedroom
Bathroom refitted 2017
The back bedroom refurbished 2018
The en-suite shower room installed in 2018
The lower courtyard
A shady area to relax in the garden
The terraced garden
The garden in Spring
The deck
View along New Street outside Patchwork
Appledore - from the Instow Ferry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fergy199
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Patchwork is a lovely cottage, well equipped and nicely decorated. Very comfortable bed with luxurious bedding.
Everything you need for a relaxing stay. Appledore is a beautiful little town with good pubs coffee shops and even good bus service. People very friendly made us very welcome. We enjoyed a number of walks along the Tarka trail and coastal paths. If you are looking for a chilled out comfortable holiday Appledore and Patchwork cottage are a great combination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality furnishings and bedding
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for booking Patchwork. I'm so glad you had a good holiday. I hope to be able to welcome you to Patchwork again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womble9
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - complete home from home in a beautiful part of the country.”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved staying at Patchwork cottage. It was very comfortable and welcoming. It felt really homely and the owner left some lovely welcome gifts which was a great touch. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. The garden was well looked after and we loved eating fish and chips on the deck in the evening sun. Appledore has some great places to eat and the crabbing was really fun - loved the fact the owner left us a crabbing net and bucket to use too. The beach is a very short drive away and the location to explore the local attractions is perfect. Really hope we can stay there again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage - it felt like home!
Liked least: The parking is a little tight - but soon got the hang of it and very nice to have however tight!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your feedback and kind comments. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollerwall...
Pontypridd, South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Slight mark down because up a small hill if you have mobility issues - slight problem for my mum but we managed - otherwise great location -so convenient. Slight issue over and done now to the very positives: it's a wonderful property. Everything you can think of there - a home from home. The Very luxurious bedding and
beds made it an extremely comfortable stay! We loved it - Appledore is beautiful and we were blessed with amazing weather for the week. Would love to visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning the small issue with the hill - I'll add a note on my listing page which I'm sure will be useful for future guests planning a stay. I would love to welcome you back any time and thanks again for booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our lovely week at Patchwork Cottage in Appledore!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Patchwork is a lovely 'home from home' cottage, with everything you need for a great holiday. The owner left some welcoming treats, which was a thoughtful touch. She was also very helpful when booking the holiday and recommended places to visit as well as a restaurant and pub in Appledore - where we enjoyed some lovely meals.
There is a great view from the decking at the top of the back garden - if the weather had been kinder it would be a lovely place to have breakfast, as it catches the morning sun.
Appledore itself is a very pretty village and the cottage is well situated for easy access by foot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and well equipped, placed well to explore North Devon.
Liked least: The narrow road leading to the parking space at the rear of the property, when occasionally some people parked thoughtlessly on the adjoining road, making it hard to exit.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. All feedback is most useful, but I am especially pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Patchwork. I do hope I can welcome your family back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebesley
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Great location, peaceful, relaxing and very comfortable”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful time at Patchwork, the cottage is set in a great location a short walk away from the main quayside in a very pretty little quiet street. The cottage had everything we needed for us and our little one to enjoy some really rare family time together. Would definitely recommend, and would definitely hope to return! Thankyou, Elly Craig and Isla.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for booking my cottage and taking time to write your review - all feedback is most useful, but I am especially pleased you enjoyed your stay at Patchwork. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSambhi
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Patchwork cottage is a lovely cottage. It's equipped with everything you could need while on holiday. There isn't any view from the cottage but the back garden is beautiful with a lovely decking area which is a really nice to eat. The back garden is quite steep so may be difficult for anyone who as difficulty walking. Appledore itself is quiet but within driving distance of lots of places. I would not hesitate to recommend this cottage to family or friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Patchwork. Thanks again for booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing