We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base.”
Review of Acquamarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acquamarina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Donnalucata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Firstly Donnalucata is a very sleepy place in general. It is also not a beech resort. The Hotel has it's own Platform next to the sea, but the public beach doesn't seem to be used that much and it hasn't really been developed (part of its charm). We spent 4 nights at this hotel as we wanted a change from Catania for the second part of our holiday. This hotel is an excellent base to go exploring around the hilltop cities.
The hotel is really very pretty and the staff are excellent. There is a mixture of those who spoke English fluently and those who don't but all were exceptionally helpful and google translate filled in the gaps. The girl who checked us in (alas, I did not get her name) spoke fluent English and was able to give us a lowdown of the town and the surrounding areas.
The best recommendation was for Retro (pizzeria) and we both agreed that it was one of the best pizzas that we had ever had. We were also directed to Marina di Ragusa for a bit more life which we visited a couple of times.
Breakfast was very nice indeed and we enjoyed many a coffee looking out to sea. The only thing that we would have liked to have had access to was a bar after 8:30 at night, however it's obvious why they don't as it doesn't seem to be that sort of place. Because of this we just grabbed a bottle of wine from the local supermarket on the way back from dinner each night and went up to the top anyway as the door always seemed to be open.
We loved this Hotel and if we are ever in this part of Sicily again, we will return.

To save anyone else trawling through the various forums, this is where we parked during our excursion and can be found on a Tomtom (used on on my phone).

Modica: Viale Medgalie d'Oro. Free parking and just walk up to Modica (8 mins walk or so) free.

Ragusa: Discesa Mocarda. You park at the bottom of the stairs, 5 minute walk to the tourist information it's free also.

Marina Di Ragusa: Via Lesolo (I think). There are two free carparks which were empty during lunchtime on Saturday. We also got lucky by the Marina the first time we went.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lmerhemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Responsabile reception at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear guest of Hotel Acquamarina,

sincere thanks from my collegues and me for reporting your experience in Donnalucata, describing it as a satisfying one.
We are sure your review will be useful to all those travellers intending to visit this beautiful part of Sicily, they will appreciate your advices for sure!
It is always a pleasure to me helping Acquamarina guests in the discovery of our treausures, towns history, restaurants and itineraries.

Many thanks and a thousand times welcome.

Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We have just spent a wonderful 10 days at this excellent hotel. The staff are young, friendly and always very
professional. (They also coped very well with our limited use of Italian )! The hotel is stylishly decorated and furnished throughout and our side sea view room with balcony had everything we could have wished for, including a small fridge and the facility to make tea/coffee. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel with a small car park and beyond this a grassy area adjoining the beach with around two dozen beach umbrellas and loungers and on arrival we were offered the use of two beach towels for our stay which was a bonus. We loved having our delicious continental breakfast in the rooftop verandah bar enjoying the views it's beachfront location afforded. The hotel is located a short seafront stroll away from the centre of Donnalucata where there are some good restaurants and the excellent Blue Moon Gelateria. We ate in the on site restaurant on four nights during our stay and can highly recommend it both for the quality of the food and value for money. The large sandy beach curves round between the hotel and town centre and is ideal for families offering safe bathing and a small beachside cafe. This hotel is also well situated for visiting a number of very interesting baroque towns such as Modica, Noto or Ragusa and we will certainly return here to explore these places further. Thank you again for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, receptionist at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Sirs,
we are very pleased to read that you have had a good stay in our hotel.
It was a pleasure for us to have had you as our guests (always smiling!) and we hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
Acquamarina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

This modern hotel is right on the shore, with a clear view of the sea and the town's beach. Be sure to reserve a sea view room. The rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished.

The desk clerk, Paola, was a delight. She helped us with ideas for dining and answered questions about the Val di Noto towns. She even gave us a nice parting gift.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Responsabile reception at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Sir and Madam,

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Acquamarina.
I like to make guests feel at ease and very very very welcome.
As every good Sicilian, I love Sicily and even though this region makes every traveler fall in love naturally, I try to give my contribution suggesting sites to visit, unknown evocative location and different panoramic places. So I simply did what I like most :D
Thanks from me and my colleagues.
Arrivederci a presto!

Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Great place to stay, The room was really good with corner views of the beach and sea. The only down side was the superb bathroom fittings were too big for the small bathroom, which meant maneuvering round the shower door between it and the sink was tricky. The shower tray didn't drain very well and made the room floor wet. However that aside... really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Responsabile reception at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Sir,

thanks for writing about your good experience at Hotel Acquamarina.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience about the bathroom and we hope you gave immediate advise to the reception desk.
We always try to intervene instantly to solve problems, in order to not compromise the whole stay and to respect and satisfy expectations of our guests.

We hope to see you again in Donnalucata.

Regards
Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We used the hotel as a base while visiting the Scicli and Ragusa area. It's a lovely place, calm, quiet and low key. The room and balcony was just perfect for us. Huge views of the sea and coast, and the sea on the rocks just below as the sound track if you leave the terrace doors open at night! It's worth noting that this can be a breezy coastline, and in our two stays in spring and autumn we've seen everything from flat calm to serious wild surf!
The breakfast on the terrace is just fine.
The staff at reception are very friendly and helpful, although unobtrusive as the reception desk is not in the middle of things. They bravely put up with our attempts at broken Italian and revealed themselves as being fluent English speakers anyway!
There are plenty of restaurants not too far away in nearby towns and villages, but there is one next to the hotel under different management which is just fine for regular Italian fare.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jcstour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Responsabile reception at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Sir and Madam,

we absolutely love your review and your point of you.
Thanks for staying at Hotel Acquamarina and for choosing us again.
Donnalucata is a very nice village by the sea and even in high season, it keeps a quiet atmospehere. Therefore it is the perfect destination for tranquillity seekers.
We use to say that three is the perfect number (and even four, five, six and so on), so please, give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Arrivederci a presto.
Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This is a fairly nice 4 star hotel. It is clean and except for the overwhelming stench of sewage coming from the pipes in the bathroom it was generally a good value.......however the reception staff was dismissive and provided poor service ( we assume we arrived on an off night). We had a beautiful sea front superior room, but the stench from the drain pipes in the bathroom was so overwhelming when we open the bathroom door that all we wanted to do was exit the room. The hotel has an adjacent grasses seafront area with umbrellas which is both lovely send we enjoyed. The breakfast stasis was amazing as was the roof top bar and terrace.

Room Tip: One that does not smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Direttore at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

we are pleased to know that you have appreciated Hotel Acquamarina, but at the same time we regret for the problem about the bathroom, which has compromised the outcome of the holiday.
Hotel Acquamarina is located on a rock facing the Mediterranean Sea. Buildings built on the seaside may occasionally present problems related to the sewage pipeline, as a consequence of the wind but not always predictable.
If you had pointed it out, we would have assigned another room. We perfectly understand how these isolated inconveniences can be unpleasant.
We are already working to solve definitively the problem.
We thank you very much and we greet you cordially.

Hotel Acquamarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The hotel is right on the seafront, with a nice, lawn-covered area to lay by the sea. The breakfast is served in a nice terrace, and the staff is friendly.
Unfortunately the road next to the hotel is pretty noisy, and the majority of the rooms seem to face it rather than the beach. In addition, you can hear the conversations in the room next to you, as well as the sliding doors in the building. Access to wifi was intermittent- and slow.
Last, and not the fault of the hotel, the village lacks a choice of restaurants, or any life for that matter (at least in June).

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MoscouT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Responsabile reception at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for writing about you experience at Hotel Acquamarina, even if we regret you did not enjoy your stay as we always wish for all our guests.

Anyway we remain amazed, everytime in the same way, when we read such reviews and we learn complaints on Tripadvisor, despite our request about the evaluation of the stay and nothing to point out from the guest. We try to solve every trouble with all our means from the beginning to the end of the stay, therefore a marking out would have been enough to help us to improve your stay.

In spite of this way of doing, we continue to devote ourselves in our job to give our best for the satisfaction of each guest.

Have a good summer.
Regards
Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donnalucata
0.7 km away
Zafran Boutique Hotel
Zafran Boutique Hotel
#3 of 3 in Donnalucata
59 reviews
2.1 km away
Donnalucata Hotel & Resort
Donnalucata Hotel & Resort
#2 of 3 in Donnalucata
885 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel Andrea Doria
Hotel Andrea Doria
#2 of 7 in Marina di Ragusa
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#3 of 7 in Marina di Ragusa
173 reviews
15.7 km away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
684 reviews
14.1 km away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acquamarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acquamarina Hotel

Address: Viale della Repubblica 9, 97018 Donnalucata, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Donnalucata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Donnalucata
Price Range: $119 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acquamarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acquamarina Hotel is a recently renovated construction (Spring 2010), situated on a rock overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Furnishings and colours of this small charming hotel evoke the sea world and the fascinating beauty of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acquamarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acquamarina Hotel Donnalucata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing