We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Residence Solemare(Donnalucata)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Corsaro B&B(Donnalucata)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
B&B La Gabbianella(Donnalucata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Glaukopis(Donnalucata)
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
186
125
28
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
125
28
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast rooma sea view roomblue moonminute walkmodern hotelexcellent hotelstaff were very friendlymediterranean seabeach towelsrestaurant attached to the hotelgrassy areabaroque townsstayed one nightfour nightsfree parkinggelateriamarina di ragusa
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 349 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile

We have just spent a wonderful 10 days at this excellent hotel. The staff are young, friendly and always very
professional. (They also coped very well with our limited use of Italian )! The hotel is stylishly decorated and furnished throughout and our side sea view room with balcony had everything we could have wished for, including a small fridge and the facility to make tea/coffee. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel with a small car park and beyond this a grassy area adjoining the beach with around two dozen beach umbrellas and loungers and on arrival we were offered the use of two beach towels for our stay which was a bonus. We loved having our delicious continental breakfast in the rooftop verandah bar enjoying the views it's beachfront location afforded. The hotel is located a short seafront stroll away from the centre of Donnalucata where there are some good restaurants and the excellent Blue Moon Gelateria. We ate in the on site restaurant on four nights during our stay and can highly recommend it both for the quality of the food and value for money. The large sandy beach curves round between the hotel and town centre and is ideal for families offering safe bathing and a small beachside cafe. This hotel is also well situated for visiting a number of very interesting baroque towns such as Modica, Noto or Ragusa and we will certainly return here to explore these places further. Thank you again for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, receptionist at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Dear Sirs,
we are very pleased to read that you have had a good stay in our hotel.
It was a pleasure for us to have had you as our guests (always smiling!) and we hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
Acquamarina Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

This modern hotel is right on the shore, with a clear view of the sea and the town's beach. Be sure to reserve a sea view room. The rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished.

The desk clerk, Paola, was a delight. She helped us with ideas for dining and answered questions about the Val di Noto towns. She even gave us a nice parting gift.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Responsabile reception at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Sir and Madam,

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Acquamarina.
I like to make guests feel at ease and very very very welcome.
As every good Sicilian, I love Sicily and even though this region makes every traveler fall in love naturally, I try to give my contribution suggesting sites to visit, unknown evocative location and different panoramic places. So I simply did what I like most :D
Thanks from me and my colleagues.
Arrivederci a presto!

Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Great place to stay, The room was really good with corner views of the beach and sea. The only down side was the superb bathroom fittings were too big for the small bathroom, which meant maneuvering round the shower door between it and the sink was tricky. The shower tray didn't drain very well and made the room floor wet. However that aside... really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Responsabile reception at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Sir,

thanks for writing about your good experience at Hotel Acquamarina.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience about the bathroom and we hope you gave immediate advise to the reception desk.
We always try to intervene instantly to solve problems, in order to not compromise the whole stay and to respect and satisfy expectations of our guests.

We hope to see you again in Donnalucata.

Regards
Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

We used the hotel as a base while visiting the Scicli and Ragusa area. It's a lovely place, calm, quiet and low key. The room and balcony was just perfect for us. Huge views of the sea and coast, and the sea on the rocks just below as the sound track if you leave the terrace doors open at night! It's worth noting that this can be a breezy coastline, and in our two stays in spring and autumn we've seen everything from flat calm to serious wild surf!
The breakfast on the terrace is just fine.
The staff at reception are very friendly and helpful, although unobtrusive as the reception desk is not in the middle of things. They bravely put up with our attempts at broken Italian and revealed themselves as being fluent English speakers anyway!
There are plenty of restaurants not too far away in nearby towns and villages, but there is one next to the hotel under different management which is just fine for regular Italian fare.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jcstour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Responsabile reception at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Dear Sir and Madam,

we absolutely love your review and your point of you.
Thanks for staying at Hotel Acquamarina and for choosing us again.
Donnalucata is a very nice village by the sea and even in high season, it keeps a quiet atmospehere. Therefore it is the perfect destination for tranquillity seekers.
We use to say that three is the perfect number (and even four, five, six and so on), so please, give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Arrivederci a presto.
Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2016

This is a fairly nice 4 star hotel. It is clean and except for the overwhelming stench of sewage coming from the pipes in the bathroom it was generally a good value.......however the reception staff was dismissive and provided poor service ( we assume we arrived on an off night). We had a beautiful sea front superior room, but the stench from the drain pipes in the bathroom was so overwhelming when we open the bathroom door that all we wanted to do was exit the room. The hotel has an adjacent grasses seafront area with umbrellas which is both lovely send we enjoyed. The breakfast stasis was amazing as was the roof top bar and terrace.

Room Tip: One that does not smell
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Acquamarina, Direttore at Acquamarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

we are pleased to know that you have appreciated Hotel Acquamarina, but at the same time we regret for the problem about the bathroom, which has compromised the outcome of the holiday.
Hotel Acquamarina is located on a rock facing the Mediterranean Sea. Buildings built on the seaside may occasionally present problems related to the sewage pipeline, as a consequence of the wind but not always predictable.
If you had pointed it out, we would have assigned another room. We perfectly understand how these isolated inconveniences can be unpleasant.
We are already working to solve definitively the problem.
We thank you very much and we greet you cordially.

Hotel Acquamarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews