We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a one night stop over”
Review of B&B Hotel Caen Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Hotel Caen Sud
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ifs
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked this for our one night stopover on our way to the Vendee. Very very basic, our room was one the 2nd floor which you had to go outside and up the stairs, the room was very dark with a very dingy little bathroom. Clean sheets and towels. Breakfast very busy anbd crowded, not enough tables. Very overpriced for a bit of bread and dreadful coffee.

Room Tip: If you need to stay in Caen go to the B&B hotel in Memorial - 100% better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Knew that this was going to be a no frills hotel but as friends had used B&B hotel at Calais thought we would try it out! Room was stuffy and stale even though the window was open when we arrived. (the radiator was still on yet the temperatures outside were in the high 20Cs!) The double glazing doesn't keep out the noise of the ring road let alone the air conditioning units running in the adjacent building. The toilet flush was broken reported this to reception and the guy (who was very friendly) came and replaced the broken part. Question is, why was this not done when the room was cleaned as they obviously knew about it!? Didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment on that. Personally I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you like a noisy environment in a stale room.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackyCwiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Was delayed while traveling, which resulted in me desperate to find a place to sleep after midnight. Found this hotel on the ring road around Caen -- a bit of a faff to secure a room via the machine (which provides you with a door code), but got there in the end. Room is dark and stale, but served its purpose: a quick shower, then off to bed :-) Ample room to park your car, and the breakfast is basic but not too bad. I found the man at the front desk very friendly, so can't complain. It is cheap and basic, but sometimes that it just what you need.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

No frills hotel can get very busy so if you can get down to breakfast early. Great location for the boat to and from the UK just of the ring road I have even stayed here for three night in the past great base to do the Normandy beaches from and the food near by is very good as well

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

As part of the B&B chain, we knew that this would be a basic hotel and were fine with that, however this particular hotel should be avoided. The rooms are dark, dank and not sufficently clean. Even though we booked a none smoking room, our room smelt strongly of stale smoke. To top things off, the woman, who I believe is the owner of the hotel, is horrifically rude and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocBar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Went to lie in bed to read a book and found the sheets had brown stains on. The blanket had small burns on and what looked like cigerette ash. Reception was closed so used the intercom and was moved to the next room. We moved all our stuff bar the laptop into the next room and my wife went to bed. I was answering emails surfing the net etc waiting for a couple of things to download before I moved next door and went to bed.

Next thing I know the old woman that was on reception earlier comes barging in screaming because I was still in the room. She let loose a tirade of abuse in English and French causing a massive scene. When I tried the b&b helpline they just laughed and said she's not giving you a refund better stay the night.

Place reeks of smoke as does the crazy woman running the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hexim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This hotel is a good bargain, no frills hotel. If you are travelling by car, it is a good location, just off the ring road by one exit, and two or three exits from a big mall in Mondeville. If you are like us, with two adults and two young kids, it couldn't have been more perfect. Our room had a bed for two , and then two singles in a loft overlooking us, our kids loved that! It was like their own private fort, and we loved that we had a room for all 4 of us, and it was fairly cheap. The room was tidy, parking was good, and the breakfast had a decent variety.
The only hitch for us was that our card didn't work in the machine to check in, so we had to waituntil 5pm for someone to be at the front desk. Just bad luck I guess, as our cards didn't give us any other difficulties, so we went shopping at mondeville, got an early dinner, and came back. It was interesting that you could check in and out without ever having to see anyone! The lady at the desk however was nice and helpful, even if she struggled with English. My kids speak French, and they adored her dog, so it was all good. Over all I would recommend this hotel, it ain't the Ritz, but it was fine for us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ifs
0.8 km away
Kyriad Caen Sud - IFS
0.5 km away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ifs
38 reviews
6.8 km away
Ibis Budget Caen Porte de Bretagne
Ibis Budget Caen Porte de Bretag...
#1 of 2 in Bretteville Sur Odon
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
#4 of 6 in Saint-Contest
146 reviews
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Caen Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Caen Sud

Address: 5 rue de la Dronniere, 14123 Ifs, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ifs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ifs
Price Range: C$61 - C$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Hotel in Caen Need a cheap hotel in Basse-Normandie? We look forward to welcoming you to our B&B Hotel Caen Sud. A cheap hotel close to the centre of Caen and the A13 motorway From the A13 motorway, it's just a short drive to B&B Hotel Caen Sud. History buffs will know that it is located near the WWII memorial. The centre of Caen and the train station are less than 4 miles away. A great central location for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Hotel Caen Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing