We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, Peaceful, Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Pottery

Welcome to The Old Pottery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Old Pottery
Stained glass windows and a sunny garden Traaditional stone-built cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Welcome to The Old Pottery
Stained glass windows and a sunny garden
Traaditional stone-built cottage
Stained glass windows
An ecclesiastical feel
Great kitchen for the enthusiastic or reluctant cook
Comfortable bed, great night's sleep
Stone walls and open rafters, cosy living
Stone niches
An enclosed and private garden to catch the sun and enjoy the peace
Peace, seclusion, beauty
Once you drive through the ford you get a real sense of seclusion and being home
Great for doggy friends
Abundant wild flowers in Spring in the meadow beside the cottage
Sit among the garden flowers
Fabulous walks right from the door - huge open spaces
Ancient monuments
Ancient woodlands
Newport Beach
Celtic window in the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Crymych, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
terr7clar...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet, Peaceful, Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you are looking for an 'off the beaten track' location, then The Old Pottery is just the place. Wonderful for walking on the Preseli hills right outside your door, or a short drive to anywhere in Pembrokeshire and south Wales.
The Cottage is beautiful, with everything you would need if you feel like a restful, peaceful break.
I cannot speak highly enough for location, presentation, or Matt and Babs who are the perfect hosts!
We have been many times to this wonderful cottage and will no doubt be visiting again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind words, we loved having you here too. Come again, any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fender
blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“heaven”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

away from it all down a small country track awaits peace and tranquility a small cottage next to a very large meadow which you can stroll around , two sitting areas in the garden with only the sound of birds. the cottage has every thing you could need, cooking facilities great ,very clean,short drive to cardigan and to fishguard, can walk off to the fells from the cottage seeing ponies with their fouls lots of sheep great views coastal walk fantastic.would love to spend time there again .lovely dog called woody owners babs and matt lovely couple thankyou

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for all your kind words. We hope we will see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ienchante...
Gwynedd
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy clean and well equipped.”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Pottery.Very clean,thoughtfully furnished with all you could need for a stress free holiday.
Great location for exploring Pembrokeshire.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, quirky and secluded get away”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 weeks. What a lovely quirky little cottage, which was very clean and tidy and everything you could possible need is provided. Loved every aspect of it. During the 2 weeks, Babs gave us fresh towels and fresh bedding which was lovely, not to mention fresh flowers on arrival and half way through which was a nice touch. The cottage is super private, and even though Matt and Babs are in the detached house next door you wouldn't know, as its all fenced off. There are 2 private sitting areas for guests, one with a washing line (pegs provided!) and looks out onto the meadow which was one of our favorite spots to sit on a sunny day. If you go out into the meadow and through the woods it takes you out onto moors where you could walk for miles. We walked up to the first hill and to be honest that was enough for us, but the views were worth it. It is worth saying if walking on the moors it is quite boggy, even when its dry so waterproof boots are a must.

The road leading up to the Old Pottery is a bit rough and pot holey but we managed it with just a Ford Focus, you just have to go slow and steady (look out for the blue gate house on the way up sells yummy free range eggs!). One piece of advice I would say is that if its forecast for heavy rain, park your car opposite the gate (more information in the welcome pack) as we did get stuck one day as the ford got so high due to heavy rain and we were a bit stuck (you have to drive to the nearest shops). Definitely recommend Cardigan out of all the nearest towns, it has plenty of shops/banks/cafes etc. Would also recommend horse riding on the beach at Norton stables, seeing the dolphins and checking out the beaches at Penbryn (National Trust) and one of our favorites, Newport (it looks like you can't access some of the beach from the Parrogg but if you drive further along there are laybys to park and you can have a nice walk from the road to the beach from there) which also has the best place in our opinion to eat, The Golden Lion. The Golden Lion doesn't look like much but boy the food is out of this world. Also check out St Davids, although about an hours drive away it is a lovely place. Anyway, The Old Pottery is gorgeous and would definitely recommend it, especially if you want to get away from it all. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Lovely to have you both here and I have to say the Golden Lion is one of our top places to eat too. For future guests, there is alternative parking so you don't have to drive through the river ford. It has to rain heavily for many hours for the river to become impassable and it rarely happens.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi W
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful, comfortable and equipped with everything you will need.
We stayed here for a week, it was so peaceful. Just birds and bees keeping busy.
We met Babs and the two little dogs on arrival, other than that didn't see them at all.

The cottage is up a unmade up road with a ford, so be prepared if you are in a car.

Would recommend it to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyinEX...
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect get-away”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A fantastic find, tucked away right on the edge of the Pembrokeshire National Park. Spotlessly clean, excellently equipped in every way possible, fantastic location, a perfect base to explore the area. Two areas outside for sitting in suitable weather, a very effective wood burner in the kitchen for warming those cooler mornings, but excellent central heating (controlled by guests) throughout the property so really only used for atmosphere.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful on arrival, but otherwise we didn't see them as there were no problems whatsoever. Comments in the guest book mirrored our appreciation and this is clearly a place to return to time and time again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. Perfect in every way.
Liked least: The track up to the house had suffered from the extreme weather over the winter but was soon to be repaired, so should not cause concerns to other travellers.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for all your kind words. We like to let our guests enjoy their privacy and the solitude of the cottage, but we are always on hand to help out if needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing