We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference meeting by seaside resort of Goa, India” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Varca
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Conference meeting by seaside resort of Goa, India”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is my first travel into India for a whirlwind business / tour of 3 nights. Our first destination was Goa with a pre-booked hotel by our local organiser in Goa, a well-known holiday destination for locals and foreigners. The Hotel Zuri White Sands was in Varca, in a more peaceful and traditional district that has distinctive imprints of colonial past from Portugese settlers, which Catholic churches every 5 kilometers. Even our taxi driver was Catholic, bearing religious images in the car. However, his driving was devilish, whizzing through narrow country lanes from the airport to the hotel at 7am. For a sleeping town, he was in constrast rushing like a New York cabbie.

The Hotel Zuri White Sands appeared after about 40 minutes in a relatively straight drive from the airport. It resembles a low density 2 storey hotel resort that is walking distance to the beach front. Most rooms are like chalets with balcony doors facing the circular pool with a floating bar or balcony doors that face the beach. You would not get a sea view being ground level and shielded by coconut trees and shrubs.

The resort is more suitable for families, with a nice pool, garden and access to the ocean. It is a beautiful beach that is similar to the Gold Coast and not very crowded at all, except for a few sleeping dogs and the ocassional cows, yes cows....that roam the beach. Waves are very strong so be careful if you wander in with young children. Ideal for wake boarders!

Breakfast buffet was sufficient with local and continental choices. The fresh eggs and dosai station was a nice touch. There is a Fins seafood restaurant facing the beach but we went out to town for seafood instead. The rooms were reasonable but wear and tear was visible. Bed was sufficiently comfortable but the room service was sketchy as they forgot to leave fresh towels after the daily clean. There was only one pair of slippers for a twin room. For over US$ 130 a night, the hotel only supplied 2 bottles of complimentary water, which is important in India - DO NOT DRINK from the tap even after boiling...so I thought it was not very thoughtful to charge for extra bottled water. Not Evian...just regular local bottled "safe" drinking water.

Generally, the staff were responsive when requests were made but make sure you double-confirm your airport transfer taxi as it is quite a long way to the airport. We went to this hotel for a business conference which was acceptable. However, the wi-fi internet in the basement conference room was very weak so it was not very convenient for web-based presentations.

There is nothing much to venture outside the hotel by walking other than the beach front. So this is not the most exciting part of Goa to be in.

Room Tip: Rooms at near the beach front and pool provides a nice holiday ambience but a longer walk to the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    615
    204
    91
    101
See reviews for
697
471
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the White Sands for 3 days after a tour of the Golden Traiangle in Feb 12. it is a lovely looking hotel in expansive grounds and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, but if you want a double bed make sure your holiday documents say so, becuase ours said twin room and they really didn't want to move us into a double bed room.... aparently that was an upgrade. After waiting over half an hour to check in (no idea why it took so long) and telling them several times we wanted a double not a twin they showed us to our room.... a twin! When we yet again pointed out we wanted a double bed they offered to push the beds together....not the same at all. He then said they had no double rooms free that night but would move us next day. We couldn't be bothered to move again, after 9 days of moving hotels we just wanted to unpack and stay put for 3 nights.

The breakfast buffet was all standard stuff and ample choice but the waiters took forever to come and pour your tea/coffee. One morning we had almost finished our breakfast before we got tea, despite asking 4 different waiters throughout the breakfast to bring it.

The hotel has 154 rooms so only just over 300 people when full, because it is set in such expansive grounds the place always felt half empty and at night it was like a ghost town. I don't know where everyone (it was full at breakfast) ate but it didn't appear to be in the hotel. Consequently there wasn't a great atmosphere. The bar was totally empty the 3 nights we were there (OK the last night was dry because of the election but not the other two) We went to one of the restaurants just outside the hotel gates one night but although much cheaper than the food in the hotel restaurants - which is very expensive - it too was not full, only 2 other couples as well as us. (We ate at the beach restaurant our first night it was a lovely location and they had a great singer on - for 3 couples - we had a main course and I had a pudding, double vodka and coke and 2 beers and it was nearly £60... that's London prices! They wanted 1500 rupees for an outside BBQ buffet one night (we didn't bother). Never went in the Casino... perhaps that was where everyone else was!

The pools are lovely as are the gardens and the beach area, so this is a great place to come and put your feet up to relax. But for us 3 days was enough we were bored with the place after that. It depends what kind of holiday you want....this place certainly delivers peace and quiet.... at a price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gajeckyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuriHotels, Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the slight lapses that happened during your vacation. We have taken care of the coffee service at breakfast. Regarding the bed choice, we sincerely request our guests who make reservation through our travel partners to kindly specify the bed type as it becomes difficult to assign the same in a sold out situation. We once again apologize for the inconvenience but it was the best thing we could do under that circumstance to offer you a bed of your choice on the next day. Thank you for your understanding and appreciating all other services of our resort.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We enjoyed the relaxation this hotel provided after three weeks doing 'the triangle'. Our stay was for 5 nights (March 4th - 9th) and our room was clean, bright and comfortable with a meandering extension to the pool being only a few steps away.The staff were good, helpful and smiled as they went about their work.The atmosphere was conducive to a five star but the reception area is in need of modernisation as it lacks the 'zen' that such hotels favour. Of particular mention is the food at Fins the eatery by the beach. The food was V V good, fresh, well crafted and constructed with well balanced flavours. The chef was excellent and runs a good kitchen.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher_nell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have just returned from a 28 night stay at the Zuri White Sands. We visited last year and we decided to try again this year, and we were not disappointed. There are two pools to relax around, both really lovely pools with plenty of vacant sunbeds to choose from.

The rooms are quite large and provide everything you could need, including a really large shower area with plenty of storage space for toiletries.

We only had bed and breakfast so cannot comment on lunch or evening meals, but we can say the breakfast caters for all tastes. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the 'egg maker' always provides a 'special' egg for you. The coffee boys quickly recognise how you like your tea and coffee, even remembering I like my tea with my cooked breakfast, not with my cereal, so would provide 3 coffees "and a tea later".

There is a Gym, Spa and Beautician providing a whole range of treatments which are provided by extremely friendly staff.

The Staff who do not have direct contact with you, still greet you with a Good Morning Mam as they pass through the grounds.

The client service personnel are very concerned that your holiday is providing you with all that you need, and telephone regularly so ensure your every need is catered for.

The beaches in Goa are wonderful and the Zuri is positioned by Varca Beach so you can enjoy long walks splashing in the sea.

We enjoyed ourholiday so much that we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed for 7 nights to rest after the Golden Triangle tour, along with one other of our tour party.
Plus Points
Stunningly laid out, massive grounds, fantastic pools and comfy pool beds, very pretty to the eye, right on the wonderful beach.
Rooms were spacious, nice balconies, quiet, all the amenties you need for a peaceful stay.
The staff were very friendly (without exception) and just wanted to help and make our stay important.
Defintely a 4/5 star hotel with the wow factor.

Negative points
We fell ill, and so did our travelling comanion. We were all fine when we arrived, ate exclusively in the hotel (buffet style) but on the 3rd day (4th day for our friend) contracted D & V and bad stomach cramps. We are still ill 4 days after returning and the experience ruined what would otherwise have been a great stay. The food was often tepid (not good in a tropical climate) and were they turned over frequently enough? We can draw no other conclusion other than the hotel gave us food poisoning. We all three are very seasoned travellers to the tropics, love spicy food, have eaten in beach shacks and roadside stalls - nothing, not even diarrhea, zip. We frequently gel our hands - all the right things. It has to be poor food hygiene and it makes us very cross that they don't seem to see it or just dismiss us a "europeans" with delicate stomachs - rubbish!!
Next minus point is that the hotel, as with all those in the South are remote, and although there are a few restaurants outside, in the main you will need a taxi to get anywhere. They have a monopoly and you will pay through the nose. Tip - if you are staying for more than a week, take one of the rip off taxis one way to Colva Beach, grab the services of a fair priced local for the return and get his phone number for other trips.

Room Tip: They all looked pretty goo to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuriHotels, Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and thank you for appreciating the services of our resort. We are very sorry that you were ill during your vacation and understand how unpleasant it must have been for you. We wish to state that we completely understand that food is a very sensitive issue and most of our guests are international travelers. Our process in handling food, right from the selection, receiving, storing, handling, cooking and serving are all 100% compliant to international standards (HACCP). In the month of March 2012 till date, we have served 16347 meals in our restaurants and there were no cases of food poisoning. We sincerely wish it had not happened to you as we understand how much it must have affected your vacation.
This is just to reassure you that at Zuri we spare no process or effort to ensure safety and health of our guests. Thank you once again for patronizing us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel, which was once owned by Radisson is now known as Zuri White Sands. The resort is huge and provides all luxuries.
Service: Their service was prompt. We had gone there with our company group. They tried their best to provide early check in to as much people as they could.
Rooms: We stayed in a suite, and this was one of the best room I have ever stayed in! 2 big rooms. LCD TV in both rooms. Clean and comfortable beds with nice pillows. Lots of other things. The room was overlooking their swimming pool on once side and garden on the other side.Really exceptional view.
Food: The food was good. (although it could have been better by their standards). Breakfast spread was good with lots of variety.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_from_pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We (a couple in our early 30's) stayed here for a week in March 2012. Overall the resort is fantastic - exceptional meandering pool; spacious well kept gardens; close proximity to the beach; decent rooms; good facilities; friendly staff and great food.

We did have a couple of annoying issues which prevented this being a 5 star review. Our sheets weren't changed and I had to insist on this a number of times before they eventually gave us clean sheets. There are some snagging issues which would really improve the resort - the main thing being the 'moat' around the hotel being out of commission (although this is just a aesthetic point it does let the appearance of the hotel down considerably).

The staff are on the whole very friendly and we found them both helpful and attentive. The food and drink is over-priced compared to the surrounding venues but I guess this is to be expected.

The taxi issue is a genuine problem. Although the hotel is pleasantly tucked away in a secluded area in South Goa the taxi cartel clearly exploit this and they must be in cahoots with the resort - which is a shame. It does make this resort not a place to stay if you want to go exploring the region as it is not cheap to travel round. If you are happy to stay relatively local then this shouldn't be a problem.

The only real let down with the whole resort is the Casino - which is a complete shambles. If this was in the UK I'm sure they would be forced to close it down under trades description. It's a horrible area of an otherwise great resort and offers only roulette. They should either completely revamp this area and set it up properly or just close it down.

On the whole I wouldn't hesitate recommending this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Pool side terrace rooms have direct access to the pool from french windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
2.2 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
7.7 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
31.8 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Caravela Beach Resort
35.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
37.1 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Property: The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
Address: Pedda, Varca 403721, India
Region: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#3 Spa Hotel in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri White Sands Goa Hotel Varca
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort And Casino
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing