We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Resort, Wonderful Staff, Incredible Wedding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Caravela Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Varca
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, Wonderful Staff, Incredible Wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We recently hosted our wedding at the Ramada Caravela and thanks to the wonderful surroundings and incredible staff, it was a truly memorable experience!

The resort itself had everything that we could have wanted to relax and unwind before, during and after the big day,.. luxurious rooms, huge pool with a swim-up bar, golf course, watersports, yoga classes every morning (highly recommended), beachside restaurant, golden sands and very clean sea.

We stayed full board and the food each morning, afternoon and evening was delicious,.. lots of choice and knowing that everything was washed in filtered water we could enjoy salads and fruit as well.

We had over 100 guests fly over from the UK, USA, Canada, Kenya, Australia and Germany and the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and flexible when it came to checking people in and out - going as far as to upgrade a handful of our guests to deluxe rooms upon arrival.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and came with a variety of 'towel sculptures', including swans and even crocodiles! It's the small details that make all the difference sometimes.

For our wedding we had two days of celebrations, a mehndi night down at the beach village, with henna artists, food, music & dancing and our wedding ceremony and reception 2 days later which took place on the beach and the beach lawns thereafter. The setting really couldn't have been more idyllic.

Special mention must go out hotel staff were extremely helpful and courteous throughout the week and made my wife and I feel like royalty all week. They really couldn't do enough for us,.. going as far as to get the hotel's personal tailor to help make a couple of last minute alterations to my wedding outfit!

A dream wedding and holiday,.. we'll be back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yeschepf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    510
    190
    90
    79
See reviews for
643
436
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Excellent Superior and De-luxe rooms and Suite. Excellent, attentive staff. Very co-operative which helps when planning a wedding abroad. Superb food. Beach about 250m from the main block of the hotel but this is common in Goa.

Ayurvedic centre a hit with our guests and the early morning Yoga with the resident Maharishi.

Grounds lend themselves to the various events of an Indian Wedding Celebration i.e Mehndi etc which we had on the recently jazzed up Beach Village.

Room Tip: I think the standard rooms are due for a refurb so choose if possible from a superior or deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel staff were very accommodating, especially a lady called Mabel. The only big issue we had is that standard rooms were booked and these rooms are located on the back end of the resort far from the actual resort. The rooms was situated in such a place I commented that it must be the help quarters. We paid to get the rooms upgraded and were happy with the upgrade.

Transport is expensive in these parts so sometimes best to hire a car.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room as you can expect a less than 3 star living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and found the staff friendly, courteous and helpful. The location of the hotel is superb, it is on the beach. You can walk for miles along the soft sand, it is worth making the effort to go down just after sunrise to see the local fishermen bring their catches in. We stayed bed and breakfast althiugh we did eat in the restarant at lunch but preferred the experience of the local shacks and restaurants for our main evening meal. we were not disappointed in any of these, all of the food we ate was wonderful.
The breakfast in the hotel was buffet style, with a range of doods available from cereals and yoghurt to curry and nan bread. The freshly prepared indian wraps and omeltes were delicious.The pool area was clean and the sunbeds were comfy, we always manged to find a bed with the help of the pool attendents, it is not their fault if people reserve beds and then disappear to the beach all day only to come back at 4.00 for a last swim. I think this is a problem in most hotels around the world and is down to the selfishness of the individual rather than the hotel staff.
Our room was in the new block, although I think it was new 20 years ago, it was clean and the bed was comfy, although we didn't have a sea or pool view we overlooked part of the golf course and we could also see the fantastic sunsets. The block does need updating as it is looking a lttle tired, this is the same for some other parts of the hotel but this did not affect are holiday in anyway.
The hotel staff put a lot of effort into ensuriing you have a special stay, everyone was very polite and helpful, we were not leaving until 9pm so we were given another room for the day so we could check out late. This is our first time to this part of India and we would highly recommed this hotel to other people wanting to stay in a hotel with a great location, friendly staff, excellent service and quality food. A big thanks to everyone at the hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool have a good view especially at night and the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBearBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Fardre
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have just returned from the Ramada Caravela where I spent 2 weeks relaxing in the sun.The hotel is on a lovely beach with many beach shacks from which you can purchase very reasonably priced food.
On arrival we were met by a hotel representative who asked us to be patient while they found us accommodation. We arrived at 11am and normal availibilty is around 2pm, it was only about 30 minutes before we were shown to our room 117 which was a Deluxe room with pool view.
I was a little dissapointed with the room, it was not too large with twin beds (I had requested King) but had a reasonable bathroom with walk in shower and adequate wardrobe space . The room had been hastily prepared and as a result was not cleaned properly adding to my dismay. I will say that this opinion was made after a very long and tiring journey and over the course of the first week did improve slightly.Cleaning in the rooms and around the resort was the weakest point with paths covered in mud from the gardeners who tended the gardens constantly but never cleaned up afterwards.The seating area around the pool wasn't swept or washed down whilst I was there and umbrellas seemed to be in short supply.To ensure a sunbed around the pool you must be up early as many other guests reserve beds around the pool and then proceed to the beach from where they return around 4pm.
The facilities on offer are good , the pool is a nice size and deep (6ft) which made swimming easy.The spa offered varied treatments at a reasonable price, Auyereveda was also an option . The main buffet restaurant was available throughout the day although breakfast was by far the busiest time and there were many times whilst I was there that food was unavailible and very slow to be replenished. . Food on offer was varied and although service was very slow it was good.The hotel beach shack offered fresh fish and an Al a carte menu and was reasonably priced and good quality, the Caravela Italian restaurant was also good but when we went we were the only guests in there which made for a very subdued atmosphere.
The hotel staff were incredible and couldn't do enough for you , they smiled and were extremely polite throughout which enhanced what was a mediocre holiday.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms or suites are the best on offer with views usually of the pool,the suites are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaselen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My boyfriend and l stayed here for a week, arriving on Christmas Eve. Upon arrival, we were impressed by the hotels beautiful location. We had mistakingly chosen all inlcusive (our error, based on previous experiences in the Carribean and despite everyone telling us not to!), and were quite shocked when checking in at the restrictions placed on this option. For example, l think there were five cocktails, finishing at 11pm, only being able to eat at one restaurant at a time. As we were there to relax, we thought we would make the best of it - we were in Goa for Christmas and New Year, so things could have been worse.
Our room was a garden view, and faced a wall in a block that could have been from 1980's Russia (no offence to any Russians!). Still, it was clean and how much time do you spend in your room on holiday?
We mentioned this to the rep, who spoke to the desk who then kindly moved us to an ocean view room, with the most amazing views - we were delighted. Until, we needed to plug anything in. Two nights in a row, we sat in waiting for an electrician to fix the plugs again so we could finish getting ready to go out. Despite the mini bar, there was no bottle opener, and a maid allowed us to use hers once before handing it back! As we were there for only seven nights, and we were now four nights in, we were not happy.
Having spoken to our rep again, we were moved to a deluxe room which was modern, clean and beautiful. We wish we had paid to stay here when we arrived and we would have had a much better experience.
The staff in the various bars were helpful and friendly and always willing to help (though on NYE there were NO bars open in the hotel as every one was allocated to the Gala dinner which we did not attend, which seemed ridiculous). It was only the front desk who seemed completely unhelpful and verged on rude, aside from Joe. This culminated in a 30 min argument upon checking out when we were presented with a huge number of bills, some of which were not even signed by either of us. We point blank refused to pay anything we had been told was in the all inclusive, and left with a bad taste in our mouths.
We made use of the cabs to do some excursions to other beaches, restaurants and to see the elephants, and ate out most of the time in the little huts. We visited a particlaur shack, Kuba (l think) who did an amazing sea food meal, and rode us home on the back of their jeep on plastic chairs at midnight. Amazing. What an experience.
Overall, we would not stay at this hotel again and would not be keen to recomend it to friends or family based on our experience, other than to say the grounds and beach were beautiful, but the front desk seriously let it down.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thumpergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

we booked a 3 nights package for this resort through yatra.com and checked in on 22-2-12. everything went smooth when we checked in and stayed there for three days. but right at the time of check out i came across the most horrible truth behind the false beautifful face of this resort 's authorities . i had paid the full amount of package to yatra.com and recd hotel confirmation vouchers and cash receipts for the same . but at the time of check out the hotel staff told me to pay up 5200/- as they have not recd the full amount from the agent so i must pay up . i told them this was completely wrong since this was a matter between them and yatra.com . but their reservation office executive ankit vij rudely told me that i must pay up immediately . i showed them my documents but they simply refused to accept them . i told them that i had train to catch at 10 am but they remained adamant . at last i threatened to report the matter to the consumer forum would file a suit against the resort for mental harassmanet and cheating , this is when they finally let me off saying that they would resolve the matter with yatra.com . is this what one should expect from a so called premier resort . i felt humiliated embarassed and went through mental stress becoz of them , and all the good memories of my trip were erased bcoz of the inappropriate and rude behaviour of ramada management . but will they repent this incident or things like these will keep happening is the big question .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank amit113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
3.9 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
6.0 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
36.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
4.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Caravela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Caravela Beach Resort

Property: Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Address: | Salcete Goa, Varca 403 721, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
#4 Spa Hotel in Varca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Caravela Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe hotel. Beachfront, secluded luxury beach resort with 199 rooms, 5 stylish restaurants, Ayurveda and yoga, 9 hole golf course, fitness center, and kid friendly. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Caravela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Caravela Beach Hotel Varca
Ramada Salcette
Salcette Ramada
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort Goa/Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing