We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the loch tummel hotel”
Review of Loch Tummel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tummel Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Tummel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tummel Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

i am writing to say this is the first time i have been on a lochs and glens holiday.my friend and myself decided to do the self drive holiday. we arrived on the 27th of march for a 4 day break. we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff.we were given our meal times and key to our room . it was a very lovely room with a view over the mountains.very clean and very comfy beds . we could not fault the room. our first meal that evening was excellent .great entertainment that evening. breakfast was very good . we could not fault any of the meals or the evening entertainment.we are looking for our next break and will definately be booking another lochs and glens hotel maybe we will try the coach holiday next time it will save me having to drive . keep up the good work lochs and glens staff you all do a excellent job and make the holiday very special thank you for a great time

Room Tip: rooms\ to the front have a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

My first 5 day holiday with 'Lochs and Glens' 23/27 Mar 2012. unfortunatley spent far to much time on the coach , bad planning meant that the time one spent at the various 'tourist' sites left just enough time to have a meal and a quick walk around the location, no time to "visit" we were so fortunate to have glorious weather. Regarding the Hotel, it is in a beautiful location 12 miles from Pitlochry. The rooms were quite comfortable, we had a terrific view over the loch. The Hotel had no facilities for purchasing those forgotten holiday items, like toothpaste, etc, it had a small cabinet that sold tourist 'Tat'. The only snacks available were packets of Oatmeal/shortbread biscuits. Meal times were very '60's Butlins and your meal times varied from day to day, you were called in fed, and then out as quickly as possible. Your tea at breakfast was already on your table, if you like 'stewed tea' alls well. On returning to the hotel from an excursion, you had about 60minutes to prepare for your evening meal. There are no facilities nearby, if you do not go on an excursion the only food available to you at lunchtime are sandwiches which you must order before 11.0a.m. On leaving the the hotel at the end of your holiday, packed lunches are not available as according to health and safety rules the hotel has not got the necessary refrigeration???? work that one out yourself. Once darkness comes you cannot leave the hotel as there are no lights whatsover and you are on the edge of a loch. The only change in the 'entertainment' was that of a different accordion player. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was quite good. If you want a quiet and relaxing holiday an excellent location but bring a torch and lots of snacks. We were very fortunate because you could not get a coach holiday, were the coach passengers were superb company.

Room Tip: Just check the rooms location before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank anthony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Really sad to read the comments from Kenneth M. We have just returned from Loch Tummel Hotel and had a wonderful break. Our room was comfortable and warm (in fact a little warmer than we would have liked on occasions but we could open the window to cool it down). Water in the bathroom was hot and plentiful. Our friends had a problem with the flush in their bathroom and this was dealt with in minutes. The staff were all friendly and to us this appeared genuine not at all false. The food was of good quality, always hot and service was efficient. Menu choices did include things like liver and onions (didn't see spag bol) but some people do enjoy/expect this type of food. One of our party ordered the liver and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband is a very fussy eater and had no problem with the choices. The trips out were good and drivers informative and efficient. Our friends have used Lochs and Glens before but it was a new experience for us and we would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Happytripper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Absolutely terrible experience with this company and the hotel of which i have been to on several occasions and i must say that it has gone downhill and where previously i would have recommended i can only recommend to avoid now, carpets have black duct tape sealing edges in the main foyer not a good impression, gift stand has nothing but cheap tack, as for the food albeit cooked well but as for choice and style is this company living in the 70's ??? spag bol, liver and onions, boiled veg, bought in frozen fish which to say the least should have been thrown back to the sea, god knows what decade the chef is living in or how old, whilst in the restaurant DO NOT expect a dining experience staff are friendly but it comes across as over friendly to compensate for what can only be misgivings from higher authority, of which i can only say the management are also from the 70's as in Fawlty Towers, rude and non helpful and so many false smiles, rooms are cold and hot water is rationed and when i asked about this was told that this was due to the head office now controlling the system regards heating and hot water, this used to be a family run company and that atmosphere used to come across but now it is below standard of a certain chain of motorway motels and i can only say it has lost touch with its customers and customer relations, i have stayed in superior B&B's to this so called hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank kenneth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Another great holiday with Lochs and Glens. Clean hotel, friendly helpful staff and brilliant food. Bedrooms clean and spacious as are the bathrooms. We had a corner room overlooking the river. The only downside was the heater on the coach was broken and the temperature rose to a sickening 25 degrees. The driver did try to leave the heater off but people then complained they were to cold, he couldn't win. Can't wait till Lochs and Glens open their new hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank deejo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have had another lovely holiday with Lochs&Glenns .The hotel Loch Tummel was excellent rooms lovely and clean beds comfy ( we had two in our room a double and a single ) bathroom was clean and spacious loads of hot water . The food was absolutely wonderful 3 courses and a good choice something to suit all tastes ,breakfast was equally as good with plenty of choice . The staff are very friendly and efficient they bring your meals out piping hot very quickly I have never been in a hotel that can serve as many fabulous meals in the time that they did . Overall this five day holiday with excursions every day and evening entertainment was the best value for money anyone could wish for . A mention too for Colin our driver who was very informative on all our journeys . We will be holidaying with Lochs & Glenn again for sure .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank lhoultby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Just returned from a 5 day trip with Lochs and Glens. Our forth trip with them but the first at this hotel and they have it down to a fine art.
The coach was warm and comfortable and safely driven through icy roads. We were greeted by a member of staff who boarded the coach and quickly handed out room numbers, so there was no queueing at reception ,just welcoming staff pointing you in the right direction ,within 5 minutes of arrival we were in our room and our luggage delivered to the door.
The room was clean, comfortable and cosy , it was -7 outside.
The log fire in reception was a cheery meeting place as we gathered for our evening meal, which you had to check the times for as they are on a rota, there are 3 sittings but in different areas of the dining room so your allocated table is yours for the duration.
The set menu always had 3 or 4 choices for each of the three courses. At £146 for a 5 day trip we did not expect a la carte but we couldn't fault the basic good food, well cooked and presented , served by smiling, courteous staff.
The entertainment, which isn't compulsory, a local musician, bingo etc. would not have suited
youngsters but a mid week trip in early Feb is bound to be full of pensioners, a lively bunch even so.
Breakfast was superb, choice of cereals etc., whatever you wanted, the full Scottish fry up was a delight, no grease, and endless tea coffee and toast, we were set up for the day.
The hotel overlooks the river and the loch , we did a pleasant walk up through the woodland and alongside the viaduct which feeds the hydro scheme.
Did three jolly trips to, Edinburgh, Blair Athol castle and Pitlochry.
Overall a good break, couldn't fault it, still don't know how they do it for the price! Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tummel Bridge
12.0 km away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,269 reviews
11.2 km away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
212 reviews
17.0 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,878 reviews
16.1 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,046 reviews
13.5 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Tummel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tummel Hotel

Address: | Tummel Bridge, Tummel Bridge PH16 5SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Tummel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tummel Bridge
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Loch Tummel Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing