We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Almost exactly two years to the day after our first visit in 2010 we arrived at the Casa del Mar for a four days stay. We had enjoyed our first stay so much that we promised ourselves that we would go back again and we were looking forward to our holiday in Langkawi very much. The hotel is very accessible being only a 10 minute drive from the airport and on arrival we were treated to some very welcome cold towels and a refreshing ginger drink. We had booked a 'pool-view room' but unfortunately we were given a room at the end of the row with a limited view, mostly of the building in front of it even though we had booked our pool-view room almost a year before. The staff at reception said they would check and see if there might be any other rooms free the following day and they would get back to us. No-one ever got back to us so we stayed where we were. The renovation of the hotel includes a walled-in patio area in front of each unit which I suppose gives more privacy but also somewhat blocks the view of the pool and the sea. I think I preferred the look of the hotel pre-renovations! The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed and we slept very well. Unfortunately the delicious cookies provided were not replenished for 3 days and I finally had to ask for some more cookies to be delivered to the room! A nice idea to provide things like that but a certain lack of consistency spoils the overall effect. The pool area remains wonderful and it is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the lovely views. The ice water, fruit and cold towels are much appreciated. The breakfasts too are excellent and a very civilized way to start the day. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful and obviously do their best to make their guests' stay pleasant and memorable. Apart from the not so wonderful view from our room the other slight disappointment was that the GM failed to introduce himself although we were there for 4 days and we were 'returnees'. He was quite visible around the hotel but he was obviously not that bothered about meeting us although we were returnees. Given the fact that it is a small hotel, it really is not that difficult to get around to every guest and have a bit of a chat so we were a bit disappointed that he didn't make the effort with us. Maybe next time! All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Casa del Mar although perhaps not quite as much as the first time but I would still definitely recommend the hotel if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place for a few days on the beach. By the way, the neighbouring Pelangi Beach hotel's rooms now cost more than those at the Casa del Mar!

Room Tip: Avoid being given one of the pool-view rooms at the end of the row like ours (called Elok) or the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guests,


Many thanks for your long review and feedback. We are delighted you liked your stay.
I have discussed and investigated with the team why you were not having the cookies replenished. As per our records your room was on DND (do not disturb) and our staff in charge of minibar did not come in your room. He may not have followed up with you directly later on during the evening, this is our fault.
As for the reception I understand they came back to you the same day. They were unfortunately not able to propose you any other room as we were fully book and at that period of time we have many long stays. As you ask to look again they should have come back to you the next day instead of waiting for you to come to the reception as per they understanding.
As for my introduction to you, you are right and I apologize to you. In no circumstance I meant to be rude or avoiding you. I am usually spending time at the bar every evening around 6.30pm with guests as I don't like disturbing anyone during meals or afternoon peaceful time around the pool and beach.
Again my sincere apologies for those glitches. Thank you for highlighting them as they are taken in a positive and constructive manner.

I hope you had a safe trip back home and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

PS: the private garden or courtyard at still a bit bear but imagine one year from now, the 150 bougainvillea we planted will be covering the walls. At last rooms are two feet above the ground and always garantee you a sea view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,958
    263
    50
    16
    11
See reviews for
197
1,675
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The staff here were amazing. They greeted us by name at the door, gave us a special drink on arrival and were always happy to talk and help out, whether at reception, the bar or the restaurant.

The room was excellent, with daily cleaning and turn down service. It was always nice coming back after dinner to mood lighting, some scented oils and jazz music.

There were plenty of lunge chairs on the beach where we spent our days in the sun. A friendly waiter would come round with a jug of iced water and cups for you. Looking out over the crystal blue ocean.

We enjoyed ourselves with the nightly happy hour, in which you got to spin a wheel to see if your next drink was free.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Becky,


Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience indeed!
We look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 12 nights staying at CDM. From the moment we arrived to be greeted by a smiling Connie and Mizi until we left to waved farewell by a still smiling Connie we had a fantastic holiday. Our sea view room- just a few steps from the beach was spacious and well appointed- a most comfortable bed!! The beach is beautiful and not too busy especially at the CDM end. There are lots of good eating places handy to the hotel though we found that our most favourite place was the hotel itself.and its lovely waitresses.Why go elsewhere? The SPA deserves a mention too- wonderful treatments from very capable friendly girls.
The hotel's biggest asset is its smiling, very HAPPY friendly staff who are also very efficient- nothing is too much trouble and their attention to detail is amazing - all overseen by Tom, the very accessible, highly visible manager.
Our favourite spot was round the bar at happy hour when supplied with cocktails we exchanged chat with our fellow guests and watched the sun go down. Idyllic!!
We are coming back.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good. It just depends whether you like the swimming pool better than the sea wheth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JHBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for spending the time to write this long review which will be shared with the team.
We are delighted you loved it! We look forward to welcoming you again one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Myself and wife stayed here earlier this month for 4D/3N - in the "Elok" sea view room.

The room, the resort, it's location and the staff made our stay here very memorable and something we will cherish for life!

An outstanding boutique resort in every way - we now have to find reasons for coming to Langkawi again - and if and when we do - we will stay here only!

The highlight of our stay here was the tuesday evening drinks and get together for all guests and an informal talk by Tom. This has been very memorable - unfortunately we missed out on clicking pictures of this event.

Our only regret - we wanted to take the evening cruise on the Capricorn II - but the required minimum four could not be reached - so we were not able to enjoy this cruise. Hopefully next time !

Room Tip: Our room (Elok) was excellent - try for this room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatoMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guests,

It is not everyday we have the chance to welcome people from Mumbai! We were delighted to have you as much as you were staying with us!
I hope you had a safe trip back home and that we may welcome you again to Langkawi one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel is situated in a fantastic position on the beach. The staff are all extremely friendly and very efficient, making a stay at this hotel highly memorable. The spa facilities are very good and provided by experienced therapists.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience which will be shared with the team. We are delighted you loved it! We look forward to welcoming you again one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had 6 nights at the end of a long holiday of a lifetime. It was fantastic from the time we were welcomed by Connie, and made comfortable at the bar with Jack, Bobbie and Mood. Our suite was superbly comfortable and there were all sorts of extras that made us feel so valued and privileged - from iced water, cold towels, fruit and ice lollies on the beach to happy hour and free use of bicycles to work it all off.....

Room Tip: book early - a lot of repeat customers booking early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twister_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your experience which will be shared with the team. We are delighted you loved it! We look forward to welcoming you again one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Casa Del Mar is the most amazing place I have ever stayed and I have stayed in some great places around the world. From the minute you walk in, the staff and Tom are so incredibly friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much. The rooms are amazing, the service fantastic and the amenties and beach out the front of your door step is sublime!

Room Tip: Bambu room is awesome, you get your own balcony with two day beds to watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Jenn,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had at Casa.
We are delighted you enjoyed the resort environment and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
9.1 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
15.6 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
15.1 km away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
21.0 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
19.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Property: Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing