We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice baliness concept type of resort but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This resort have potential to be a very nice boutique resort. All they need to do is just make some easy simple improvement! They can just provide some toiletries ie, shower gel, shower cap, hand towel, toilet floor mat! As for breakfast, they need to seriously look at the cleanliness of it as the staffs basically seem very okay with all the flies on the food. Despite very limited choices of food, jt bread n fruits, each person limit to one egg???!!!!???
Aside, after we check in no one assist us to bring our luggage to the room?

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HermaGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing place to just stay for the sun & sea, Sunset beach resort is a nice place. Its only less than 20 mins away from the airport and walking distance to Pantai Cenang beach where most of the restaurants and stores are.
The beach is clean, the resort itself is clean as well though we were armed with mosquitoes coil as well.
The staffs are friendly and helpful, they help us locate a car rental so that we can roam around the island.
Each unit houses two rooms but you will hardly notice that the other room travellers. All units are surrounded by lots of greeneries! Nicely done.
A bit of communication problem with the server at the breakfast corner.... as my little boy dont like to eat eggs, I was trying to ask for more sausages.... their buffet only comprise of fruits, bread, cereals and hot drinks. either omelette, scrambled & fried eggs with half a sausage is served by order as they cook in the kitchen...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canberra421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We spent 2 nights at Sunset Beach as part of a trip to Malaysia. Our friends from KL had been here before and recommended it so we were happy to take their advice.

It was a very pretty resort, with individual bungalows on either side of tropical gardens and little water features. Reception and check in was swift, and we were given welcome flowers which smelt gorgeous to put behind our ears! We had the smallest room - simply furnished but absolutely fine to lay our heads.

Breakfast was served in the dining room overlooking the beach and was a good mix of fruit, local food and pretend western food. It was self-service, with an option of eggs cooked to order. I had a very tasty omlette.

We enjoyed the beach, but found it could have done with some serious litter picking. We used the bar next door a lot for delicious cocktails and there were plenty of good restaurants on the main strip. Red tomato cafe was good for pizza/pasta, in particular.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mervina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have been stayed in Sunset Beach Resort during our 3 weeks travel around Malaysia. We have stayed in Langkawi for 4 days and glad that we have decided for Sunset Beach Resort. The most friendly staff in Langkawi, very clean and we had the beautiful beach with palm trees almost just for ourselves! Just perfect. And there is a superb bar right next to Sunset resort, on the beach, called Oasis on the beach - gorgeous food & drinks, great vale for money.

Room Tip: Oasis on the beach Bar - gorgeous food & drinks, great vale for money Rent a scooter right in S...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We've bumped into this resort by accident and only learned afterwards how lucky we were. it is porbably impossible to find such a well situated and lovely place at this price in Langkawi. The crew is very helpful and friedly and the rooms are nice and clean. The direct access to the sea is another pro.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigolasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a quaint little resort. Basic but clean rooms, very well looked after garden designed resort. Breakfast is simple and not too bad. However, we were disappointed by how the staff treated us. We were given very obvious different type of treatment compared to the foreigners that reside in the same resort. One of the staff was rude to my friend during their last call at breakfast whereas they were all smiles and all apologetic to foreign tourists. The same when we checked out. Foreign tourists were given flowers and smiley send-offs and they didn't even bat an eyelid when we left. Although we love the place, we are disappointed by how being Malaysians, we were treated poorly despite the fact we paid the same price as any foreign tourists and did not do anything to justify the kind of behaviour given to us. Overall 4 points to the resort and 2 points to the staff..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jazzlyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Researching before I left, I was looking for value, charm, a beach, and an inclusive breakfast. Tripadvisor had plenty of reviews from satisfied customers – but were they accurate?

This small resort and front office is run by smiling friendly English speaking Malay women, Mas, Ela, Sarah, and Ida. They called us by name, and made us feel really welcome, also helping with booking day trips. Rooms were quiet and pleasant too .
Breakfast was good, with fresh fruit and cereal, noodles, eggs, toast and jam, with a view a lovely white sandy beach and little palmed islands.

Also found nearby a car to rent at 50M$ per day, and petrol in Malaysia cheap at about 2M$ a litre, less than a USD.

Room Tip: Just talk to front of house - they will tell you what there is.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tflsjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
11.5 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.6 km away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
429 reviews
14.0 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,382 reviews
13.1 km away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
498 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $51 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing