We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Peace & Lodge(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Welcome to Heaven(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leyenda(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hacienda del Mar(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tropicale Guesthouse(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Sueno Tropical(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas El Colibri(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Esperanza(Playa Carrillo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
175
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian coupleevery morningcosta ricalovely hoststhe breakfast areathree nightshome away from homefiorenzocinziahomemadesamarabeachbnbbirds
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 181 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2015

The details are everything. But they are nothing without a good structure at the base. At Casa Buena Vista, a few hundreds meters from the huge and quiet playa carrillo, both aspects are excellent. Perfectly clean and ordered, every single detail is almost maniacally curate. And what about the organic, rich and so tasty breakfasts prepared with absolute mastery by Cinzia?! But maybe the best things are Cinzia and Fiorenzo's hospitality and kindness, not to mention their knowledge and experience about living here (25 years!) and the art of guest reception and entertainment.

Room Tip: both rooms are excellent!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Luca_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2015

This was our first stop in Costa Rica. The place was beautiful with great giews. Walking distance to nice resturants.
Staff was very helpful, got us a driver for the rest of our stay over exploreing the country.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2015

True Costa Rican Pura Vida. Lush gardens, clean rooms, peaceful surroundings. Cinzi and Fiorenzo thank you for wonderful food and hospitality. Location location value valuel Need I say more. Vegan never tasted so good. Fresh marmalades, sweet cakes, breads, eggs and fresh fruit salad...devine.. Can't forget the coffee! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

We chose Casa Buenavista based upon the excellent reviews. Cinzia and Fiorenzo are special hosts as described and certainly helped make our trip perfect for our needs.

Playa Carillo is an amazingly beautiful and unspoiled beach. Breathtaking might be the best way to describe it. There are no hotels on the beach and never will be any. Therefore the lodging choices and restaurants are all up a hill, including Casa Buenavista.

The property is maintained impeccably and was clean and tidy. The breakfast was indeed wonderful!

We did check out a day earlier than planned because my wife sprained her ankle a few weeks earlier. I took a walk down to the beach and back, but my wife is at least a few weeks away from recovering and making that walk, as it is up a fairly steep gravel road.

Cinzia graciously accomodated us and gave us many excellent tips. We relocated to a hotel directly on Samara Beach, which made everything much easier for my wife.

In making a choice for your lodging, if you are looking for beachfront, the price will be considerably higher for comparable properties. If you want to be closest to the most beautiful beach in the area, Playa Carrillo and Casa Buenavista is a great choice. If you are looking for more spacious quarters, the Samara area would be a better choice. The rooms at Casa Buenavista are adequate in size, but when luggage is placed in the rooms, it can get a bit tight.

But all in all it is a great value and affords the opportunity to stay in a superbly operated bed and breakfast, within a modest budget.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jbreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todecinzia, Proprietario at Casa Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2015

Hola Dear JBREVIEW, Many many Thanks for your wonderful words! You are so kind!

For us it was a great pleasure to meet you.

We wish you and your wife a wonderful holiday for the days that you still spend in Costa Rica!

Many thanks again for this review! Saludos y Pura Vida! Cinzia & Fiorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed at Cinzia´s and Fiorenzo´s B&B for one week and we felt very welcomed. Cinzia and Fiorenzo are such lovely, warm and kind hosts and we fell absolutley in love with their beautifull garden. The homemade breakfast is actually the best you can get in all over costa rica and we loved sitting in the garden, having breakfast and talk to lovely Cinzia and Fiorenzo and listen to the stories they told us.
They are very helpfull with everything you need and the rooms are very nice and get cleaned every single day.
Carillo is a nice place to relax, where you can easily go out for Dinner because it is a very safe area. The beach is awesome and if you like to go to Samara it is very easy to go there either by bus or by taxi.
All in all it was the perfect stay in casa buenavista and we would recommand everyone to stay as long as possible at Cinzia´s and Fiorenzo´s B&B!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todecinzia, Proprietario at Casa Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2015

Hola Dear Barbara,
Thank you very much for your nice review!

We were so happy to meet you after a long wait :))

A big hug to you, your daughter, your friend, and your whole family!

Con Mucho Amor, Cinzia & Fiorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews