We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
105
32
9
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
32
9
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica new chef beautiful pool samara area jose carrillo paradise
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 161 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

*Sigh* Where to begin? Visited this hotel about three years ago. The place at that time was alive, clean and a wonderful place to vacation. Since one of the owners died, it appears the place is dying. The pool was absolutely disgusting, Looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time, and definitely not safe to swim in. The rooms were filthy. They have two young girls on site who are apparently the "cleaners", but it quickly became apparent they have no idea what they're doing. We received fresh (well mouldy smelling) towels once during the stay and the garbage was never emptied at all. Bathroom was gross, smelled of old urine all the time and in fact we needed to clean it ourselves before using it. Garbage was strewn throughout the property, which no one seemed to care about. The breakfast menu has been pared down to 2 items, and the bar was barely stocked. The only people we saw drinking, were the manager (Marie)and the staff! Oh, did I mention the staff all napped in the afternoon on the dirty couches in the dining room? They have four deer on the property that are slowly starving to death and if not for the kindness of a local neighbor, they would most likely be dead. I could go on, but what's the point? I will not be returning to El Sueno again, and don't recommend that you do either.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank BelindaSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

The property itself is beautiful. A little paradise. There was some misunderstanding about our booking but they solved it right away, so no complains about that.
Breakfast was really more simple then we experienced in other places (with similar prices and ratings), the last day we therefore had breakfast in a soda around the corner.
The pool is quite nice with plenty of shade to sit in. Staff was friendly and helpful.

But.....the room! Ok, they were spacy and we had a place to sit outside. The matrass was much smaller then the bedframe. There was no coffeemaker as promised on the website. It is really old stuff, nothing luxury like you should expect from the website.The bad thing, however, was the fact that the room was not clean. When I looked into the little lamp near the bed it was full of dust, as it was under the matrass between the shelves and under the bed. There was no daily service to make beds, clean the floor or change towels, which you might expect especially in tropic surroundings. The shower was very peculiar, should have been a massage shower but was completely stuck. They put another simple shower in the corner that worked.
The worst thing was when we were arriving home late one night. We had a room (and a bathroom) full of large cockroaches! We killed them of course, but it affected our sleep and it did not get better when I again found such an animal looking at me at night getting to the bathroom.....Because we were late we couldn't ask anyone for help, everything was dark when we came home from an excursion.
We know this can happen in the tropics, but in combination with the unclean room it left a very nasty feeling. We made a large trip through the country, staying in all kind of hotels, and never had an experience like this. We reported it next morning and they promised to spray insecticide again so hopefully the next guests would not have the same problem.

As I said, the gardens are really fantastic and the hotel has everything in it to be in the topsegment. But update the rooms first, see to it that there is a daily service and clean up!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sep51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Very warm and friendly. Closest you will get to Costa Rica living. Away from commercialized areas. Love it and will return again.

Rooms are excellent. Grounds are very clean.
Close to area attractions.
Restaurant on site. Serves delicious food. Bar is also excellent to sit and relax.
Pool is totally awesome.
Views are breath taking.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017

I stayed here with my wife and 3 children for our first week in the area and am glad that we did. It was the perfect place for us to get the lay of the land and to unwind so to speak.

The location is perfect is perfect if you want some peace, quiet and solitude but close enough to Carrillo and the beach.

The restaurant and lounge is right beside the pool and the service was stellar. Maria and the gang are always on site and they do everything they can to make sure your needs are being met.

We bumped into other guests while we were there and it's easy to see why these people kept returning to El Sueno year after year.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLetain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Prior to coming here, we had stayed one night in a more expensive place with contemporary design. After about half an hour, we adjusted. We came off a long and harrowing trip and were treated to a beveridge of our choice. The co-owner Maria is a character- and we mean this in a very affectionate way. She has spent some time developing her team and it shows. The staff is very helpful, but not intrusive. The pool maintenance is very good, and we used the pool a lot!
The rooms have a basic setup for putting away suitcases etc. The shower was working fine. We had a fridgesand coffeepot in our room. The WiFi is strongest at the pool, and we enjoyed hanging out with our devicrs., but there is a fair signal strength in all of the casas. The activity centre has two ping pong tables and lights and plenty of outlets for an evening game. I requested a yoga mat for the duration of my stay and was issued one. There could be other possible amenities, like the use of a bicycle. It never hurts to ask. Even though we came by car, a person could come here and go on tours, as the Samara adventure company will pick up customers at this hotel. It is about three kms from Carrillo beach, a great swimming beach. After about two nights, we decided to extend our stay for two more nights, finding the hotel and ambiance very relaxing. We had the daily breakfasts, and they were plentiful: fruit, eggs and gaio pinto, or omelette, French toast, etc. Once we had dinner at the hotel, choosing from three specials.
When the heat pump, and therefore air-conditioning, cut in and out , the maintenance man was right on site to troubleshoot. When the problem couldn't be fixed then and there, we were given a room with a king sized bed and the usual amenities. We also used the send away laundry and it came back in less than 24 hours. This is a good value. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Astrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews