We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect escape from the city”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy, romantic interior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy, romantic interior
Set in 20 acres of mixed parkland & woodland Set in 20 acres of mixed parkland & woodland
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Cosy, romantic interior
Set in 20 acres of mixed parkland & woodland
Set in 20 acres of mixed parkland & woodland
Quiet woodland setting
Quiet woodland setting
Your choice of breakfast included with the booking and served in our on-site tearoom!
Entrance to the property
En-suite bathroom with toiletries
Roof structure
BBQ House available for use during your stay
Our two miniature Shetland ponies who call the lower field home. Dicky (left) and Lily (Right)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bedale, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect escape from the city”
Reviewed March 10, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is a truly unique, special holiday location. We stayed here for 3 nights and could’ve easily stayed for longer. It’s in a secluded spot, in a small wooded area. The lodge itself is cosy - the perfect place to relax with a book or just listen to birds! The barbecue hut is exclusive to the lodge - we used it each night of stay. Sean, the owner, was really welcoming and helpful. We highly recommend the whole experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allisonem...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Secret Hideout”
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I fell in love with the place and the lodge and it felt like we had stumbled across a secret hideout that only we knew about. The lodge is cosy and very well equipped and nestled within its own little wood. The BBQ hut was fabulous and we spent both nights there with our music and wine feeling a little like hunter gatherers, the small boardwalk over the pond was lovely and both nights we were kept warm and toasty thanks to the heat of the bbq, magical and only enhanced by the sound of owls hooting. Breakfast was great and to a really high standard as well as being extremely filling. If you want a little bit of wilderness with all the creature comforts, this place ticks the boxes, I cant wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! Hope to see you both again soon!
Regards,
Sean and the High Parks team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynda C
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous weekend away”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a wonderful place from start to finish. All staff are very very friendly. The lodge is fantastic. Can't believe how big it is inside. Bbq hut is cosy and comfortable. Great place to light fire pit on Saturday evening after collecting our own wood. Great to watch the rabbits run around and listen to the owls at night. Wine in fridge on arrival and food at the tea room next morning was beautiful. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at High Parks and we hope to see you both again soon!
All the best,
Sean Wheatley
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“JUST AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is actually our second trip to Deer Lodge, our first being a year ago for a mini honeymoon and this year being our 1 year anniversary. We chose it because it just looks amazing and it lives up to the expectation!

Its surrounded by beautiful countryside and the quite surroundings make it feel that much more romantic, there are lots of small towns to visit and some fun places to go as well such as the The Forbidden Corner which is only a short drive away.

There is a awesome little BBQ hut so you can do a bit of self catering while having a cold one, breakfast down at the High Parks Tea room is more than satisfying enough to keep you going most of the day!

Truly cant say a bad word about Deer Lodge, we will be heading back here in another years time with out a doubt!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmofud
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SOMETHING VERY SPECIAL”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just returned from a weekend in deer lodge and we loved every thing about it.
From our welcome on arrival to driving up and seeing the quant little lodge.
When you get inside the feeling of space is hard to describe.....so I won't even try just go and try it for yourself!
The lodge has everything you could wish for a fridge for the beer and wine, excellent heating, comfy bed and a lovely shower room.
We also used the BBQ lodge to sit by the fire and have a few drinks but when we return (which we will definitely be doing) we will cook our tea on it.
Breakfast is served in the tea room and is outstanding, excellent choices and high quality ingredients.
We had tea on Saturday evening in the tea room and that was excellent tool,
I cannot recommend the deer lodge enough it is a magical little place and as I said before very hard to describe.
It's a must I know you wouldn't be disappointed.
Would love to be able to take our dogs with us next time if it does become dog friendly they would love the woods and the walks.
Thanks to Scott and family for our EXCLLENT weekend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holcatt
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wow where do we start... what a fantastic little get a away. Everything about this lovely lodge is perfect. We were welcomed by Scott who couldn't do enough to ensure we had the best stay possible. We were made to feel so welcome by all the staff over our 2 night stay. The decor in the lodge is very appropriate to its location, you really feel like you are in your own little world! Great spot for some fab walks, breakfast was smashing. We will definitely be back. Thank you to everyone at High Parks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee1987
Kirby Misperton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cosy Retreat”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary. A great little find! Everything you need in a cosy compact lodge, great place to get away to and relax. We will be booking again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing