We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food Great staff”

The Castle Arms Inn
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Bedale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Castle Arms Inn is a traditional yet stylish 17th century country inn situated in the picturesque village of Snape, North Yorkshire. Food is served in both our restaurant and bar areas with alfresco eating during the warmer weather in our sheltered courtyard area. Our food is best described as classic British with a twist. We take the finest ingredients and create simple, visually appealing and full of flavour dishes. We use local seasonal produce wherever possible and all our food is prepared on the premises.
Reviewed May 11, 2018

We were staying in Snape at The Castle Mews and ate in The Castle Arms for 1 lunch and 2 dinners. The food on all 3 occasions was top notch, well presented, freshly cooked meals with great staff. Will be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trev_helen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2018

this is a lovely pub in a beautiful yorkshire village,the food was great, the only thing that was missing was just the finishing touches, table mats on the table not having the table set out properley, and sat looking at white rings on the table from hot plates did not give the impression of good presentation.The staff were very helpful and full of imformation about he menu,but one member who was clearly not quite up to serving multipel tables at one time left us hanging about and woundering where our food was.Overall a lovely pub but could just do with a bit of tweeking

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous place in a beautiful historic village. Well worth a visit any time of the year. Beautiful setting and lovely food. Open fires and dog friendly.

Thank nicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017

Lovely location, good food, clean rooms but rock hard beds and poor customer service. We were booked for 2 nights but got little sleep the first night so politely asked to change rooms. Was told we couldn't as that would have meant more work for them. Was told no one had ever complained before. We wanted to leave as it was so bad but were told we'd still be charged for 2 nights. No refund offered. Very expensive weekend spoiled by landlady's poor attitude.

Thank emmaG220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

The incident you refer to happened in April and you left exactly the same review on our hotel listing at the time. We are puzzled as to why you have now decided to leave the same review on our restaurant page some 8 months which frankly seems unnecessarily vindictive. It is correct that no-one had ever complained about the bed previously and ironically only a few days later a guest was waxing lyrical about how comfortable the bed was (please see the review just after your original one)! You did mention at the time that you had a hip problem and as we were full at the time of your complaint switching rooms was regrettably not an option. Obviously we are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay but as this is our restaurant listing we are pleased you thought our food was good as well as our inn being clean and in a good location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017

We ate here two nights in a row on a trip to North Yorkshire and loved the food. Whoever's in the kitchen knows what they're doing. And the service is fast and efficient. Well worth a detour if you're in the area.

Thank Pascuorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Arms Inn also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
Thornton Watlass, Bedale
 

Been to The Castle Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing