We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
116
72
64
59
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
72
64
59
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aidensfield arms scripps garage heartbeat fan country pub tv show well worth a visit heartbeat country railway station lovely village good nights sleep steam train friendly atmosphere thoroughly enjoyed our stay biscuits the north yorkshire moors railway second to none fans
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 398 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

So pleased we didn't stay here as we nearly did. Still trading of the fact that they filmed Heartbeat here I think. How long ago was that!? The whole place was dismal and dated and it's only redeeming feature was the friendly bar staff. We ordered a meal each and to say it was mediocre was an understatement. We were the only poeple in there and not even the residents came down to eat. Says a lot I think. We looked at the tarrif for the rooms and it wasn't cheap. We stayed in a hotel up the road and it was brilliant. Cheaper too.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank smithy10smithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

We came into Goathland on the train from Whitby so we wanted some food and a drink, we asked where we could sit they just rudely pointed at a table we then asked what the soup was the man serving just pointed to a board instead of telling us what the soup was they were very rude, so we left and walked straight across to the “Inn on the Moore” the service and the food was very good.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Naylor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018

We booked to stay here due to being great fans of Heartbeat. On arrival we were told that we could only have an evening meal if we ordered straight away and would have to eat it at 7pm Also told the bar was shut but could order drinks in reception but would not be allowed in the bar area until 7pm. We had our meal and we're the only two people in the snug area. When we wanted drinks later on the bar was unmanned and we were completely ignored by the hotel owner despite the fact that a chap sitting next to him informed him that we were waiting to be served. It was only for the fact that he went to the bar to get himself a drink that he could be bothered to acknowledge us. It seemed as if anything was too much trouble for him and we did not feel as if we were made welcome. The room was basic and we felt that they were charging top dollar due to the link with Heartbeat. It needs to come up to date and take a reality check

Stayed: March 2018
5  Thank thehob2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful setting in the moors, warm and cosy, spotlessly clean everywhere, gorgeous food, friendly and helpful staff who nothing was too much trouble for. Whitby is an easy drive and well worth a visit too. We will be returning again :)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive about our visit as we read previous reviews after booking. We had nothing at all to worry about.
We had 2 nights at the Goathland Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff we very polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was comfortable, clean and cosy. As previous people have said - if you are looking for a 5* hotel then book into one. The bed was very comfortable - 2 really good nights sleep and the breakfasts were delicious. Overall a great weekend - we will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews