We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, comfortable and charming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mill Cottage

Welcome to Mill Cottage ! We hope you enjoy your stay !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Mill Cottage ! We hope you enjoy your stay !
Quirky mid terraced character cottage down a hidden twitten. Seasonal picture of the cottage during winter months.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Welcome to Mill Cottage ! We hope you enjoy your stay !
Quirky mid terraced character cottage down a hidden twitten.
Seasonal picture of the cottage during winter months.
Pets are welcome but please contact owner first as supplement may apply.
Sir Georges place a row of victorian workers cottages
An archway in the middle of the sir georges place  leads to mill cottage - down a twitten.
A stable door leads to a cosy sitting room with low ceilings and beams. Not suitable for tall people
An electric wood burner to keep you snug and take the chill off on an evening.
A small breakfast bar and loads of hidden storage with plenty to keep you entertained.
Country kitchen with all the mod cons
Front windows which open out overlooking cottage gardens with the noise of the mill stream close by.
All towels and bedroom and bathroom essentials are provided.  Travel cot can be provided on request.
Modern shower room.
With wet room style enclosure and under floor heating . Extra cupboard with washing machine upstairs
Private patio garden located at the rear of the cottage
Table for two in the patio garden with wisteria as the back drop.
Within a stones throw of the countryside and out onto the south downs national park
Close to Steyning high street with all the amenities and interesting independant shops
Steyning town dates back to the 16th century - beautiful sussex timber framed houses.
Close proximity to Brighton and the Sussex coast .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Steyning, Horsham District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pauljosep...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, comfortable and charming”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of two and a half weeks at Mill Cottage, tucked away down a 'twitten' just a short walk from Steyning High Street. The cottage is very comfortable and provided everything we needed, to the extent that we extended our stay three times!

Steyning is a lovely town that offers a genuine sense of rural life but also benefits from being a short drive from Brighton and the coast, so Mill Cottage is an excellent place to stay for any traveller.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susi_of_B...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Tiny, cosy, quirky, well equipped cottage in a convenient location off the High street of Steyning. Very comfortable bed, great bathroom. Lots to do in the area. Only reservation - the stairs are narrow and steep and would be awkward for anyone with mobility problems, otherwise they add to the quirkiness!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Y
1 review
“A lovely little cottage”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A beautifully decorated little cottage with everything you could need for a relaxing holiday. The location is perfect for the lovely pubs, cafes and restaurants of Steyning and for walking on the south downs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K L
Matfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, cosy cottage in wonderful location”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Mill Cottage for a week while my husband did a woodworking course locally. The cottage is very cosy, comfortable and charming. It was quiet and relaxing - the perfect retreat. The town of Steyning is lovely and provides every convenience. Mill Cottage is a lovely place to stay and we would definitely book again, as well as recommend to friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cute cottage with comfortable and very tasteful interior design
Liked least: Access to the little patio was a little stange as was not outside the back door as you would exoect, but it does add to the character of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom especially the underfloor heating!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo H
2 reviews
“A lovely Christmas in a cosy, welcoming cottage.”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were delighted with our stay and Fiona the owner could not have been more helpful. We were welcomed with Christmas decorations, a card and bottle of Prosecco. The cottage is very well equipped. We know Steyning well having lived there and we love the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing