We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
telford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had another lovely room for our stay while we visited family. Our 6 year old Grandaughter was able to stay with us as we were given a family room and she was very excited!!! Staff were helpful as always and the food was of a high standard. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naughtynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    68
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
72
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Mids
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed here on a visit to the Fleet Air Arm museum, which it is very convenient for. The room was pleasant, nice and warm and clean. The staff were friendly and efficient, but the real star of this show has to be the food. Our dinners were excellent- beautifully cooked, hot and generous portion sizes. So good that we cancelled a booking at a competitor and stayed put- and we didn't regret it. An imaginative menu and reasonably priced. Cooked Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowenaWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Spent 2 nights on the way home to Cornwall from London. We were made very welcome and staff are friendly and very helpful. Room was very good. The food was
wonderful and reasonably priced. Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury not far away as is the Hains Motor Museum (well worth a visit). We would certainly recommend the Illchester Arms .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed for one night whilst down in Yeovil for a family wedding.
Bedrooms were delightful - clean, spacious, well laid out and with everything you could wish for.
Staff were kind, courteous and very helpful.
Food was delicious.
Would recommend this hotel to all to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

This turned out to be a lovely clean place. All the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of food on the menu and you weren't rushed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jipjipjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

A great Friday night stopover on way to Cornwall. Excellent bistro pub grub, very friendly and welcoming bar, clean and tidy room. Car park at the rear. A few minutes from A303. Will definately stay again.

  • Liked — good value
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AWBEEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

I have stayed at many old fashioned small English Hotels and this is one of my favorites. The restaurant and bar are very nice, the staff is friendly and Ilchester is very convenient to Yeovil. Entertainment options are typical only a few in room channels on the TV but the Bar is inviting and has flat panel TVs with wireless internet. The restaurant is excellent as is the Italian place next door. I highly recommend it and look foward to my next visit.

  • Liked — They have excellent staff, restaurant & internet.
  • Disliked — Paying a deposit to book a reservation.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoadDog404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.4 km away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.0 km away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
37.6 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
9.0 km away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
7.5 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ilchester Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Property: The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Address: Church Street, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ilchester Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilchester Arms is a 4* family run hotel and restaurant in the heart of Ilchester, just off the A303 & 5 miles from Yeovil. We have 10 comfortable, well furnished, en-suite bedrooms, free breakfast for hotel guests, free on site parking & free WiFi. Our restaurant is open daily for lunch (12pm-2.30pm) and dinner (7-9pm excluding Sundays) with a range of homemade dishes created from locally sourced produce. If you are just on the road & need a quick pick me up we also offer coffee & cake from 9am daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ilchester Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing