We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Clean, pleasant room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
West Mids
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Clean, pleasant room.”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed here on a visit to the Fleet Air Arm museum, which it is very convenient for. The room was pleasant, nice and warm and clean. The staff were friendly and efficient, but the real star of this show has to be the food. Our dinners were excellent- beautifully cooked, hot and generous portion sizes. So good that we cancelled a booking at a competitor and stayed put- and we didn't regret it. An imaginative menu and reasonably priced. Cooked Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowenaWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    73
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
62
77
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Spent 2 nights on the way home to Cornwall from London. We were made very welcome and staff are friendly and very helpful. Room was very good. The food was
wonderful and reasonably priced. Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury not far away as is the Hains Motor Museum (well worth a visit). We would certainly recommend the Illchester Arms .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed for one night whilst down in Yeovil for a family wedding.
Bedrooms were delightful - clean, spacious, well laid out and with everything you could wish for.
Staff were kind, courteous and very helpful.
Food was delicious.
Would recommend this hotel to all to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This turned out to be a lovely clean place. All the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of food on the menu and you weren't rushed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jipjipjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

A great Friday night stopover on way to Cornwall. Excellent bistro pub grub, very friendly and welcoming bar, clean and tidy room. Car park at the rear. A few minutes from A303. Will definately stay again.

  • Liked — good value
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AWBEEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I have stayed at many old fashioned small English Hotels and this is one of my favorites. The restaurant and bar are very nice, the staff is friendly and Ilchester is very convenient to Yeovil. Entertainment options are typical only a few in room channels on the TV but the Bar is inviting and has flat panel TVs with wireless internet. The restaurant is excellent as is the Italian place next door. I highly recommend it and look foward to my next visit.

  • Liked — They have excellent staff, restaurant & internet.
  • Disliked — Paying a deposit to book a reservation.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoadDog404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2007

I spent a very enjoyable two days here mid week in the middle of may. The overall atmosphere and attitude of their staff was fantastic, they have a very skilled group of people running the place. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with very good bathrooms which is always a plus point! The food is just outstanding, well worth a try. Overall the ilchester arms is definatley a place to stay while in the somerset area, its an uplifting experience.
Sara from essex.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank saraEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
5.1 km away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
252 reviews
0.3 km away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
245 reviews
37.8 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
8.0 km away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
371 reviews
6.6 km away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ilchester Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Property: The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Address: Church Street, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ilchester Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilchester Arms is a 4* family run hotel and restaurant in the heart of Ilchester, just off the A303 & 5 miles from Yeovil. We have 10 comfortable, well furnished, en-suite bedrooms, free breakfast for hotel guests, free on site parking & free WiFi. Our restaurant is open daily for lunch (12pm-2.30pm) and dinner (7-9pm excluding Sundays) with a range of homemade dishes created from locally sourced produce. If you are just on the road & need a quick pick me up we also offer coffee & cake from 9am daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ilchester Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing