We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing experience from initial enquiry to...”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn T
Essex, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing experience from initial enquiry to departure”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From my initial enquiry, which was responded to quickly and friendly to arriving to one of the most beautiful places I have stayed in. My last fabulous holiday was 6* Dubai, so you get the picture. The homemade cake and local butter and wine and ale to relax following our journey and the chats with Diane and Bill (the owners) made our holiday. It really is a beautiful location and the house has all the mod cons, a giant dining table and hot tub to watching the sheep from the window. I couldn't recommend this place enough. Well definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeighleyS...
keighley
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is an ideal location to stay. Away from everything and just the perfect setting. The house and grounds are stunning and everything is provided. The welcome pack is the best I've ever had anywhere. I can't speak highly enough about this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility of the place.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda38...
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“SIMPLY PUT.... AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

From the moment we arrived we were blown away, this house is one of the most beautiful self-catering properties we have ever stayed in.
Each room is beautifully decorated and the house itself was so spacious that despite having four young children with us, they were never getting under anyone's feet. Not that they spent much time inside... the garden, or gardens to be more accurate; are simply superb! There was so much room for them to run around and they adored the animals. We all had a fantastic time attempting to play tennis and the hot tub was a fantastic way to unwind, especially once the kids were in bed!
Bill and Diane are truly lovely hosts who have literally thought of everything you could need to make a holiday as special as it should be. From the awesome welcome basket to the cupboard stacked full of games and toys. I can honestly say we were never bored and we all had the time of our lives. I would highly recommend Gables Retreat and we would definitely consider booking this property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home from home!
Liked least: I can't fault it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica H
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“an outstanding cottage; the beauty, care and love dedicated to this cottage makes you feel at home!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

WOW! the website, the pictures and the friendly, professional manner of the owners of this cottage are just the beginnings of such a wonderful stay. nothing does this house justice; as you roll up its long driveway with rose boarders and immaculate gardens you are faced with a stunning house to which you think it can't get any better. as you walk into the entrance of the house you are filled with light, beauty, attention to detail and a sense that this house is going to be something more speical then anything you have stayed in before. In every room, the colours, textures, ornaments and furnishings create a homely atmosphere to which relaxtion comes naturally. the outside offers stunning views, peace and tranquility and the hot tub and horses simultaneously create a fun, lively atmosphere. the owners and their family (including the dogs) are polite, helpful, friendly and most importantly very professional. there is not enough space to explain how fantastic this cottage is. Seeing is most certainly believing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the homely atmosphere
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjd210809
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best self catering accomodation I have every stayed at!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot provide one negative comment about The Gables Retreat. We stayed for a long weekend for a family birthday. The house is perfect and finished to the highest of standards. The owners have not forgotten a thing! We never left the house for 3 days and enjoyed the house and gardens. We had 3 children under 3 yrs and there were indoor and outdoor toys provided and they were happily occupied for the whole weekend.
The adults enjoyed a relaxation in the hot tub in the evening to finish off a perfect day. I can not recommend this place enough and I will definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: unable to single out one thing, all perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchamw...
Newbury
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in beautiful setting - thoughtful owners”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were a 3 generation family aged 21 to 80, staying for 2 weeks. There was something for everyone and we had a wonderful holiday. The house is immaculate, spacious and everything you need is provided. We found plenty to do from coast to city including numerous walks and cycle paths. The hot tub was a major draw and is scrupulously maintained by the owners. Don't hesitate to book (except when we want to go!)

Most groups would probably want to have access to a car during their stay but with grocery delivery you could spend the whole time at the site.

Favourite trips:
Walks and cycle rides from the house
Willingham woods
Willows garden centre and cafe
Lyndsey Trail
Louth circular walks
Daisy Maid
Pyewipe Inn
Fantasy Island
Skegness
Lincoln Castle
Steep Hill, Lincoln
Tallington Lakes
High Ropes at Market Rasen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful setting
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexGabr...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SIMPLY STUNNING !!!! 5 star accomodation”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

10 of us used the house for my brother-in-laws 60th birthday surprise, the house was exceptional and you could see that the renervations were a labour of love for the property. I have stayed in many self catering accomodations but this has to go down as the BEST, not only for the beautiful furnishings but that all important attention to detail.
Have they thought of everything ? YES they have and the house and grounds are a true credit to them, I will be returning and can HIGHLY recommend "The Gables Retreat"
The owners were warm and inviting and nothing was too much trouble, also the welcome pack was one of the best that I have ever received.
THANK YOU BOTH SO MUCH....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The happy feel to the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing