We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
189
81
22
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
81
22
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak market square memory foam excellent food car park restaurant with rooms great meal excellent value for money next morning ate here high standard three courses sunday lunch bar area waiting staff cooked to perfection an evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 312 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2018

I last reviewed 5 years ago, and have stayed here 4 times. There are things to note but remember that this is a small and remote town. It may be now getting a little tired in some public areas, the rooms are small, but comfortable, and in our experience clean. The car park is small, but if one looks carefully there are free parks within 3 minutes walk. The AA rating is for a pub with rooms, not as a 5* hotel. The 2 rosette rating should perhaps be one, but the food is good. Rooms are not expensive, particularly if reserved on line, and it is disappointing to see a review referring to a non-existent room type etc. Staff might be better in taking telephone reservations and in confirming back by email.There may be noise issues from outside, and one can not have a front fading room and complain about outside activity in any such place?
However, they really do try on food. Dinners are very cheap for what they are, and as good as you might get for the price. If you order a 7 course tasting menu for £35 it is excellent value. Just do not expect the finesse which gets a GFG or michelin star rating. Breakfast is good value at inclusive price, but it it unusual to be charged for a second long Americano. Bar drinks, with say a pint at £3.25 and other prices to match are not to be faulted at value, even if sophisticated answers to cocktails etc will not happen.
But, this is a small hotel in a small town. Not only do they try, but there is no competition. Support rather than nit picking is appropriate and we will keep going back.

Room Tip: Front rooms nicer but get street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fiveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Only stopped for the one night in standard double room for Pamola faith concert at the races. Arrived with poor parking spaces available i think 6 in total. Asked if there was anywhere else to park and was told pay and display around the corner, not the answer i expected. Had read previous reviews about this hotel thats why i paid £100 for the night.Room was grubby with visible stain's on the bottom throw over. This was removed from the bed.Lighting was poor so very disappointing..Staff were very helpful and even took my small over night case to room for us. Now for the bad bit! i have never been to a hotel and witnessed such foul language at night by other guests stopping in the hotel, shouting all night long. All in all very disapointing and expected better.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3775andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed an evening at the Advocate Arms a few weeks ago. We love this place and it's right on our doorstep. Food is presented wonderfully and is always tasty. We've never had a bad experience here.
I always have the cheese board for dessert as the cheese is the best I have tasted.
Staff are welcoming. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chelseaangel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

The following events took place on a Tuesday evening, around 9:30pm...

Me: Hello, do you serve cocktails?

Bar staff: Sorry, we only do cocktails on weekends <muffled> 9 o’clock. (I assume she said ‘after’).

Me: <Looks around quiet bar. Turns around and sees no queue. Notices the coffee machine that’d be able to furnish the espresso martini my girlfriend asked for...>

That’s just pathetic!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018

We have stayed in the hotel on a number of occasions and always been very well looked after. Our favourite room is the one that is on the back of the hotel with a balcony. It’s well worth paying the extra room rate for this facility. We also prefer the rooms on the back as the hotel is positioned on a busy thoroughfare. Having said this the front rooms do have effective double glazing but once the window is open the traffic noise becomes more intrusive. We have dined on several occasions and always found the food to be a cut above. The menu is changed regularly and we particularly like when they offer a special price for their training nights when the chef tests out his new selection. Fab food at a fab price! These nights are very popular so it is advisable to book. The staff team are always polite and helpful and we think for a small rural town, Market Rasen is very fortunate to have such a professionally run establishment.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back are much quieter.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews