We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,258)
Filter reviews
2,258 results
Traveller rating
1,682
398
116
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,682
398
116
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room clay pigeon shooting lake view falconry centre falconry experience wedding guests yorkshire dales classic room wedding venue steam room afternoon tea log fire evening meal fabulous hotel relaxing break birthday treat yorkshire breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 2,258 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We were at The Coniston Hotel for a wedding and very last minute (thankfully) decided to extend our stay for the whole weekend. This is a lovely place, family run (and it shows) where nothing is too much trouble. Although very busy (it's a brilliant wedding venue) there are plenty of quiet areas where you can relax and chill. The surrounding area has many beautiful walks-but if you just want a nice little trundle you can go round the lake immediately outside the hotel. Breakfast is fantastic and cooked to order! The evening meal we had in the lounge (a family party) was not only great food but very reasonably priced! Rooms in general are fairly small (to be expected) but they are well serviced, very clean with plenty of tea, coffee, toiletries etc. There are superior rooms if you want to splash out! The spa is quite a walk away but well worth the visit although you would have to choose your time carefully as they do cater for "spa parties" and it can get busy! This would be a perfect mid week break hotel-a great place to walk, eat and relax. I definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank StHilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, Director at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate and Spa and taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We're thrilled that you decided to extend your stay with us. What a great way to relax with excellent food and service.

We do hope to welcome you back soon and for our best rates and availability, please contact our reservations team on 01756 748080 who are available from 8:00am-8:00pm daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Visited the Coniston Hotel last week and my wife and I couldn't be more satisfied with our stay! The room was exceptional and there wasn't a thing out of place, it was perfect. The staff from check in, to the spa, to the restaurant were exactly what you want from a hotel like this, polite, courteous and very helpful.
The spa has upped its game we feel as well as this time round we were given robes and flip flops which we've never had before. Little things like that really help make your stay more enjoyable. The spa itself is fantastic, I cant pick fault with it. Its a brilliant place to go and relax for the afternoon.
We had a great stay, our best yet not including our wedding we had here and we will definitely be visiting again for many years to come hopefully.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the right hand side of the corridor as these offers lake views.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, Director at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for visiting us at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate and Spa and for taking the time to write an amazing review.

Our team pride themselves on delivering the best in Yorkshire hospitality, service and food quality.

It was also lovely to read how you enjoyed your trip to the spa. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and for our best rates and availability, please contact our reservations team on 01756 748080 who are available from 8:00am-8:00pm daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, excellent Spa facilities and a superb location. This is our fifth visit with Jack Russell dog who is always welcomed and well catered for. They offer an excellent choice of breakfast menu.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ValG146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, Director at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for visiting us at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate and Spa and for taking the time to write your review and share it with others.

Your review is fantastic and we are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, your kind words have been passed on to the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Coniston Hotel soon. Please remember to contact us direct on 01756748080 so we can ensure you receive the best available rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Coniston spa is amazing,

After a show round the facilities back in November 2017, we decided to sign up for twelve months full peak membership and enjoy every moment we are there.

Money very well spent!

I was speaking to someone the other day about it....

The only thing, if I had to find fault, or think of an improvement would be a bar to serve drinks within the spa area and not have to walk through the reception into the nourish bar.

They must of read my mind, visiting twice over the easter break, they have done just that.

There is now a portable bar that sits outside when the sun is out, and in side when the weather is not too great. Well done team.

Prices are reasonable too. Excellent move.

Coniston Spa is now fault less :-)

And I would like to note that everything works everytime we have been. More than I can say for Crow wood.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, Director at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to be our first member to write such a lovely review.

Our team are driven by great feedback so I would like to thank you for your kind words.

All of the team at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate and Spa value customer feedback which we act on to ensure our guests have the best possible experience.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team who will be delighted to read how highly you rate our spa.

We look forward to seeing you at the spa.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

My Partner and I have just spent the most enjoyable weekend at this hotel. The StTAFF were warm, welcoming and attentive. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The first room we were allocated was a Classic - superbly clem with a beautiful view over the grounds and lake. Our neighbours however were little noisy to say the least and when I mentioned this to Nina the Team Leader in Reception she proposed a room move - the second room was an upgrade on the ground floor - fabulous, richly decorated, clean and quiet. Dinner was taken in the McClouds - very intimate, fantastic food and great service given to us by David. We had a lovely deep sleep in a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was taken again in the McClouds this time we were served by Martin - what a lovely character, great service with a smile and a few giggles. We ventured to the spa. Spent the morning, swimming and using the other facilities on offer. We pasted the afternoon in the company of Mark, the Falconer when we took part in the Falconry experience - it was brilliant worth every penny, so much so we have booked to go again and do a full day in October - we cant wait !!! Our evening meal was taken in the Hunter's Lodge - service fabulous, food superb, views over grounds but we personal preferred McClouds as it was not as noisy and there was no dogs or children - not that i have an issued with either. On Sunday we had very helpful interaction with Ellie on reception and on Monday morning we met up again with Ellie when we returned to the Spa for a last visit before travelling home - such a thoughtful and considerate young lady. I am struggling with a visual impairment at present and Julie a member of the tram in the spa could not have done anymore for me when i asked for assistance - This break has left both my partner and I totally relaxed in what was a very busy, well run establishment. I would strongly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, Director at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for visiting us at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate and Spa and for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Your review is fantastic and we are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, your kind words have been passed on to the whole team.

Our team pride themselves on delivering the best in Yorkshire hospitality, service and food quality.

I will certainly pass your lovely comments on to Nina, Martin, David, Mark, Ellie and Julie who will be thrilled to receive this personal mention.

We look forward to welcoming you back in October. In the meantime if you have any questions, please contact our reservations team on 01756 748080 who are available from 8:00am-8:00pm daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews