We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“With that view you could only be in the Lakes”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Garden Flat

Window seat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Window seat
Garden Flat Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Window seat
Garden Flat
Kitchen area
Dining
Lounge
Bedroom
Bedroom window
Bathroom with shower
Garden Flat
Garden bench
Garden
Summer
Autumn
Winter
Wordsworth's daffodils
Lakeside
Lakeside
Ullswater evening
Yacht club
Aira Force rainbow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Watermillock, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard F
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“With that view you could only be in the Lakes”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A well appointed ground floor flat amongst a small group of cottages, half a mile from Ullswater. With uninterrupted views of Ullswater and surrounding hills you could sit in (our outside) this cottage and just enjoy the ever changing colours and shadows throughout the day.

The flat is very comfortable with a lot of nick nacks to give it that country cottage feel.

The only downside is that although you can feel you're in the middle of nowhere when you're looking out, there is an upstairs and, as quiet as the guests in there may be, you will here them moving about.

Both cellphone and Wifi connections were patchy; do not expect to be able to login to work when there (but then again, why would you in such a place?)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Outstanding views
Liked least: noise from upstairs guests (they weren't rowdy, just moving around)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kateelgod
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The views from the garden flat are so lovely. We had a really relaxing stay and the flat is very homely. Hope to visit again! Thanks you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searching...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little retreat, with amazing scenery!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Garden Flat last April, the views from the front window are out of this world. Ullswater is a beautiful place, my favorite in the Lakes by far. If you stay here, you won't be disappointed. We had escaped cattle visit us, which was funny watching the farmers trying to round them up on the mansion gardens.

I love wildlife, if you get chance go to Dale Head farm, just past Howtown and you will be in a great spot to see wild red deer, the oldest wild herd in England!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyLuisa
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner stay at the Garden Flat at the end of October every year. It is a beautiful apartment located in a beautiful place. The view from the living room window is so pretty you can sit and look for hours. It is our hideaway at the end of a hard working year we relax with jigsaws, books, dvds. The flat itself is very well thought out and well equipped with everything you need and more for a relaxing break away from daily life. It is warm and cozy in the Autumn / Winter time with the mock log fire, underfloor heating in the bathroom and very comfortable bedroom. I cannot recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
352May
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning view and Amazing location”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely comfortable flat with an amazing view of Ullswater Lake. The flat is very well equipped for self catered, there's a pub in walking distance, lots to do nearby and a peaceful location away from the big Lake District tourist areas. The flat is perfect for sitting in the window, looking at the view with a glass of wine or reading a book. I stayed with my partner and it felt very romantic away from everything. Super place and had a wonderful, relaxing stay, an absolute joy. Will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and peace
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artemesia...
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait for our imminent visit!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We love this little flat perched high above Ullswater in sleepy Watermillock. We've been visiting now for several years, and a year without a stay in the garden flat never feels quite complete.

The flat is cosy and well-equipped. The view from the picture window is beautiful, and you can sit and sew, or paint, or just think about things for hours. Step outside the front door and there are quiet lanes to stroll along and access to footpaths. Lovely birdlife, and if you're out early enough, you may just see a red squirrel.

We've stayed at different times of the year. Spring is maybe our favourite, because of all the daffodils in the front garden and the abundance of wildlife; but summer and autumn are lovely too. Pooley Bridge is a nice little village. Granny Dowbeckers do good lunches and cream teas. There are splendid walks along Ullswater. If it's your first visit, take the boat from Pooley Bridge to Glenridding, and don't forget a visit to Aira Force. There are plenty of comments in the guest book so read, explore, enjoy, and return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful views and birdsong enabled creative living”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a short mid week break which was very quiet and peaceful.It was wonderful to breathe fresh air and the view from the flat was wonderful. The flat was comfortable and warm and well equipped. I loved sitting out reading in the sun and looking across the beautiful space. We ate very well in Pooley Bridge a few minutes drive away and luxuriated in afternoon tea at the Sharrow Bay Hotel, just across the lake.
The worst thing was that my partner broke 2 glasses as he hand washed up because the large dishwasher seemed a bit of a waste of energy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Easy access to fresh open air
Liked least: II forgot my distance glasses so had to move the settee a bit to watch T.V.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing