We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My base during mountaineering course.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Onich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Onich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Certificate of Excellence
Haworth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My base during mountaineering course.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Onich for a week in mid February whilst on a group climbing course. A nice central base for the weeks climbs in a stunning location. The hotel is basic and in need of some TLC, but suited my requirements. The room was clean and warm with lots of hot water for a bath after a hard days climbing. The food was......ok. Staff very pleasant, a tall barman who had a sense of humour and interacted with our group well. A gorgeous dark haired waitress serving at breakfast was the icing on the cake! I'd stay again, it's cheerful.....not so cheap but they have some nice Isle of Skye bottled beers......delicious!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nickhindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    242
    117
    57
    43
See reviews for
108
348
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

we stayed her for a night to celebrate a friends birthday. the staff were great, they helped get a few things sorted for the birthday surprise. very helpfull. the food was very nice, with good selection, ok price and good portions. the rooms are a good size. or rooms were at the back of the hotel so we had loch views.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmegjam123, Owner at Onich Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Many thanks for your comments. Yopu were a pleasure to have here in the hotel. We always enjoy having some fun with our guests. we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel was quite frankly horrible! The room we were in was tiny, luminous green and turquoise, had mould up the wall and cobwebs on the other wall. The bathroom was clean but very small and old, the hall stank of grease and had chipped pictures hanging on the wall! The lochside view we were promised did have a loch however the old toilet cisterns and garbage lying in the back garden kind of obscured the pretty view! When I checked out after only being there an hour I was offered another room but I politely declined after the horror that was the onich hotel. How this hotel received a 3 star aa rating is quite beyond me! I will NOT be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Onich hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

An excellent location which is very let down by everything else. The decor is grubby, the walls are paper thin, the place is in need of a damn good clean. The food was overpriced and not very nice. We stayed in March and the heater was not on for our arrival therefore the room took about 1.5-2 hours to heat up after we turned the radiator on. The variety of alcohol available in the bar was poor. The foyer smelt of grease and the staff were just OK!
The good points were the view from the room over the loch was amazing and the intitial booking process via email was very promising. The stay should have been fantastic, unfortunately was far from it.
The potential for this hotel is totally wasted on a lack of both effort and attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macandshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I had a very enjoyable break at this hotel and we were delighted with the comfort, facilities and staff at the hotel. We will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Worth making sure of a loch-side view which will be enjoyable, sunnier and away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainHare_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stated for two nights recently and could not really fault the hotel. The staff were very helpfull and the food was good value. The hotel could benefit from a modernisation especially the bathrooms but this did not affect my experience. One point worth noting is the walls between rooms are paper thin....we heard everything going on next door, however, I think this was made worse by the occupants not having respect for other guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Excellent location for a lovely hotel, run by very attentive, polite people! Superior rooms offer superior views and are clean, large and well equiped! Rooms could be modernised, however that personally didnt affect my experience! Breakfast was tasty and service super. No other meals were had at the hotel so no comment could be made on them.
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oggyoggyoggy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
2.5 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.5 km away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.6 km away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.0 km away
The Lodge On The Loch
5.8 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onich Hotel

Property: Onich Hotel
Address: nr Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Onich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe with attractive gardens extending down to the water's edge the Onich Hotel has stunning panoramic views of the Mountains of Glencoe in the East to Morvern and the Isle of Mull in the West. Here you will be treated to the best in Highland Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Onich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onich
Onich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing