We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
336
312
92
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
336
312
92
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friars carse snooker table banks of the river lounge area salmon fishing groupon deal dining room robert burns roaring fire grounds are lovely wedding venue venison evening meal relaxing break old building some tlc self catering
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 816 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2018

Strong connection with Rober Burns always had this hotel on my list, but what a pleasant stay we had during the heatwave of June 2018!
Our room was a decent size, with a very comfortable bed and a new en-suite; the lovely view over the park was a bonus.
The food, dinner and breakfast, was of a high standard, and the staff were cheerful and friendly. Altogether a stay well above the average for this type of establishment.
We will be back, maybe even to fish when the rains come.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

Just back from an overnight. This was our third visit to Friars Carse. Had a brilliant time. The views are stunning, the room was very comfortable, food was good and the staff were friendly and welcoming. We will be back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Getaway172876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Good food and service with excellent surroundings, dog friendly as well but the dog friendly rooms need some up dating. This was a special offer from Classic Hotels and was DB&B at an excellent price. Staff were excellent and the food was great. The hotel grounds were fantastic for walking the dog. With only 21 rooms this hotel will never be over busy which is certainly one of the plus points. Would recommend and also will be going again.

Room Tip: DB&B best as not a lot close by the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulspencer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018

From the serene setting by the river to the luxurious lounge area with giant fireplace and Chesterfield lounges we felt like Royalty.
Excellent evening meal and breakfast in a beautiful setting waited upon by excellent friendly staff.
The view from our window over the grounds and down to the river was breathtaking.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oztravellers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved our time at the Friars carse. We upgraded to the redwood suite (my partners birthday treat), and it was superb (I'm sure all of the rooms are though). The setting is gorgeous and the house itself has a feeling of peace and serenity...you feel it as soon as you walk in. We had an evening meal and also breakfast, both of which were of excellent quality. We took a walk in the grounds and this rounded off what turned into a simply wonderful stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teamrexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews