We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart restaurant with great service and excellent food.”
Review of La Marina

La Marina
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Description: Set alongside the Menai La Marina on the prestigious Port Dinorwic Marina, La Marina specialises in tapas, seafood, and grilled meats.
Restaurant details
Description: Set alongside the Menai La Marina on the prestigious Port Dinorwic Marina, La Marina specialises in tapas, seafood, and grilled meats.
Reviewed February 25, 2018

We ate here on Friday 23/02/18, on a hiking trip to Wales. We'd heard good things about La Marina so we were pleased to get a table when we booked at the last minute that afternoon.

We had a selection of tapas from the reasonably priced menu and pretty much everything was delicious. The stand out plate (which we both had) was the hake with "almost burnt cream" and samphire - probably one of the nicest fish dishes either of us has had anywhere. We were still talking about it as we slogged our way up into the mountains the next day.

The restaurant is on the harbour, a nice setting in the summer, and quite spacious. It has a nice airy feel to it and the decor is modern and stylish in an understated way. Service was excellent, couldn't fault it at all.

All in all, we left very happy and we'd definitely eat here again - if we lived locally, we'd be regulars without a doubt. Heartily recommended and I hope, as a relatively new restaurant, La Marina continues to flourish. It certainly deserves to.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Justin_Peacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffiffi, Manager at La Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appriciate your lovely comments and very glad you had a nice evening! looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 296 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

Small portions in very small prices (6£) bill for 2p was 25 punds only. Coctails 7£. Huge portions of amazing mussels just 11£. Must visit :)

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank Km M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Visited last night with my husband as a belated birthday outing. Had heard good things and we weren't disappointed. Service was good and the atmosphere is nice and relaxed.

We asked our server how many dishes she recommended and she said 2-3 per person. We ordered a garlic flat bread, chips with chilli, steak, teriyaki pork belly and duck spring rolls which were on the specials.

All the food was mouthwatering and amazing.

We also had cocktails which were really nice too.

Will definitely visit again. Thanks!

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank 378angharadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Again an excellent meal. Very good food in a great environment. Good friendly bilingual staff. See you soon.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Alun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018

Faultless!

My first time dining here and it certainly won't be the last.

I've eaten at some amazing restaurants in my time (including Petrus, Mosimann's, Koffmann's, Roux at Parliament, Robuchon's, Antonio's Tagatay, Kampa Park) and the food here tonight is only a shade or two below those Michelin starred establishments.

I treated myself to the satay pork belly, duck with cherry and chocolate, and the garlic chips; my girlfriend (who's been here a few times) had the roasted veg, salt and chilli potatoes, and garlic bread. We both indulged in the chocolate mousse for pud.

Seasoning, balance and combination of flavours, speed of service, and portion size were all spot on.

The staff were attentive, courteous and very friendly; the interior design has been done exceedingly well, and adds to an already convivial atmosphere.

For some reason the site won't let me rate the 'Service, food, and value' below, but they all get 5/5.

Very well done indeed everyone at La Marina.

Date of visit: February 2018
5  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Marina also viewed

 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Y Felinheli, Gwynedd
 
Valley, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to La Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing