We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Checkers restuarant with rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Checkers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Checkers
Ranked #1 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
stockton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Checkers restuarant with rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in this great little hotel.
everything ,, the rooms the bar and the restuarant are top notch .We had two wonderfull dinners in the michelin starred restuarant.
The owners and thier staff are excellent and nothing was any trouble to them.
Montgomerty is a charming little town and theres plenty to do and see within an hours drive
Thoroughly reccomended.We'll be back !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gefanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Probably one of the best meals that I have had in a long while. The souffle starter was particularly worthy of mention, but star billing has to go to the lamb - with the most outstanding sauce. The Chef is clearly very talented - and it shows.

Stayed overnight, room comfortable and breakfast rounded off a very relaxing short stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Having had the Checkers recommended by several friends we were looking forward to our Friday evening stay.

We decided to have pre-dinner drinks in our room so went to the bar and ordered a bottle of Welsh sparkling wine (£22 -not to be recommended). The staff advised they had run out of champagne glasses so I waited until they had washed two in the glass washer and carried two hot glasses to our room.

I ran a bath to find the water was not really hot enough to enjoy the substantial luxurious bath I had hoped for prior to dressing for dinner. The toilet seat was also loose.

Meantime my partner was making her choice for dinner from the restaurant menu in the room - she unfortunately had not noted this was the February menu and the date was March 2nd.

We went down to the restaurant and ordered our food from the correct (March) menu along with a 2007 St Emilion Grand Cru (£47). When the wine arrived the bottle was extremely cold. Pointing this out to the waitress had no effect so we were left to warming the wine in the glass with our hands!

Maybe the local clientele have exceedingly large appetites; I considered both the started and main course too large. M main course (rack of lamb - off the bone!) including vegetables were covered in a glutinous tasteless sauce.

We waited and waited to be asked for our desert order - eventually we attracted the waitress’s attention who apologised for the delay - we did get two complimentary desert wines for our delay. We shared a substantial, delicious Crème Brule.

We retired to bed - the room was a little to warm for us so we opened the window - during the night the (sash) window rattled periodically waking us up. At 0500 in the morning someone in the street outside spent an hour noisily loading a vehicle.

On rising my partner ran a bath and again found there was insufficient hot water for the size of bath. Maybe the Health and Safety regulations in Wales preclude hot water for a bath in case a customer burns themselves.

We could not connect to the house Wi-Fi using the password provided in the room and eventually used a different connection in the restaurant.

We paid the bill (£282.15) and then listed the complaints above the owner’s aunt who was sympathetic and promised the owners would contact us to discuss the issues. We have heard nothing!

We must have picked the wrong day!

(This is the first time I have posted comments like this about any of the many British hotels/restaurants we have visited)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk res
Level Contributor
282 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

An excellent resurant with rooms.The room itself was first rate with a large and confortable bed...lighting could have been improved.
What places the Chequers in a high league is the food...absolutely first rate. Best "Belly pork" we have tasted. What could have beeb improved was the time taken to serve us,,,50 mins before first course.
Service extremly pleasabt. Breakfast could have been improved.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Lunch at Chequers is an extremely memorable experience. A great old building has been sympathetically restored using pale heritage colours. The fusion of subtle flavours and perfect presentation was superb. Service is excellent. The four of us celebrating our wedding anniversaries enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Thanks to the talented team at Chequers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Right in the centre of Montgomery. The rooms have all have ensuite, are a good size and have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Little touches like L'Octaine toiletries in the bathroom and home-made cookies to accompany the tea and coffee in-room facilites were fab. Imaculately clean and very comfy beds. Has 3 rooms at the moment and we took all 3 for the grown-up children who just loved it. Breakfast was freshly cooked to a very high standard and nothing was too much trouble. Locals told us the evening meals were very good - shame we didn't get chance to sample them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HampshireSmally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
0.1 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
12.5 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
5.7 km away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Checkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Checkers

Property: The Checkers
Address: Broad Street, Montgomery SY15 6PN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Hotel Class:5 star — The Checkers 5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing