We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
35
33
19
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
33
19
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new management breakfast was delicious pork belly would stay here again south downs way recommend this hotel welcoming staff last minute booking visiting the area small size sunday roast cooked to perfection few weeks comfortable rooms a great place to stay food served promptly shower room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 101 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

I had a very pleasant overnight stay in this lovely Hotel but wish I could have stayed longer. Very clean and well decorated.. I enjoyed a lovely spacious room with a large en suite,a huge double bed and slept very well.
They don't serve dinner on Sunday evening but happily recommend local restaurants and invite you to bring a takeaway back and use the dining room if you wish. Breakfast was excellent and quite relaxed. Staff are really helpful. nothing seems to be too much trouble but they don't 'hover' over you all the time.
If you are visiting this area, the White Horse is worth a visit. Thank you

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsyrw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place and we always come here if we want to treat ourselves to a really decent meal out, the managers are wonderful and always remember us. The food is exceptional the chef is very talented! It’s a funny menu of small size tapas dishes offering classic English food but once you understand it it’s worth it! My husband and I love getting about 6 dishes to try out what amazing food the chef has cooked up! Great sharing and trying different things. The pork belly is out of this world!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank zoej927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I had an overnight stay at this lovely spot and were genuinely delighted and very impressed with the place. It’s a small family run business and the combination of charming history and modernity of the facilities is unbeatable. Best breakfast we’ve had in ages (by a county mile), immaculate room and large new shower, plentiful parking which is always a bonus, and to say that the staff were friendly and helpful would be an understatement. Excellent value for money and gorgeous towels and bedding. Would look no further if visiting the Downs. They also do evening meals and Sunday lunch. Unfortunately we didn’t have time to dine there this trip but I had a peek at the wine list and we shall definitely be back.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Niamh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We stayed overnight on a Monday as we were at a two day conference a few miles away. Comfortable room. Clean and spacious. Friendly staff. Very tasty breakfast. If you are staying in a Monday they do not serve food in the evdning, but there are plenty of places nearby. Would stay here again

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huggetts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

We had a really comfortable stay, with welcoming staff and a good meal in the restaurant, with well kept beer. The accommodation was fine and the breakfast was varied and ample. A really enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews