We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
47
44
29
23
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
44
29
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroast lambhave eaten hereyorkshire puddingscallopsno hot waterstayed one nighttea coffeequiz nightfull englishroom was spaciousnorfolkplumbing
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 166 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2015

Went for lunch here with friends on a wet & snowy afternoon. Lovely warm dog friendly bar, chatted with locals - then we all ordered the wonderful homemade rich creamy leek & potato soup, served with a warm crusty roll and shared a couple of bowls of the best chips ever! Must find out their secret?!! Fortunately we only live about 20-25 mins away, so we will be back very soon, thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maureen3YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2014

The pub is a really nice country establishment. The restaurant is less impressive and the accommodation was poor. The main problem with our room was the very noisy plumbing. We got very limited sleep. We also had no light in the bedroom and the heating was very high with no thermostatic control.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Baggiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2014

Popped in here when we couldn't find any other nice looking pubs in nearby villages. The atmosphere was excellent - buzzing with people and a really friendly welcome. Our food was delicious and the service was good. It was a cold day and it would have been nice to have the fire going - both for the warmth and the feeling - but this really was a minor point and we will certainly return with friends.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2014

We had dinner here during a recent long weekend away. The food was fine - typical pub grub - but it was totally overpriced in my opinion. It was London prices without the atmosphere to match. The pub was cold and despite asking for the heating to be turned on, it never happened. We were told that it was on and that it just took a while for the radiators to get hot but the radiators never warmed and we were there for two hours. This was a shame as any meal is miserable when you are cold. It's also a real locals pub and we weren't made to feel particularly welcome. There was an obnoxious guy sitting at the bar who seemed to want the whole pub to hear his opinions and stories. This became pretty irritating. There's no need for anyone to speak so loudly, especially when their views about and approach to women seemed patronising and sexist.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlie_BBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2014

With Friends who have a cottage in Castle Acre, we were fortunate to spend a week there whilst our kitchen was being refurbished. We both ate and drank at the Ostrich and it was interesting to come across a pub that catered for both locals and itinerants. The locals we met were friendly which is often not the case and the same applied to the staff. We ate there three or four nights and at no time were we disappointed. Lovely standard menus with interesting specials. Well recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank OrlanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews