We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmm”
Review of The Ostrich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ostrich Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Castle Acre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

It was a last minute booking in this AA 4 star rated premises. Pretty village and lovely old building. Thereby is the problem. The bar and dining table were sticky, plugs broken in sink and bath, heat supplied by electric heater, carpet badly stained, cobwebs in lights and on walks. A fetching piece of tape indicating the on off fir the towel rail but nowhere near the rail itself. Curtains not secured at ends so they fall off when you open them. At only £20 cheaper than my usual and excellent overnight stop this was poor value. The place is not 4 star and needs attention. The staff were lovely but were of a higher standard than the buildings. Food was expensive for what it was.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Booked a three night stay here, very last minute as my husband and I wanted to revisit Norfolk. While we had a fantastic break the staff at the Ostrich were off hand and unprofessional. The bins in our room were never emptied, the room was not cleaned or tidied on two days, ended up having to ask for loo roll and clean cups. Three of the four windows in our room had notices asking that they not be opened, the plumbing was noisy and inefficient and a 15 tog duvet when the temperature was in the high teens over night ensured a poor nights sleep. Food in the restaurant was ok and the breakfast was acceptable. Overall the Ostrich was a pretty pub but we left with the feeling that the staff couldn't have cared less about our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0rtiecat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Lunchtime visit to this establishment following visit to local National Trust property
Had looked online beforehand to see what the menu was like

Not very busy at time if visit (midweek so not a surprise)

Has a lovely position in Castle Acre and although were unable to park directly outside were able to find a space close by (I believe there is a car park to the rear of the property)

Nice selection of beers and wines and chose the Sizzling Sausage with onion relish. We also decided to share a portion of chips - which turned out to be the best chips I had eaten for ages

Was reasonably priced and the service was as expected with mainly young staff

Would definitely recommend and will return at some stage

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank harrrythedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Our second visit, roast amazing meat lover pizza amazing chicken tikka pitta amazing, cheese sandwich amazing. Nice pub friendly staff.. Only complaint dodgy yorkshire pudding! Sort it out guys, we complained, got two more slightly better but still flat and stodgy.

Would visit again.. Want to book to stay as well

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Having booked a table at The Ostrich upon reading many good reviews, we had high expectations. Upon arrival, there seemed a complete lack of staff, certainly not enough to manage the busy bar. After waiting approximately 20 minutes, we were shown to our table and given the menu (a menu that essentially consists of pizza, sandwiches or roast dinner - with no vegetarian roast option whatsoever, however an option for fish which is frankly quite odd). When the meals came out, I have to say the beef was cooked beautifully, but alas it was accompanied by a warm and limp pile of rocket (a bizarre choice of accompaniment for a roast dinner), and nowhere near enough vegetables to feed four people. Whilst eating we heard various complaints from other customers being fed back to the long suffering staff. We waited another 15-20 minutes after our plates had been collected for someone to take a dessert order, but nobody came so we paid and left. The three staff members you had were working really hard and clearly were rushed off their feet, but remained polite and helpful (if a little distant). May I suggest you have more than three staff members working during a busy Sunday lunch time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank sparr0wfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinKingslynn, Owner at The Ostrich Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thanks for your review, It's a shame you have not enjoyed your experience with us. We always take note of any constructive criticism positively and work towards improving our standard of service. We have taken note of lack of vegetarian roast option. Sorry about delay in service as we were extremely busy on that particular Sunday, we will take your suggestion on board and would implement it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

This place has been up and down over the years and I am an occasional visitor. Last time in 2015 was not a great experience, but gave it another go last night (Jul 17) and was delighted. New friendly bar staff, and food was excellent. Will be very happy to now become a more frequent visitor.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HeadAcheOnASunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinKingslynn, Owner at The Ostrich Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Many thanks for your kind review. Glad that you enjoyed your meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Booked for a Sunday overnight stay and was informed when we got there that they DID NOT serve food on Sunday. Nearest place was Swaffham. Cancelled our booking as we thought we were settled for a birthday evening dinner and drink. Staff were very unhelpful and could not answer my questions about cancelling the booking

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Ostrich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ostrich Inn

Address: Stocks Green, Castle Acre, King's Lynn PE32 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Castle Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Acre
Price Range: $145 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ostrich Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ostrich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ostrich Hotel King`s Lynn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing