We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MyBreaks11
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom

Great peaceful location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 15, 2020via mobile
Just what I needed during the current Coronavirus situation. Somewhere nice to stay in a safe quiet country location with plenty of walks close by. Wonderful location within a deer park and long walks by the River Wear just a short distance away.

Nice room on the front of the hotel with views of the deer from my window. Very comfortable bed and good bathroom and shower. The room was a little warm at times as I couldn’t open the window but there was a fan provided. Cushions and other soft furnishings had been removed but the room was still comfortable. I felt very safe here under the current circumstances and I thought the hotel was quite thorough in applying Covid precautions.

All of the staff that I had contact with were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and despite the limited menu the evening meals were excellent. Probably understandable during the current circumstances the hotel was not very busy but that did make it very quiet.

I spent a good 6 nights here in this lovely old hotel. I hope that the new owners don’t spoil it by making it too exclusive with over the top luxury and prices. There were only two disappointments concerning my stay. Firstly the complete lack of WiFi in all parts of the hotel except for the bar, despite it being advertised as having WiFi available throughout. Secondly I booked through the Best Western Website and expected to get a considerable number of points awarded for a 6 night stay. However, the hotel ceased to be a Best Western hotel during the 3 weeks between my booking and my stay and I did not receive any reward points.


Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Twin Room
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
    C$87
  • Agoda.com
3.6 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$99
  • Expedia.com
    C$101
4.5 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    C$59
  • Hotels.com
7.6 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$118
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$105
  • Hotels.com
7.9 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$117
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    C$79
  • Trip.com
    C$89
7.3 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
    C$145
  • Skyscanner.com
  • Priceline
    C$145
8.3 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$208
7.9 km from Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Spennymoor
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveller rating
562
279
104
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
562
279
104
44
29
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2020

We live in the South and regularly visit relatives in Co Durham and always use Whitworth Hall as a base. It has beautiful surroundings and a very comfortable interior. I seldom write reviews of hotels, but we were particularly impressed with the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Also the food was always good. I'm happy to recommend this hotel as an excellent base for travelling around Co Durham

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Musician800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Whitworth Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2020

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2020

Hope that new owners restore this old building (and plumbing system) back to its former glory, and that the interior will match the scenic exterior. Very friendly and helpful team provided impressive service. Our son loved the deer park. Reasonable bar prices too.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank coh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Whitworth Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

Thank you for your review.

Im sure we will not disappoint once the refurbishment has been completed.

Thank you for such wonderful comments on the team and grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2020

Beautiful grounds and lovely friendly staff. The hotel itself is not really my sort of thing but it is a lovely place. I think the hotel itself loses some of its appeal because of the Pandemic situation but I must say that the hotel staff absolutely try their best and are extremely polite, friendly and helpful... But the biggest stars.... The Deers!!! These amazing creatures are beautiful and friendly.. get some bags of food at £2 per bag from reception.. and they will be your best friends.. well at least until the bag is empty. Stunning grounds to walk around in..
Breakfast was a bit quiet.. needs some background music or something.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheVaxary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Whitworth Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

Thank you for your review.

The deer are indeed the main attraction. They are awesome- although we are a little bias!

Thank you for your feedback with regards to background music we will look into why it was not playing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2020

Sparkling Afternoon Tea- A very pleasant afternoon in the sun lounge, food very nice.
We had three flavours of sandwich fingers, a sultana scone with jam and clotted cream, lemon posset, chocolate brownie, Bakewell tart and chocolate sponge

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helento
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Whitworth Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2020

Very impressive building - a popular wedding venue it seems. but we were just stopping the one night on our way to Scotland. We stayed in a spacious twin room with comfortable clean beds. Large bathroom. Very good food the breakfast in particular was outstanding. The decor is classic and the on site parking good. Just one niggle - the lounge bar sofas are not easy to sit on as they are very low and soft - that might be a plus for some but not if you are arthritic.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Whitworth Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2020

Thank you for recent review it is very much appreciated.

We will definitely take in to consideration the low sofas when we come to replace them.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews