We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sedgebrook Hall(Chapel Brampton)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Poplars Hotel(Northampton)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$87
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hopping Hare(Northampton)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Northampton Round Spinney(Northampton)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$42
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Langham Hotel(Northampton)
US$64
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Northampton Upton Way(Northampton)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
458
216
95
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
216
95
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseterrace restaurantbaronial hallred letterfree tea and coffeeold houseconference venueswimming poollovely venueeggs cooked to orderbridal suitehot drinksevening mealmain restaurantbeautiful housewedding breakfastwedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 827 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We arrived late on Saturday afternoon and asked if we could book in for an afternoon tea. This could not be accommodated, but the staff did go out of their way to put on a cream tea for us. This was highly appreciated as I'm gluten intollerant and getting an afternoon tea anywhere without booking is always problematic. The staff were all very helpful throughout our stay. The cream tea, dinner and breakfast were good.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Dear Irene,

It was great to read that you felt well looked after and that we could accommodate your dietary requirements.We are very lucky with our team here and it is particularly rewarding when our guests highlight the level of customer-care they have received.I hope you will be able to return very soon-for that full-afternoon tea (They're great !)

Kind Regards,Paul Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Had a memorable weekend here, beautiful tranquil place. Main house is stunning. Stayed in room 225 which was lovely but far too hot, but everything else outweighed this little problem, will just ask for a different room next time, as we are definitely going back. Staff have all been great and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Elizabeth in the restaurant is a whirling dervish, great little worker. Complimentary tea and coffee whenever you wanted it, and good coffee it was too. Highly recommend the food, excellent dining and the restaurant is beautiful. Very happy, look forward to seeing you all again.

Room Tip: Best rooms in the main house
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Dear Diane,

Thankyou for letting us know how much you enjoyed your weekend here at Highgate (Apart from the heat in your bedroom-sorry!)Your comments will be shared with all the team here especially Elizabeth.Your recommendation is really appreciated and I do hope you will return very soon,as indicated,

Best Wishes,Paul Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

Don’t expect to stay in the main house, however you will drive past it (!) on your way to the car park where the rooms are.

After being promised a luxury stay away (through red letter days) we were hugely disappointed, the place looked more like a 1970’s premier inn, complemented by the restaurants main course, burger and chips.

Only positive was that the staff were friendly and understanding, but I don’t recommend this place at all.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Dear Daniel,

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you feel you have obviously suffered after your stay with us.If you would ever like to return in order to give us the opportunity to make amends please let me know.By the way we offer a 3 course multi-choice menu which changes every day

Best Wishes,Paul Williams,paul.williams@sundialgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2018

We booked this hotel as a one night stopover and was really pleased with the overall experience. The receptionist was helpful and efficient, parking seemed plentiful and we were able to park right outside our room. We had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant and breakfast the following day was equally as good. Unfortunately we never made use of the leisure facilities. The only downside to our stay was the housekeeping of our room, the welcome pack was set up for one person instead of two (although this was quickly remedied by the receptionist), the desk lamp didn't appear to work (minor detail) but the bathroom really needs better attention- there was black mould in the shower, the window is obviously left open for extended periods as there was a thick cobweb connected to it and the underneath of the toilet seat was quite badly stained. None of the above detracts from the overall good experience but I would suggest that our room would benefit from close inspection by senior housekeeping

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Dear Karen,

Thankyou for your very positive review,it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the meals you took in our Terrace Restaurant.I was sorry to read that your time with us was slightly marred by the standard of housekeeping in your bedroom-please accept my apologies for this lapse..It would be great if you could let me know which room you stayed in.I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again,

Best Wishes,Paul Williams,paul.williams@sundialgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

A beautiful house with good leisure facilities , not that we had any time for them. And my bedroom (201 was lovely).
We were there for business and the conference rooms were great.
Mind you what makes this place is the staff. The receptionists are fantastic, the chefs fabulous and so accommodating and the restaurant staff are terrific. Only one rather grumpy lady who was rather rude on two separate days. Everyone else went above and beyond.
Thank you all. I'm sure everyone that was in my group would agree you made an exhausting and hard week a brilliant experience.
Keep it up and thank you all

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank TotsDonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Dear TotsDonal,

It looks like you had a busy and stressful week and it was good to read that you felt well-looked after whilst here.Apologies for one of our team "Letting the side down". We will work with them to make sure they are awrare of the impact they have.

I do hope you will find time to stay with us again soon,perhaps for a more leisurely weekend ?

Best wishes,Paul Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews