We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with the family, but could do better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wrea Green
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great time with the family, but could do better”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a great time here, but i think it was the company that made the trip as opposed to Ribby Hall.

A quick review of the positives;
Good kids play grouds - there were a few different areas for different ages.
Good swimming area - we couldn't get our little on to leave!
Good little bar and restaurant - good food for the price and fiendly service.
Good location to act as a base.
Not a bad little gym on site, although it was about £5 per use.

Now the not so good;
Whilst the 'council estate look' as a couple of other reviews have mentioned is a bit harsh, the site and many of the homes can definately not be described as scenic. Not a huge point for us, but worth noting.
As we were only staying a night, we were only allowed in one of the non-refurbished homes. I've never known a noisier house! If you were under attack by ninjas (frequent occurance for me) you'd hear them come in the door, they'd wake the neighbours up trying to get up the creaky stairs and you'd already be wide awake waiting for them as the bed sounded like it was built using rice crispies.
The cycle and little buggies started off as a great idea, but as other reviewers notes, there's no-where to go on them! You're not allowed on the nature trail so you just end up driving up and down the internal roads!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get one of the 'non-refurbished' homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianianianian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    317
    127
    34
    34
See reviews for
784
107
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We really enjoyed our mid week break at Ribby Hall, stayed mon - fri. The cottage had modern decoration an was lovely and spacious. There was more than enough room for myself, husband and our 17 month old son.

We stayed end of march so was out of season and it was really quiet. All facilities were good and The Bar and Grill restaurant did lovely food.

We went to Blackpool zoo and got a discount through booking via reception so that's a tip worth remembering and we enjoyed it much better than Chester Zoo.

All in all a great little holiday and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tait B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Having returned from a 5 day family break to celebrate a family birthday I feel that I ought to share the experience.
We are a family party of 6 adults and 4 children aged 10/9/8/6.
The accomodation, was to a high standard - far beyond what would usually be expected within the UK for self catering accomodation. Leather lounge furniture and comfortable beds in roomy bedrooms with a well equiped kitchen.
The cottage was warm with central heating and lots of hot water.
Facilities and activities for the children were good with climbing walls, bikes and boating available at a reasonable charge, and swimming available that came in the package free ! There was also horse riding available but we thought the costs a bit steep.
Others on Trip Advisor mention high costs at the on-site supermarket and restaurants but within a mile is Kirkham village with a Morrisons supermarket and other eating venues are available.
My only complaint was the lack of electric sockets - the only I found in our bedroom was badly positioned behind the bed. Not an easy location to use a hairdryer !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrysgran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have just returned from Ribby Hall after a really super 4 night break. My husband and I had a cottage and so did my my daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandsons. Every day was really special and we used the pools, soft play, parks, boating lake and enjoyed the entertainment at the end of a busy day. The adults also used the sauna, steam room and enjoyed the tranquility of the adult pool.

The cottages cottages are stunning, immaculate and warm with lashings of hot water and the bedding and the beds give a restful nights sleep. There are many choices of places to eat and the food is sensibly priced and plentiful.

The staff, well they really make the holiday. From the young lifeguards, the charming bar staff, the charismatic cafe owner on the island who does great food as well, really adds to the flavour and memory of the holiday. My daughter has been four or five times now and already is looking at next year's holidays to book again. For a really great holiday book Ribby Hall!

Room Tip: Speak to the helpful staff or have a look on the excellent Ribby map to make a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

It would be a real shame not to give credit when a standard so good has been put into place for the British holiday maker. We have returned home from a 4 night break with the feeling that it definately was NOT long enough! Took my parents (mum is often hard to please) and they were both delighted! My children (who are 4&7) spent the break asking when they could return with their cousins- a sure sign of approval! Ribby Hall has absolutely everything and i'd be surprised if any individual could find genuine cause for complaint. Our house/bungalow overlooked the little fishing pond and at the rear, faced the Equestrian centre; perfect for happy memories!
Although we did not have a huge amount of interaction with the staff, it is clear that somebody, somewhere is interested in ensuring the clients of Ribby hall come back again.
We will certainly be one of those clients! Happy Holiday reader
P.S. if you do book up, you MUST MUST MUST visit garstang- medieval market town with thatched roof pub. It will take your breath away!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in the Rose cottage for 4 nights in the Easter holidays. Our kids are 8 and 4 - they enjoyed the facilities. Swimming pool every day and even though the park was fully booked, the pool when we visited was never over busy.
We actually only eat onsite once - the Tuesday deal on the pizzas! The restaurant was a bit too posh and you had to get dressed up to go on there... the Grill was too noisy with entertainment.
However, the place was excellent - accommodation very good standard.
It is NOT really a woodland setting - however a very nice landscaped parkland. We did the nature trail which was fun.
If you are looking for eateries close by - the Indian Buraq round the corner was fantastic and Dawsons fish and chips in Kirkham was good!

Soft play was good as was the outside play area. Don't forget the "Island" area behind the sports centre.
Kids review - "can we come back again" !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdl1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were looking for somewhere we go to on holiday with our three month old baby where we wouldn't disturb other guests, but where there was a spa for Mummy. Ribby Hall seemed to fit the bill and was perfect for what we needed. We stayed in one of the new log cabins and got a really good deal. The cabin was excellent, very comfortable and well equipped. Although the cabins were quite close together, and with a view of 'mobile home' type residences, we found it to be very peaceful although I don't know if it would be quite the same in peak season. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub on the veranda.
The other facilities on site were very good and during our week there we barely scratched the surface of all the things there were to do (more than we expected from their website) - a lovely adult-only pool, a well-stocked shop, pizza takeaway and excellent food at the restaurant. Best of all, you can pay to use the facilities at the on-site Spa Hotel - I did the aquathermal journey which was really relaxing and very good value. You can also make plenty of day trips from Ribby - we walked to Wrea Green and went to the pub, and had a day trip to Blackpool. A really enjoyable first holiday as a family.

Room Tip: The log cabins are spacious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrea Green
10.6 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
9.2 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.9 km away
The Villa Express Kirkham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
8.3 km away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
11.2 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Accommodation

Property: Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Accommodation
Address: Ribby Hall Ribby Road | Nr Blackpool, Wrea Green PR4 2PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrea Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wrea Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ribby Hall Village, comprises more than 100 acres of beautiful Lancashire / Fylde countryside in the North West of England. Accredited as five-star by Visit Britain with a choice of luxury cottages and idyllic pine lodges with outdoor hot tubs, hosting 2-6 guests per property. Motel rooms are also available as are three larger and bespoke properties each within their own private grounds hosting 8-14 guests per property. There are an abundance of sport, leisure, dining, and entertainment options for all ages and 365 days a year. Adult guests can also enjoy the award winning SPA Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ribby Hall Village Self Catering Cottages Hotel Wrea Green
Ribby Hall Village Hotel
Ribby Hall Village Wrea Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing