We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
611
257
93
68
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
257
93
68
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot chocolate little touches journey home fishing boats turn down service weather forecast the main hotel coastal path eggs benedict small hotel biscuits small harbour car park bottled water both nights cornish fishing village cakes
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We just stayed for one night and it was a perfectly nice experience but a few things wrangled with me for somewhere so expensive, like supplements on dinner for having fish, super expensive drinks and I got served a burnt muffin with my eggs Benedict in the morning (it was literally black).
However. Nice room - with little treats, like a hot water bottle (much needed as it was a cold night) and fresh milk in the fridge. Gorgeous to fall asleep to the sound of the sea 20 metres away. Serving staff very friendly, although reception (manageress, perhaps?) slightly less on those occasions when you’re popping down for dinner or breakfast and just a smile would be nice.
Only couples there, which we liked. Clearly lots of mature, intelligent guests, as there was plenty of very high brow discussions heard over dinner and breakfast-!
Absolutely stunning location and literally nothing to do but relax.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank katjasass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

A quaint hotel in a remote location. Ideal for getting away from it all. Excellent room. a restaurant with views of the bay. very good service from all the staff. excellent breakfast, with plenty of choice. Restaurant menu is not traditional. excellent wifi service in all areas.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Len W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

My husband bought us a two night stay at “The Lugger”, with Secret Escapes, for my recent March birthday present. This is my Hotel review. I have submitted a Restaurant review separately.

I’m sure the room you are allocated makes a very big difference. We didn’t have a room with a view: our room, 304, was nice enough but on arrival it was so unbearably HOT that we had to turn off the radiator and open the window & door to get it to cool down. Also, you couldn’t regulate the heated towel rail in the bathroom which was excessively hot and our toilet (and others in this block) was an absolute nightmare to flush. There are dressing gowns and big towels but I do think it would be better just as a shower/wet room than trying to accommodate both a shower and an unappealing bath.

There are lovely touches: homemade cookies one day, muffins another and turn down includes a lavender pillow spray, hot water bottle, hot chocolate & marshmallows. I’d have appreciated a better tea selection (I went out and bought Earl Grey tea) and some fresh cafetière coffee though.

The king-size bed is very comfortable (until you end up on the join in the middle) and lovely fresh cotton bedding is sprayed with lovely lavender for a good night’s sleep .

I’d absolutely love to stay at “The Lugger” again. It is simply stunning and offers superb views but it’s a 5-6 hour drive for us, from Staffordshire, and the long journey to Cornwall would need a sea view room to warrant the very long drive down.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

This hotel is as cute as the photos. Lovely building, prettily whitewashed in the best location. We were there for 2 nights just chilling out with some friends. We were in a building in the car park which sounds awful but it was a gorgeous place. Our room was painted a very delicate eggshell, such a comfy bed and duvet. Little sitting area - just fantastic. The weather wasn't great except for the first morning when we walked up the cliff path a bit then sat in the sunshine feeling the warmth of the sun's rays and were lucky enough to see a couple of seals playing in the sea! Back for breakfast which was well cooked then off exploriing. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast rate and dinner was good. Interesting service in the dining room - very, very attentive and yet not quite seeing this through ie asking if we wanted something then it not arriving - charming staff and lovely views from the window of the tiny harbour and sea just below.

Looking forward to returning most definitely.

Lovely touches? Hot water bottle put in the bed in the evening and glasses with marshmallows and hot chocolate sachets, fantastic biscuits too!

Great big roaring log fire and nice bar area/lounge with comfy sofas - great to relax and crack open a bottle of wine - or indulge in their unusual gins.

Only criticism is that they need sound proofing - our bed head was against a wall which had next door's en suite - not a nice thing to be woken with - could hear pins dropping let alone noisy showers

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tallyhoo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at The Lugger and had the most fantastic stay - we enjoyed a lovely room with a balcony, delicious food and most especially fantastic staff that looked after us so well and made us feel so welcome...must go again! 5 stars from us (two fussy Londoners that are also in the restaurant business!)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews