We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic position but service strategy lacking”
Review of Kirkhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kirkhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathblane
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Just north of Glasgow at the foothills of highland country, Kirkhouse Inn is well placed with large parking and spacious facilities. Our stay (a group for a wedding at weekend ) somehow caused the £75 weekend rate to disappear and the £110 for B&B wasn't worth it. A sniffy receptionist didn't help with baggage and firmly told us the key had to be handed in when we went out . The welcome at breakfast was frosty and while the "full breakfast" was tasty, my plate was nearly whipped away half finished with knife and fork still crossed on diagonal. We would have rated it higher if the welcome factor was stronger.

Room Tip: quieter rooms to rear looking at hillside
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Euronomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards07, General Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us however the rate of £75 is a single occupancy rate not double occupancy. Our receptionist would have been more than happy to arrange a male member of staff to assist with your baggage had this request been made and for security and health and safety purposes we do ask that the keys remain in the building when guests are out. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and as you will see from other reviewers it is seldom that we receive complaints about our staff who go out their way to ensure customer satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Kirkhouse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here twice within a couple of weeks, both times for 2 nights. I have to say that I'm a bit surprised by some previous negative comments about the staff here. I'm pretty sure I would have met most if not all of them during my visits and I found every single one to be extremely friendly, attentive and cheerful. And speaking as an Englishman in Scotland I reckon if any of the staff had any attitude issues I would have spotted it!
Food was an absolute delight, extremely good value for money for what you get too (I can highly recommend the sea bream, delicious).
Only minus points are: WiFi only really works in a corner of the bar or at reception, and the shower is a bit of a trickle (in the 2 rooms I stayed in anyway). But I'll still be booking the Kirkhouse next time I'm working in Glasgow, the positives far outweigh the areas for improvement.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank steveleg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Very nice hotel with a small but comfortable room, a bigger TV with all the freeview channels would have been better. For dinner the food and service were excellent and it was very good value. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank EGD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Got great deal on 5pm 3course meal bed & breakfast. Staff friendly hotel spotless looks like its been newly decorated. Evening meal beautiful all 3 courses. Only thing you have to choose from a set menu but a good choice. Breakfast cereal fruit or full scottish cooked breakfast. Again all very tastey. Would recommend to try.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank GILLIANM499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

First time we have been to the Kirkhouse for years because our last visit it was so run down however we were delighted with the total refurb which has taken place the décor is lovely throughout including the bedroom which was well appointed spotlessly clean and really user friendly The staff were lovely good food and a good wee band on
Saturday night

Room Tip: we had a front room but it was fine with a nice view of the hills the back rooms would be even quiet...
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

we spent Saturday night there on a 5pm deal, BBD for £65 plus an extra £15 for the Saturday night, we left it too late for booking the room and ended up with their last double, the hotel is lovely, some parts a wee bit tired looking but the reception/bar/dining room are vey modern. The place was spotless and the staff are kind and friendly and professional. The dinner was a set menu which we did not know about and had already picked (before arriving may I add) from what we thought was the al a carte, we were slightly disappointed that we could not get what we wanted the set menu was very good, good sized portions and hot. Breakfast was exceptionally good with only 1 complaint the black pudding was a wee bit greasy. All in all a nice, relaxed weekend, and we will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasgow95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We had a great time at the Kirkhouse Inn last week. The food was absolutely delicious. Compliments to the chef. The room has been upgraded since we were last there and is very comfortable. The two lads in the bar were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a bother to them. Again a great overnight stay. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: rooms to the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathblane
12.6 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
25.2 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.5 km away
Boclair House Hotel
Boclair House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bearsden
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Glazert Country House Hotel
9.3 km away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
136 reviews
11.2 km away
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkhouse Inn

Address: Glasgow Road, Strathblane G63 9AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Strathblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathblane
Price Range: $143 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kirkhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkhouse Inn is nestled at the foot of the Campsie Hills in the village of Strathblane. Only 8 miles from Glasgow and 4 miles from Milngalvie the Kirkhouse is ideally located for those wishing to explore the Trossachs, Loch Lomond and Glasgow. With a restaurant and Bar/Lounge catering throughout the day from breakfast and early morning coffee and cakes to sumptuous meals in the evening, the Inn caters for all tastes. There are 15 rooms to accommodate those wishing to stay and explore the local area or for those visiting businesses or friends/family nearby. Our rates are affordable and competitive. Should you wish further information please call or look us up on Facebook and Twitter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Kirkhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkhouse Hotel Strathblane
Kirkhouse Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing