We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, what can I say?”
Review of Kirkhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kirkhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathblane
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Good: The room was large, the bed comfortable and the bathroom large, modern and well appointed. But those are qualifiers to be in the hotel game at all, not really differentiators.
Average: Breakfast of reconstituted scrambled eggs. How hard would it be to get fresh eggs, really? Cereals in a box, jam in single serve packs. You know the drill.
Awful: No laundry service! At all. I was visiting relatives, so out late each of the three evenings I was there. On the first night I was locked out of the hotel because the night porter was nowhere to be seen. After about 45 minutes of knocking increasingly loudly, a very nice guest from Chicago let me in. The next morning the nice young woman who served me at breakfast thought "the porter must have been out the back", but he most definitely was not. You can knock on a lot of windows in 45 minutes. On the two following nights the front door was left unlocked and I helped myself to my room key.
Kirkhouse Inn has all the makings of a good little hotel, but none of the spirit. The only reason I am giving it "average" is because hotels in the UK are generally expensive and of a poor standard. In Chile, where I am heading next, a place like Kirkhouse Inn would already be out of business. Shame, as it has potential.

Room Tip: Away from the bar end of the hotel, but to be fair they did stop the music at 11.00pm.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Ewart, Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are glad you found the accommodation to be well presented however, the remainder of your comments we find frankly odd. How a small 15 bedroom village Inn can be compared with your apparent knowledge of far superior worldwide hotels is bewildering. Perhaps if the staff had been made aware of your extreme time keeping one incident could have been avoided. Boxed cereals and sealed marmalade portions are the norm here in this country in all grades of hotels, sorry this does not meet your hygiene standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Kirkhouse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Room. This was a standard one. It would have earned a "good" had it not been for (1) the extension lead serving a bedside table lamp (2) the very long TV aerial lead snaking its' way across the room, in front of the radiator, behind a chair and over the front of a mirror! Bathroom excellent. Food. Breakfasts weren't very good; eg packet cereals, warm milk, no yoghurt choices (in our case it was strawberry or strawberry); cooked breakfast served on red hot plates ensuring eggs were hard, tasteless bacon and sausages, very greasy. Pity since if they got breakfast right and sorted the room it would justify a "good". We thought it a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This was 4th time in the Kirkhouse
Just renovated. The colours they used were lovely. Breakfast and diner was good and the staff is young and helpfull. I hope to come back many times.
We went to nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. Went shopping in Milngavie
It is only 20-30 minuten from Glasgow AirPort.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank ElsedeJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Having been here quite a number of years ago, it was disappointing to return this evening to find that the meals are not as good as they used to be here!
We had pate to start, which was ok ( chutney quite tasteless) but usual problem of one less oatcake at least than the amount of pate required.
Mains: my husband had the chicken and haggis which he said was ok, but the cod and chips was a big disappointment- I could have pulled better out of my own freezer and would have made decent home made chips at home! This luxury is not afforded to folks at the Kirkhouse! Pudding: we both had pecan tart- horrible- only ate the pecans off it with the cheap ice cream. Expect mediocre pub grub! Not worth the a la carte prices!!
Not going to be returning.
No problems with staff or premises per se.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here through late rooms.com and was booked the same day late in the afternoon due to a mix up with late rooms.com , The receptionist couldn't have more helpful she did her very best to accommodate us as a family. The only thing I would say is invest in a travel cot which did let you down alittle, we didn't have ours as we weren't planning on stopping here. We had our meal in the bar and the food was very nice and quick. Breakfast too was nice could have just done with some beans. Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank lisadyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Room was nice ( a little bit too hard beds). No wifi upstairs. They were short on staff so a lot of waiting. The people that did work were nice though. The restaurant did their best to serve me (eat paleo) but as it seems at every restaurant I went to around here, no one had vegetables!

Room Tip: Some of my friends got rooms with a lot of noice so they couldnt sleep. So ask for that.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonjadogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

called into this hotel on Way to Glasgow for a meal fantastic food and service and great comfortable rooms well worth the money but the food is the best ive had in years everything about the hotel is modern and stylish but the food is to die for absolutely on another level to other local hotels well done to the chef and all the staff the service was great to .a Great hotel for a Break Or a Meal

Room Tip: rooms overlooking campsie hills
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywandererDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathblane
12.6 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
25.2 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.5 km away
Boclair House Hotel
Boclair House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bearsden
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Glazert Country House Hotel
9.3 km away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
136 reviews
11.2 km away
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkhouse Inn

Address: Glasgow Road, Strathblane G63 9AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Strathblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathblane
Price Range: $141 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kirkhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkhouse Inn is nestled at the foot of the Campsie Hills in the village of Strathblane. Only 8 miles from Glasgow and 4 miles from Milngalvie the Kirkhouse is ideally located for those wishing to explore the Trossachs, Loch Lomond and Glasgow. With a restaurant and Bar/Lounge catering throughout the day from breakfast and early morning coffee and cakes to sumptuous meals in the evening, the Inn caters for all tastes. There are 15 rooms to accommodate those wishing to stay and explore the local area or for those visiting businesses or friends/family nearby. Our rates are affordable and competitive. Should you wish further information please call or look us up on Facebook and Twitter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Kirkhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkhouse Hotel Strathblane
Kirkhouse Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing