We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation and facilities that...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage - Renovated Throughout.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage - Renovated Throughout.
Rose Cottage and Rose Bud - view as you arrive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Rose Cottage - Renovated Throughout.
Rose Cottage and Rose Bud - view as you arrive
Bi-fold doors on to the patio
Utility room with washer dryer and freezer
Snug with a selection of games and children's toys
Lounge - dining area
Lounge fire place - wood burning stove
Main bathroom - also has large new shower cubicle in back left corner, not shown
Master bedroom with views over the field
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom En-suite Bathroom
Back twin room
Back twin room
Front twin room
Bedroom one with ensuite shower room
Rose Bud - living area
Rose Bud - mezzanine chalet style bedroom
Shower room in Rose Bud
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Coychurch, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet B
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and facilities that exceeded all expectations.”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Perfectly situated a few minutes from Coychurch village and Bridgend. Easy access to Ogmore, Portcawl and the Gower. The owners have children in mind as their own childrens’ toys are available to use. A delightful annexe adds pleasure to the amenities. I would recommend Rose Cottage as a perfect place for larger families as it sleeps ten.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you very much Janet for your kind words. I’m glad you all had a lovely stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you Jane. Upon reflection I have actually changed it to accommodate 10 persons. I think any more than that is too tight. I'm glad you all had a great stay.
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnnyB20...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal holiday retreat”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Rose Cottage and Rose bud was a fantastic place for a family get together. It was very well kitted out with kitchen equipment, children's toys and DVDs. Much better than any other rental property I have been to and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

We will try and come back in sunnier weather when we can explore the area better.

Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a fabulous stay. Sarah and Brendon Hopkins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thank you. We are delighted you had a great holiday. Regards Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georges P
1 review
“Rose Cottage”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

very good place, everything was operational, the house was clean and we had all commodities, we enjoy the environment and we was not far from Cardiff for the rugby worl cup

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona J
2 reviews
“Another lovely relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Recently enjoyed another relaxing week at Rose Cottage 9th to 16th September. This is an ideal base for exploring South Wales and revisiting some of my husbands childhood memories. It was great to have the Aga on, which wasn't expected, as we had a couple of rainy days that made it feel a bit chilly in the evening. However, also had some lovely sunny days when we were able to do some walking then come back to sit in the garden looking over the countryside. Once again we had everything we needed and more, including a thoughtful welcome pack with some nice Welsh goodies and treats. Thanks Liz. And thanks Sarah for being so accommodating over just two of us staying. Best cottage we've stayed in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage in peaceful and private location.
Liked least: Winding lane leading to cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahameb
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two teenage children thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks in Rose Cottage. Our 16 year old son slept in the 'Rose Bud' annexe every night! The booking process was very straightforward and communications from both the owners and the housekeeper were excellent. The cottage was amazingly well-equipped, very clean and beautifully presented. The location is brilliant: very close to Bridgend shops and amenities and to the M4, whilst at the same time being in a countryside setting. Very quiet with horse, rabbits, buzzards, green woodpeckers and bats in the next door field. One of our essential requirements for a happy holiday was good, free wifi and this was provided with no problems at all. We had one very slight problem which the housekeeper sorted out very efficiently and effectively. There is lots to do in the Bridgend area and Cardiff, Swansea and the Gower are quickly and easily reached via the M4 or local roads if you prefer a scenic route. We are planning to return for our family holiday next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the cottage was so well-equipped, and the location.
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything but would probably say the turn into the drive but easily mastered and we have a large MPV.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing