We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
50
39
11
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
39
11
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace small shower room spacious apartment pool bar ring hob washing machine pizza fridge freezer minute walk lifeguard on duty good size carmelo toilet bustling hairdryer reception locals
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 112 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Really love how this place looks. Pool was beautiful and the place was so relaxing. Had a cute little cafe type place out near the pool. The center that's always bustling is also close so you can choose to be as isolated or as involved in the area as you want

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kustakusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017

We (a family of four, kids aged 10 and 11) stayed 11 nights at Kamena. We booked early and were promised a roof top apartment but somehow this reservation was lost due to changes in the booking and we at first shown to a ground floor apt, but the host, Carmelo, quickly reshuffled and managed to get us the roof top apt that we wanted.

From the very spacious roof terrace there is a great view of the sea, and we had literally every meal up there. It is also equipped with a washing machine, ours had some problems but within a couple of days a brand new machine was installed.

The interior part of the first floor apartments are identical to the ground floor apartments, having a large kitchen/TV room, two bedrooms and a bathroom. The TV has access to all thinkable channels, which we used to watch Wimbledon or cycling in the hot hours between 12 and 3. All facilities for cooking are available, and although the kitchen and the interior in general is a little worn, it all works. And with access to the roof top, this feels like a penthouse flat.

There is a rather large pool for the kids which opens at 9 am until 8 pm, and our kids loved it there. The rules are a little strict, no jumping or playing ball, but it is nice break from the sandy beaches. The size matches the number of guests, so never impossible to get a sunbed.

The city itself, Marina de Ragusa, is not particularly interesting, but is a perfect starting point for tours in the region, including the many phenomenal beaches of which we only tried a few, such as Sampieri and Punta Bracetto. Cava D'aligi looked gorgeous while driving by. And it has all the required facilities, the Eurospar supermarket is close by and open all day, Mon-Sun.

All in all, nearly a perfect spot for a beach summer vacation in Sicily.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

Carmelo arranged out transit - taxi waiting for us with comfortable car at Catania.
Friendly welcome.
Spacious and clean apartment.
Fantastic roof top sun terrace for breakfast and night caps overlooking pool and with view out to sea.
Very few visitors at this time of year so we had the large lovely pool and loungers on the decking almost to ourselves.
10 min max easy traffic-free walk down to the plaza and beach for lunch and dinner.
4km of beaches with soft fine sand shallow clean calm water.
Long promenade with palm trees and bustling throng of locals of all ages on weekend evenings.
Great Sicilian food from Ara at lunch and La Avenida for dinner.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017

I have recently arrived home from 9 nights at the Kamena. Our room was on the second floor with a nice view of the pool with the sea in the distance. It was a satisfactory place to stay. Nothing amazing but quite large apartment which was clean and basic. Unfortunately our TV did not work because of a break between the socket and the aerial on the roof. However it was a smart TV with USB sockets to watch films from a memory stick. And we didn't have a kettle until 2 days before we left, but we managed with a pan. Second floor apartments have a roof terrace containing washing machine, washing sink and a gas powered 4 ring hob. This was great to be able cook and eat outside. They provide a table and 4 chairs on the terrace also.
All apartments have 2 bedrooms, one double room and one twin bedded room. Both rooms have good wardrobe storage and the beds are very hard. There is a main bathroom and a small shower room with toilet at the top of the stairs going up to the terrace. Towels and 1 toilet roll in each bathroom are provided along with a hairdryer.
The Kamena has secure parking for cars. The reception is closed everday from 1pm - 3pm. The spa supermarket is a 10 minute walk away and has everything you could possibly need, also down the hill towards the popular square is a local convenience shop with some supplies. Walk to sea front is 10 minutes down the hill and Marina di Ragusa is a lovely little town, it has a lovely square where local families meet up from 6 - 9 most evenings, it is particularly busy on Sundays. We didn't meet any other English people. Nice beaches but with some litter problems and dogs mess. Sea was quite warm. Drive from Catania Airport was 1 hour and 40 mins and the Sicilians drive like idiots with no seat belts, mobile phones glued to their ears and tail gate. Quite stressful to be honest. The Kamena is on a one-way system and not the easiest place to find however the instructions on the Kamena website are accurate. Ragusa and Modica are 30 min drive away and are beautiful old Baroque style towns on hills, well worth a visit.
The latest time to check out is 11am, however by the pool is toilets and showers should you have a evening flight. We did not try the small café above reception it was busy in the mornings even the locals used it for breakfast. Staff were helpful and friendly. An enjoyable stay. Wifi is ok doesn't like more than a couple of devices connected at one time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor offer best views and a private terrace
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank creativebabex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2016

Well located, good size apartments, well equipped, comfortable, safe off road parking, excellent coffee shop, views over the Med from the roof top terrace, excellent swimming pool (but not used because it was late November), good common areas with Sky, table tennis, selection of books (many in English), friendly staff (spoke excellent English). A great base for exploring SE Sicily. Very quiet due to it being off-season, but I expect it would be very busy in summer. It would be even better if a few basics were available on arrival (washing up liquid, coffee, milk, etc). Free Wi-Fi. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jg78893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews