We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge theater”

Gran Teatro Puccini
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed July 19, 2018

More than 3000 seats are in the theater. It is very well done, easy to come and go. The seats are also not bad. Just if you don't like open-air performances, than dont go.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 545medva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"open air"
in 4 reviews
"many places"
in 2 reviews
"theatre"
in 8 reviews
"production"
in 4 reviews
"facilities"
in 3 reviews
"spectacle"
in 3 reviews
"seats"
in 8 reviews
"breeze"
in 2 reviews
"performers"
in 2 reviews
"voice"
in 2 reviews
"row"
in 2 reviews
"advice"
in 2 reviews
"tickets"
in 3 reviews
"opera"
in 10 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
"visitors"
in 2 reviews
"fans"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

The location is stunning and the whole event has a frisson of excitement. But the quality of the singing is barely better than acceptable and the organization is less than impressive. The evening we went, the audibility of the music was affected by strong winds, and half way through, a few drops of rain stopped all proceedings for twenty minutes or so without any explanation. In short, Puccini's music is sublime and the experience is certainly not to be missed, but don't hold your breath about the quality of the cast or the risks of poor weather. And bring a cushion.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank jrmparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We liked the production, it was beautiful and of good quality. The theatre is nice and quite comfortable, seats were easily found. They warn you the mosquitoes are a pest, but if you make reasonable precautions and spray yourself with a repellent, you'll be fine. Don't that deter you from the experience. The Puccini festival is becoming better and better each year.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Tina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

We had the advantage of being escorted by an experienced visitor to the site and the opinions of other reviewers. Thus we took a picnic and our Prosecco, arrived in ample time, (allowing a speedy exit due to proximity of parking) and enjoyed a pleasant hour or so admiring the beautiful lake side scenery.
The stage setting is a bit of a blot on the landscape, but required if you want to sit 3000 people down in the open air to listen to opera.
Either our hearing is more acute, or the La Boheme performers were better able to project their voice, because in row 21 we had no difficulty enjoying the performance. The seats were OK but a cushion would certainly have helped during the 3 hours we were in the theatre,
We had no recourse to use the facilities during the show so suffered none of the inconveniences voiced by other reviewers. However the timing of the intervals was longer than advised.
I would not hesitate to recommend a visit on a balmy summer evening to listen to great music and enjoy the collective appreciation of the audience. However I would recommend that visitors heed the advice and comments offered by others, to make their visit the more memorable

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017

We paid 80 euros for our tickets for each opera performance. The whole experience was a disappointment for several reasons.
1. The plastic seats were OK for an hour's sitting, but the operas lasted well over 2 hours, sometimes 3 and. after that length of time, became rather uncomfortable. Take a cushion!
2. The sets and costumes and lighting were impressive, but there was no amplification of the singers at all, meaning that they were hard to hear, especially the ladies.
3. The facilities were not designed to cope with the number of patrons attending the performance. There are nowhere near enough toilets, resulting in some ladies having to queue for the whole of the intermissions.The toilets are also not well maintained and show signs of overuse.
4. The refreshment facilities are similarly not sufficient to cope with the demand. During the intermission, a long queue also developed at the only refreshment sale point. In the foyer there is ample space for several sale points, indeed some sellers could also set up one the edges of the main auditorium, but arranging this is obviously too difficult.
4. The car parking is not at all efficiently organised.In many places departing spectators have to cross lines of departing vehicles which is unsafe and causes some drivers to become impatient. It's an accident waiting to happen.
On both of the nights I attended I noticed the auditorium was not full - perhaps the points I have raised above have detered others from attending.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gran Teatro Puccini also viewed

Torre del Lago Puccini, Province of Lucca
Torre del Lago Puccini, Province of Lucca
 
Massarosa, Province of Lucca
Torre del Lago Puccini, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Gran Teatro Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing