We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stumbled upon this motel after abandoning our campsite during a wild and windy night... what a great surprise! 109/night, outdoor hot tub, super-friendly service, TWO stage productions (one next door and one in the conference room)..... Certainly a welcome surprise!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorganDBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your review. We strive to keep rates reasonable and are pleased to offer guests various amenities and entertainment options. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    90
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had to stay here for one night in our travels thru Gros Morne as the nearby B&B where we had booked before was full... We weren't impressed at all with the Motel... It was just average... We found the rates high considering what you got in your room (no upgrades) and it didn't even include breakfast... They also have an extra charge added at check out that they don't tell you about... I think it was an extra $4.00 but we weren't sure why they wouldn't tell you before hand... We wouldn't stay here again... It was one of our two least favorite stays in our three week trip...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codeylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We are so sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to keep rates on par with others here in Gros Morne National Park. I think the "extra charge" you mentioned is a 3% levy which we have to charge because we are in the Park(this goes towards marketing the area). We appreciate all comments as they help us to improve our facility/policies. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This was our second stay at Shallow Bay Motel. Our first stay, last year, was in one of the motel rooms. This time we opted for a room in the Bayview B&B, which is also operated by the motel (the hotel runs two B&B’s, Bayview and J&J’s, as well as a number of cabins). I will comment on both stays in this one review.

The motel room was what would be expected of a 3-star motel in Newfoundland although I’m not sure of the actual star rating for this motel. The room was clean and well enough equipped although a bit dated in décor (and TV). It is obvious that effort has been made to keep standards high with cleanliness and maintenance of the facility. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the motel. The food was OK but certainly nothing special. I certainly wouldn’t highly recommend the restaurant but you don’t really have many other choices in Cow Head. Price for the motel room was high for what you get but then again it was in the peak of tourist season so you pay what they charge. Accommodation prices in Newfoundland, especially in tourist season, are usually high.

The motel has an outdoor swimming pool and a hot tub, both on ocean side. We didn't use either during our two stays so can't really comment further.

The B&B room was also very clean and well maintained. This is not a traditional B&B with owners living there. It is run by the hotel and is basically just four bedrooms (three with great ocean view and a small deck to use overlooking the ocean) with a very small sitting area in the kitchen. All rooms were ensuite bathroom. The B&B kitchen is not used for your breakfast. You can use the fridge to keep your own food cold if you choose. I found it odd that there was a small coffee maker in our bedroom, on the bureau, but no place to plug it in to make a pot of coffee without moving it to the opposite side of the room.

Bed and pillow firmness is always a personal thing but both my wife and I found the B&B bed to be extremely hard. I really couldn’t sleep well on a mattress that was rock hard. Pillows were OK. An extra pillow and blanket are provided in the closet of the room. Also in the closet were fold-up camp-style chairs for use on the deck. Each room has its own table on the deck.

Breakfast for the B&B is served in the motel dining room which is a very short walk down the road (about one minute at most). Included with your room price your breakfast is one egg, a choice of one breakfast meat, VERY FEW homefries, toast and coffee. If you were paying restaurant price for this it would be $8.99 plus tax and tip and is VERY overpriced, in my opinion. I found that this was not enough food and to limit a B&B guest to one egg seems odd. Then again, the off-season price that we paid for the B&B room ($75 including tax) was reasonable so I can’t really complain.

The motel, the cabins, and the B&B’s are all equipped with wi-fi. We didn’t use it but did use the computer provided in the motel lobby for guest use. We found the lobby computer internet connection to be slow so the wi-fi could also be a bit slow but it’s there, available, and free.

We had dinner in the motel restaurant and again this year the food was OK but nothing special. We each had dinner, my wife had a glass of wine (she said it was not good) and we shared a dessert for around $60 including tip. We felt that dinner was priced OK for what we had.

While in Cow Head it is worthwhile to go out for a walk on the Lighthouse Trail and/or the Point of the Head trail. Information for both can be found on the motel’s website. Either of these trails (they start and end at the same place and one loops off the other) will take about 45 minutes or so to walk and the views are great! http://www.shallowbaymotel.com/attractions/

All in all, I would recommend the Shallow Bay Motel and Bayview B&B. It’s a decent place to stay while visiting Gros Morne and area. This is an establishment where the effort is shown to run a good accommodation.

Room Tip: Book early during tourist season
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your comments. We at Shallow Bay Motel strive to provide our guests with clean, comfortable accomodations at a reasonable rate(on par with others here in Gros Morne National Park), as well as good quality food and excellent service. We do our best to meet our customers' expectations. Perhaps we will see you in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

This is a typical commercial set up – that seems to be from back in day. The place is too big and the rooms seemed to lack character. The reason that this place is a success is probably because of the theatre that is next door, making this a suitable place to spend the night. Cow Head is not the most exciting place in NL. The food in the restaurant was very average. On our next trip we would just skip Cow Head. There is nothing in this place that would make us want to come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrineandmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We appreciate your review. At Shallow Bay Motel, we make every effort to provide our guests with good value, quality food and excellent service. This family business has been in operation for almost forty years and the owners are very hands-on. They take great pride in their staff and this property. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

stayed two nights here in a cabin across the street from the motel. the cabin was clean and very spacious and private. the motel has a fantastic outdoor hot tub right above the water and an outdoor heated pool. the sauna was really nice too. the staff was friendly and we checked out a play at the Gros Morne Theatre which was located so close, it seemd like it was on their property. this place is a great home base for checking out the northern part of Gros Morne. Staff was friendly and they offer a computer in the lobby to catch up on emails at no cost. There is also a gift shop, pub and restaurant within the motel. we ate in the restaurant twice and it was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thanks for the review! We do try to meet our guests' needs and make every effort to make their stay a memorable one. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdornasn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Shallow Bay and Gros Mourne is a fantastic place to visit. We rented a two bedroom cabin for $140. Cabin was new and clean. With limited (we had none) cell service in the area a phone was required. I believe the staff should have advised us that there was none in that cabin. I also needed an extra key for the cabin as we were travelling with other family members. The front desk worker told us there was no second key, then referred to the cleaning lady having it and then something about the maintenance man having to get it for us. She was uninterested in helping us out on this and this caused considerable inconvenience for us. I only mention this here so the owners hopefully rectify this. At $140 per night and extra key is not an unreasonable request.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdornan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
So sorry your stay was not a pleasant one. Yes, a second key is a reasonable request. We are dismayed to hear that our staff was less than enthusiastic in their response to your problem. The owners are very specific that our guests' needs come first and as a result of your comment, a staff meeting was held to address this situation. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We really liked our one night stay here while traveling in Gros Morne. We stayed in a motel unit and were pleased with the cleanliness of it and the hotel staff were lovely, every one of them. Cute little town and the restaurant was surprisingly good with traditional Newfoundland fare like "Newfie Mug Up" Jiggs Dinner and Brewis. Good breakfast too, right on the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us. We make every effort to provide guests with clean, comfortable accomodations, as well as good quality food at an affordable price. Thanks for your kind words. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
37.4 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
37.9 km away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.8 km away
Seabreeze Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#6 of 15 in Rocky Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 km away
The Gaultois Inn
The Gaultois Inn
#1 of 1 in Gaultois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 km away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Property: Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing