We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Gros Morne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at the Shallow Bay Motel for 2 nights Aug 4 and Aug 7, We had 15 rooms, all of which were spotless, and most of them with beautiful Ocean or Mountain view rooms. The staff go out of their way to accommadate their guests. The Shallow bay has various room types, regular hotel rooms, delux rooms with ocean views and B&B rooms, also Cabins. The Restaurant is one of the best places to eat in Newfoundland.The pan fried Cod just melted in my mouth. and again the staff go out of their way to be helpful and very friendly. We have stayed at this property many times and we have not been disapointed.
If you go try to see the Theatre Productions that are at the Shallow Bay nightly during the summer. And we will be staying there again. Good Job Darrel and Sharon & Family

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thanks for the great review! We are so pleased that your group had a pleasant stay with us. The family is very hands-on and the staff here goes above and beyond for our guests. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Junior helped us out when we came to town with no place to stay. We had both dinner (wonderful seafood chowder and the best homemade bun) and breakfast at the motel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

We're so glad that you were so well taken care of here. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I have stayed at this motel on several occasions. If your plan is to visit the Northern Peninsula then this is a great jumping off spot. Was not pleased with the initial $129 per night but when asked for a discount was given one. Our room was on the water and gave a great view. The food was good and the staff were excellent. The rooms were clean and lacked nothing. I would have liked a mini-fridge in the room rather than cool our beverages with ice. It was quiet and clean although quite busy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyWaters69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay was a good one. Our staff strives to meet our guests' needs at all times, so we're glad we have succeeded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you are travelling to Newfoundland & want to see that area of Gross Morne, its the best place to stay. The restaurant at the Motel has amazing meals: try their Newfie Jigs dinner, or their Lobster Dinner. Also their Pea Soup in amazing. They have a cute little fitness center, however we were too busy eating in the restaurant to use it. There is an outdoor pool, but you will be so busy doing all the other activities. The hike & boat tour from Western Brook is not far ( within 20 K) and is a must to see. Aslo at the Motel is the Gross Morne Theater - we saw "Stones in his Pockets" , it was amazing. They also have a dinner theater there as well. Worthwhile stop while in Gross Morne.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view, & see the changing of the tide and an occasional Grey Seal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

So glad your stay was enjoyable. Our restaurant is known for it's fast service with delicious menu selections. Hopefully we will see you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stumbled upon this motel after abandoning our campsite during a wild and windy night... what a great surprise! 109/night, outdoor hot tub, super-friendly service, TWO stage productions (one next door and one in the conference room)..... Certainly a welcome surprise!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MorganDBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thank you for your review. We strive to keep rates reasonable and are pleased to offer guests various amenities and entertainment options. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had to stay here for one night in our travels thru Gros Morne as the nearby B&B where we had booked before was full... We weren't impressed at all with the Motel... It was just average... We found the rates high considering what you got in your room (no upgrades) and it didn't even include breakfast... They also have an extra charge added at check out that they don't tell you about... I think it was an extra $4.00 but we weren't sure why they wouldn't tell you before hand... We wouldn't stay here again... It was one of our two least favorite stays in our three week trip...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank codeylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

We are so sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to keep rates on par with others here in Gros Morne National Park. I think the "extra charge" you mentioned is a 3% levy which we have to charge because we are in the Park(this goes towards marketing the area). We appreciate all comments as they help us to improve our facility/policies. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This was our second stay at Shallow Bay Motel. Our first stay, last year, was in one of the motel rooms. This time we opted for a room in the Bayview B&B, which is also operated by the motel (the hotel runs two B&B’s, Bayview and J&J’s, as well as a number of cabins). I will comment on both stays in this one review.

The motel room was what would be expected of a 3-star motel in Newfoundland although I’m not sure of the actual star rating for this motel. The room was clean and well enough equipped although a bit dated in décor (and TV). It is obvious that effort has been made to keep standards high with cleanliness and maintenance of the facility. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the motel. The food was OK but certainly nothing special. I certainly wouldn’t highly recommend the restaurant but you don’t really have many other choices in Cow Head. Price for the motel room was high for what you get but then again it was in the peak of tourist season so you pay what they charge. Accommodation prices in Newfoundland, especially in tourist season, are usually high.

The motel has an outdoor swimming pool and a hot tub, both on ocean side. We didn't use either during our two stays so can't really comment further.

The B&B room was also very clean and well maintained. This is not a traditional B&B with owners living there. It is run by the hotel and is basically just four bedrooms (three with great ocean view and a small deck to use overlooking the ocean) with a very small sitting area in the kitchen. All rooms were ensuite bathroom. The B&B kitchen is not used for your breakfast. You can use the fridge to keep your own food cold if you choose. I found it odd that there was a small coffee maker in our bedroom, on the bureau, but no place to plug it in to make a pot of coffee without moving it to the opposite side of the room.

Bed and pillow firmness is always a personal thing but both my wife and I found the B&B bed to be extremely hard. I really couldn’t sleep well on a mattress that was rock hard. Pillows were OK. An extra pillow and blanket are provided in the closet of the room. Also in the closet were fold-up camp-style chairs for use on the deck. Each room has its own table on the deck.

Breakfast for the B&B is served in the motel dining room which is a very short walk down the road (about one minute at most). Included with your room price your breakfast is one egg, a choice of one breakfast meat, VERY FEW homefries, toast and coffee. If you were paying restaurant price for this it would be $8.99 plus tax and tip and is VERY overpriced, in my opinion. I found that this was not enough food and to limit a B&B guest to one egg seems odd. Then again, the off-season price that we paid for the B&B room ($75 including tax) was reasonable so I can’t really complain.

The motel, the cabins, and the B&B’s are all equipped with wi-fi. We didn’t use it but did use the computer provided in the motel lobby for guest use. We found the lobby computer internet connection to be slow so the wi-fi could also be a bit slow but it’s there, available, and free.

We had dinner in the motel restaurant and again this year the food was OK but nothing special. We each had dinner, my wife had a glass of wine (she said it was not good) and we shared a dessert for around $60 including tip. We felt that dinner was priced OK for what we had.

While in Cow Head it is worthwhile to go out for a walk on the Lighthouse Trail and/or the Point of the Head trail. Information for both can be found on the motel’s website. Either of these trails (they start and end at the same place and one loops off the other) will take about 45 minutes or so to walk and the views are great! http://www.shallowbaymotel.com/attractions/

All in all, I would recommend the Shallow Bay Motel and Bayview B&B. It’s a decent place to stay while visiting Gros Morne and area. This is an establishment where the effort is shown to run a good accommodation.

Room Tip: Book early during tourist season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thank you for your comments. We at Shallow Bay Motel strive to provide our guests with clean, comfortable accomodations at a reasonable rate(on par with others here in Gros Morne National Park), as well as good quality food and excellent service. We do our best to meet our customers' expectations. Perhaps we will see you in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
37.3 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
220 reviews
37.8 km away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
117 reviews
0.6 km away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Price Range: $128 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing