We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
61
111
42
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
111
42
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshallow bay moteldining roomgros mornebus tourtheatre festivaltwo bedroom cabinocean viewacross the roadgift shoppost officemain buildingsmall townservice was greatright next doorconference roomexercise roomplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 225 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016

This is the only "hotel" in Cow Head. We had not intended to stay here but due to a car problem we needed a room at the last minute and I got lucky to get a room here. We stayed in one of the cottages, it was a bit tired and old. Nice to have a kitchen and fridge. Got my car problem sorted out and off we went. Made our own meal using the kitchen since I had heard that the restaurant was less than ideal. We had stayed for several nights at the Seabreeze B&B around the corner from the motel and it was day and night.

For less money we got far better service and far better quality. I found the desk staff friendly enough but the person who checked us in seemed "odd", can't say why.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your review! We are sorry that our accommodations were not up to our regular high standards, but we will make every effort to improve. We value your comments and suggestions and we hope to see you again in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Hotel is right on Shallow Bay beach so view is great. Rooms are sparkling clean and as we had ocean view--our room was bright with a wide view. Windows can open so you can hear waves on beach. Wonderful. Staff all very friendly and accommodating. Rooms have bar fridge, coffee maker but free wifi is slow--probably maxed out as hotel is full. Shallow Bay Hotel is located central to many local sights. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms on second floor have ocean view. Some first floor rooms can be accessed from the parking lot (so no stairs).
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Imperfectaoist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you had a great experience here. We realize that we do have an issue with the wifi and we are hoping to improve by changing our service provider. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Spent 2 night here - one in a standard motel-like room and another in a 2 bedroom cabin. Both very good. It is - as someone has said already - the only game in town. Many tour bus groups come here and are an obvious priority for the owners. This gives rise to sloppiness in the restaurant where many dinners are made and which are of only mediocre quality. The breakfasts are OK. BUT this place is central to Gros Morne and its many attractions so should not be overlooked!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JudyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your review! We are sorry that your experience in our restaurant was not up to par. Our staff will be advised and improvements will be made. Your comments are important to us. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

No complaints. We had a room in a B&B that is affiliated with the motel and it was all we needed--close, clean and with a small communal kitchen down the hall. The restaurant at he motel was very busy and the wait staff were doing an admirable job. Food itself was standard and a bit overpriced for what you get. But all in all a pretty safe bet for a place to stay in a beautiful area.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you were satisfied with your experience here. We will strive to improve so as to better serve our valuable guests/customers. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Shallow Bay for one night. We were fortunate to find a room there since people from three tour buses were also staying there on that night.

The room was very clean and comfortable; we would stay there again. Cow Head is a most pleasant village.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DrBabs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews