We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SPOT, EXCELLENT SERVICE, AND VERY GOOD FOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins (we stayed in a cabin for two nights) as part of tour of Newfoundland's northern peninsula and Labrador. The food was very good. The service (in all respects) was exemplary. There is a theater attached to the Motel, and the performances are well worth the money (not much else to do at night in the area). There is also a Post Office and a grocery/booze store in walking distance of the motel. We would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: We recommend a cabin over a room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realbigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

The Shallow Bay motel is a great place in a rather remote location. The establishment has a restaurant with great views, a pub, theatre entertainment, pool, gym, shop etc. The rooms are in good condition and clean, unfortunately we had a room facing the parking g area but the sea facing rooms would be spectacular. The food was good. The whole town had a water problem do you needed to get tubs of water from reception. All in I recommend this place, my only disappointment was the very dreary atmosphere in the pub.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank WanderlustSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We had a cabin for two nights. It was clean and okay, but about time for an update. The motel has many tour buses come through so the restaurant can be packed at times. On the site is the theatre which is very popular.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jaimie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights (July 14 & 15) in the 2 bedroom cabin. Very clean and included everything we needed. Full kitchen so able to prepare our own meals and also BBQ. Central location to enjoy the sights, hiking and beaches. Went to the Warehouse Theatre which is next door and was amazing. Saw Fly Me To The Moon. Thoroughly enjoyed it. After the show went to the pub in the motel and it was karaoke night. A lot of talent in that little room! Planned to stay for a quick drink and stayed for 3 hours, so much fun. Did have 1 breakfast in the restaurant and was very good. All the staff, front desk, pub, restaurant were super friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable with great suggestions. Highly recommend Shallow Bay Motel.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank aer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Friendly staff, Very clean room with all standard amenities. Nice restaurant onsite with friendly waitstaff, good food and prompt service. Pool and hot tub overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. A good quality hotel

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I stayed here in late June 2017. The Shallow Bay Motel is a lovely little motel that also has small private cabins available for rent - they're like little cottages. I stayed in one of the cabins - it was very spacious and had a kitchenette as well. The staff were charming and very friendly. The Shallow Bay Motel is a good place to stay if you're travelling on the Viking Trail. It's also close to Western Brook Pond in Gros Morne National Park, where they have a fantastic boat tour. Theatre Newfoundland and Labrador stage plays in a small auditorium at the hotel - if you're in Cow Head, be sure to check them out.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rabbit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thanks for your review! We appreciate any and all comments and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and I admit, I was not expecting much based on appearance from the outside. The staff was friendly and helpful and our cottage room was clean and quiet. We attended the on-site community theatre presentation that they offer nightly, it was fun and casual. I recommend this property to anyone looking for a good, moderately priced motel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor! We realize that we need some updating, therefore we are in the process of making improvements to the outside of our main building. Hopefully you will be pleased with our efforts should you return! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
38.1 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
214 reviews
38.6 km away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
112 reviews
38.7 km away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
0.0 km away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
16 reviews
0.0 km away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Price Range: $126 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing