We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
61
111
42
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
111
42
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshallow bay moteldining roomgros mornebus tourtheatre festivaltwo bedroom cabinocean viewacross the roadgift shoppost officemain buildingsmall townservice was greatright next doorconference roomexercise roomplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 225 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Clean and comfortable rooms.
Food in restaurant was truly appalling.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harrietgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

We appreciate your comments. You'll be glad to know that thanks in part to your review, we have made major changes to our restaurant. I'm sure that if you come to see us again, you'll be impressed! All comments are welcome as they help us to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2006

Stayed one night in one of the cabins. It was very clean with plenty of room. The motel has a small, but adequately stocked gift shop. The dining room was very clean. It has a great view of the harbour. The staff was moderately friendly. The food; however, wasn't even up to average. It seemed to be of the same quality as a frozen dinner nuked in the microwave. It seemed to be the only place in town to eat, so if you're just looking to fill your belly, that's what you'll be filling it with. The most noticeable thing about Cowhead and the Shallow Bay Motel was that the sunset was absolutely stunning and after that sunset, if you were to go outside and listen, it was so quiet, you'd be able to hear a pin drop.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thanks for your review. There have been major changes to our menu and food preparation standards since your visit. Thank you for advising us of your experience. This was most helpful in evaluating our restaurant. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2005

For a visit to GrosMOrne National Park I'd rather stay in Rocky Harbour or Trout River or Norris Point. There are more restaurants, more hiking trials. But Cow Head is good for the north part of the Park, and for the theatre beside it. The cabins are situated on the other side of the road from the water, so the setting is not great. They are clean and equipped simply but are adequate, I thought the bathroom was a little dated but the pressure for the water is good. The kitchen is nice and the microwave is a nice touch. They are quiet too, and the motel is okay too.

2  Thank kortney~andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2005

Stayed at the Shallow Bay Motel while on a recent trip up the west coast of Newfoundland. Room very clean, friendly reception desk staff, The room we booked was a suite with a jacuzzi & fireplace (electric) . The price was very reasonable for this type of room. We dined in the restaurant for supper and Breakfast and were happy with the quality of food and the friendly wait staff. The Gros Morne theatre is right beside the motel, but we attended a " Neddy Night" in the motel which was a group of six singers and musicians playing Newfoundland music and telling stories. Very entertaining. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to NF.

6  Thank countrypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

We are so pleased that your experience was a positive one! Our team works very hard to make our guests' stay a pleasant one. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews