We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight while in Cow Head”

Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL)
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Cow Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theatre Newfoundland Labrador is a year-round operation which includes the four-month summer Gros Morne Theatre Festival in Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Youth and community programming in Corner Brook and regular regional, national & international touring. TNL is about quality theatre. It's about preserving our rich history through the stories we tell. It's about providing valuable work for talented theatre professionals and students of theatre.
Reviewed August 11, 2017

Dinner and a play. Yep. I did review the hotel restaurant. The play was the highlight of our stay after the walk on the beach. We saw a 2 act play with just 2 actors that carried us through a the show with not a moment to snooze. a comedy with a twist.

Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Hello: I'm so happy you enjoyed Fly Me to the Moon at our Gros Morne Theatre Festival and that you took the time to tell others about your experience. Great way to spend an evening after a walk on the super sandy Shallow Bay beach, isn't it? Thank you again for coming to our theatre. Enjoy the rest of your time n the region! Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cod"
in 5 reviews
"no bad seats"
in 3 reviews
"gros morne"
in 5 reviews
"small town"
in 2 reviews
"nice meal"
in 2 reviews
"newfoundland labrador"
in 2 reviews
"their roles"
in 2 reviews
"roast beef"
in 2 reviews
"great performance"
in 2 reviews
"shallow bay motel"
in 2 reviews
"dinner"
in 17 reviews
"actors"
in 17 reviews
"ss"
in 9 reviews
"production"
in 9 reviews
"tickets"
in 7 reviews
"entertainment"
in 7 reviews
"shows"
in 10 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2017

The was quite an experience, not to be missed. The show was not just the play, which was funnier to me than I think it was supposed to be, but the entire experience of the dinner theater. It was great to meet locals and tourists who were seated nearby, and by nearby I mean really close. Just good Newfoundland fun.

2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hi: Thank you for coming to the SS Ethie Theatre. It's the longest running, and one of the most popular of our Gros Morne Theatre Festival offerings in Cow Head. And so glad you enjoyed the humor of the play! A true story of a shipwreck may not sound like it would have the makings of a dinner theatre, let alone a funny one - but it works, doesn't it? Spoiler alert: everyone survived the wreck :)
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts.
Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Attended a production of Heroes. Very friendly volunteers and the production was great. Would like to have enjoyed other offerings here Highly recommended. Great diversion from sight seeing.

1  Thank Derrel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you so much for coming to see the Gros Morne Theatre Festival's production of Heroes in Cow Head and thank you for your recommendation! It means a lot. We look forward to seeing you again some day!
Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Cow Head for 3 days over the July long weekend. It was Lobsterfest weekend (which was fabulous) and we ended up attending three shows. We were only sad we hadn't got tickets to see a fourth as all were really good. The performers were mixed and matched in the three shows so we saw people in more than one role. Everything was really well performed. The food at the dinner theatre was good and served by the performers so that was fun. We saw shows in Twillingate and Trinity as well but the three shows at Cow Head were by far the best. I hadn't read any reviews of Newfoundland Vinyl before we got tickets so I wanted to write one that says "well done - we really enjoyed it".

1  Thank LonyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

I'm so glad you got to Cow Head for the wonderfully delicious Lobsterfest and you were able to take in three of our Gros Morne Theatre Festival productions while there. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us and TripAdvisor followers about your experience. We really do appreciate it!
Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2017

After 2 weeks of hiking, sightseeing, and other outdoor activities, we were ready for an evening at the theatre. "The Out Vigil" focused on the demise of the cod fishing industry and its implications for the current generation of young people in Newfoundland. A bit rough in places as these young actors learn their craft. Some profanity, but not gratuitous. Worth seeing and well-received by the mostly 65+ audience.

Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you for including the opening night of The Out Vigil at our Gros Morne Theatre Festival in Cow Head in your natural Gros Morne vacation! And thank you so very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We really appreciate it. Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL) also viewed

Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
 
Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing