We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show, glad we went”

Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL)
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Cow Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theatre Newfoundland Labrador is a year-round operation which includes the four-month summer Gros Morne Theatre Festival in Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Youth and community programming in Corner Brook and regular regional, national & international touring. TNL is about quality theatre. It's about preserving our rich history through the stories we tell. It's about providing valuable work for talented theatre professionals and students of theatre.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Solid performances, and shows that are really rooted in the community. Lots of emphasis on music and storytelling. We saw Newfoundland Vinyl and were thoroughly entertained. A small but comfortable space, with no bad seats.

Thank Mike829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

And we're so glad you came! We love sharing our stories and songs through our Gros Morne Theatre Festival productions in Cow Head. I'm so happy you enjoyed your evening. All the best
Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cod"
in 5 reviews
"no bad seats"
in 3 reviews
"gros morne"
in 5 reviews
"nice meal"
in 2 reviews
"newfoundland labrador"
in 2 reviews
"their roles"
in 2 reviews
"roast beef"
in 2 reviews
"great performance"
in 2 reviews
"shallow bay motel"
in 2 reviews
"dinner"
in 17 reviews
"actors"
in 17 reviews
"ss"
in 9 reviews
"production"
in 9 reviews
"tickets"
in 7 reviews
"shows"
in 9 reviews
"play"
in 20 reviews
"entertainment"
in 6 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

This is a must if you are traveling to Gros Morne! We had driven from NY so were pretty tired and burned out from travel. While scenic, it truly feels like you are driving into northern oblivion. No offense, but pulling into Cow Head I was skeptical if this could really be the home of quality theatre. Within moments of the show beginning the whole trip seemed worth it! The whole experience is magical. We went to the dinner theatre one night and to Neddy Norris, traditional Newfoundland music the next night. The actors and musicians are fantastic. Our whole group was really impressed with such great shows in the middle of nowhere! One note, it can be dangerous traveling around the park at night with moose and frequent fog and bad weather, so I would recommend staying either at the hotel or very nearby. Definitely don't leave Gros Morne without seeing a performance!

1  Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking in two of our Gris Morne Theatre Festival productions while in Cow Head. We're so happy to bring quality theatre, based in local history and culture, to our visitors and residents alike. We like to call our Festival an extension of the natural vacation people seek when visiting Newfoundland and Labrador. We're so glad you came and enjoyed! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Fantastic was to spend the evening after your dinner. Great local performers and a great live play using only three actors. They move all the props and scenery themselves to change for each act. Close intimate performance including music.

Thank chocoberrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Hi: Thank you for attending a Gros Morne Theatre Festival production during your vacation time in Cow Head. And thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experience. Enjoy the rest of your vacation! Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

An amazing attraction in a some what remote area. We were treated to a musical show by this very talented ensemble. This was a group that would be well received in St. John's. Check ahead for the production schedule and you would be well advised to book ahead. Bravo!

Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you so much for attending a Gros Morne Theatre Festival production and for your very lovely review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Cow Head! Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017

Dinner and a play. Yep. I did review the hotel restaurant. The play was the highlight of our stay after the walk on the beach. We saw a 2 act play with just 2 actors that carried us through a the show with not a moment to snooze. a comedy with a twist.

Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Hello: I'm so happy you enjoyed Fly Me to the Moon at our Gros Morne Theatre Festival and that you took the time to tell others about your experience. Great way to spend an evening after a walk on the super sandy Shallow Bay beach, isn't it? Thank you again for coming to our theatre. Enjoy the rest of your time n the region! Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL) also viewed

Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing