We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fun ”

Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL)
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Cow Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theatre Newfoundland Labrador is a year-round operation which includes the four-month summer Gros Morne Theatre Festival in Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Youth and community programming in Corner Brook and regular regional, national & international touring. TNL is about quality theatre. It's about preserving our rich history through the stories we tell. It's about providing valuable work for talented theatre professionals and students of theatre.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We went to see "Newfoundland Vinyl " after a long day of sightseeing in Gros Morne. We were tired and it didn't start til 9pm. We thought we might only make it to intermission. It was a little slow to start but we were so pleased we stayed til the end! It got better and better for us! Great way to experience Newfoundland culture and humour thru music!

Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Hi Susan A: I'm so glad you mustered up the energy to attend Newfoundland Vinyl and that the show enticed you to stay to the end.
A long day being out in the fresh air of Gros Morne, topped off with an upbeat show of Newfoundland music and stories is the perfect recipe for a good night's sleep in Cow Head. It's what vacations are all about, isn't it? Thank you again for joining us and here's wishing you a happy time in Newfoundland & Labrador! Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cod"
in 5 reviews
"no bad seats"
in 3 reviews
"gros morne"
in 5 reviews
"shallow bay motel"
in 3 reviews
"small town"
in 2 reviews
"nice meal"
in 2 reviews
"newfoundland labrador"
in 2 reviews
"their roles"
in 2 reviews
"roast beef"
in 2 reviews
"great performance"
in 2 reviews
"dinner"
in 17 reviews
"actors"
in 17 reviews
"ss"
in 9 reviews
"production"
in 9 reviews
"tickets"
in 7 reviews
"entertainment"
in 7 reviews
"shows"
in 10 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2018

Since this is a dinner theatre I feel that the food has to be an important part of the review. I saw the S.S. Ethie tonight. The story was OK but the actors were great. Many of them sing and they all have beautiful voices. The food however was just awful. The cod was dry and tasteless and the potatoes and vegetables were inedible. It was the worst meal I have had in Newfoundland. I was rating my night separately I would give the dinner 1 star (or possibly none) and the play 4. Please step up the act and have a dinner that matches the caliber of the actors.

2  Thank rodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear rodr: I am glad you liked the Ethie performance and sorry that you did not enjoy the meal. We take complaints seriously and will certainly pass your comments on to the caterers. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

We enjoyed Fly Me to the Moon at the Gros Morne Theatre Festival which is just next door to the Shallow Bay Motel. It was convenient to wander over from dinner directly to the show in a small intimate setting. The play was funny with all kinds of twists and turns! Excellent work by the two actresses!

Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Hi: Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Cow Head and Fly Me to the Moon. All the best, Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Solid performances, and shows that are really rooted in the community. Lots of emphasis on music and storytelling. We saw Newfoundland Vinyl and were thoroughly entertained. A small but comfortable space, with no bad seats.

Thank Mike829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

And we're so glad you came! We love sharing our stories and songs through our Gros Morne Theatre Festival productions in Cow Head. I'm so happy you enjoyed your evening. All the best
Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

This is a must if you are traveling to Gros Morne! We had driven from NY so were pretty tired and burned out from travel. While scenic, it truly feels like you are driving into northern oblivion. No offense, but pulling into Cow Head I was skeptical if this could really be the home of quality theatre. Within moments of the show beginning the whole trip seemed worth it! The whole experience is magical. We went to the dinner theatre one night and to Neddy Norris, traditional Newfoundland music the next night. The actors and musicians are fantastic. Our whole group was really impressed with such great shows in the middle of nowhere! One note, it can be dangerous traveling around the park at night with moose and frequent fog and bad weather, so I would recommend staying either at the hotel or very nearby. Definitely don't leave Gros Morne without seeing a performance!

1  Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1958, General Manager at Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL), responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking in two of our Gris Morne Theatre Festival productions while in Cow Head. We're so happy to bring quality theatre, based in local history and culture, to our visitors and residents alike. We like to call our Festival an extension of the natural vacation people seek when visiting Newfoundland and Labrador. We're so glad you came and enjoyed! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Gaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL) also viewed

Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
 
Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Theatre Newfoundland Labrador (TNL)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing