We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$2,005
US$1,639
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreamsUS$2,005
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
54
20
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
54
20
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews couple of hours each meal front door fugu sendai station fish great service luxury cuisine blend courtyard highlights region snow shinkansen expectations tokyo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2020

This is a delightful, beautiful, serene and luxurious hotel. It is an architectural delight, with quiet wooden corridors, huge glass windows, courtyards, streams and waterfalls.

The staff are superb. Friendly, helpful and attentive, they made the holiday sublime.

The dinners and breakfasts were traditional Japanese. The resort clearly has a talented chef, and each meal was a collection of 20 to 30 small dishes of local products and traditional recipes.

In the Winter, there was snow and cold streams and the snow fields nearby. This resort would be amazing in each season.

It is easy to get to, with a Shinkansen from Tokyo and a hotel pick up from Sendai station.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Davey6009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Beautifully appointed luxury Ryokan and Onsen. We decided to lash out and capture a more traditional Japanese experience on our brief tour of Japan organized around the cherry blossom season. The Ryokan is newly built but decorated with both traditional and a modern take on traditional architecture. Staff were very accommodating a number spoke English and the others were able to get their message across despite our nonexistent Japanese language skills. It was a quiet period and we were able to book one of the private outdoor onsen....a rare experience in a beautiful setting. Dinner and breakfast were included. Tasty and accessible (for western tastes) experiences......the courses of exquisite tastes and presentation kept coming. A big thank you to the young man who picked us up from the Sendai train station. We spoke of our interest in seeing the cherry blossoms on the nearby river. He contacted the manager who allowed him to drive us around for a couple of hours to catch the best sights.....all part of the great service we received.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GeeCeeBrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Love this place and staff here. Service is superb. I come to Japan at least two times every year and will always stay in fancy onsen hotels. Chikusenso definitely is on the top of the list. Many of the staff can speak quite good English which is a big plus for international visitors. They are polite but not distant. They respond to your request swiftly. Hotel decoration is a perfect combination of traditional Japanese and modern styles. The food they provide here is amazing. I do think the chef is on his way to greatness because he’s innovative and bold enough to put characters from other food genres into Japanese fine dining like cheese fondue, Vietnamese vegetable rolls and Chinese cooking styles. After dinner, they always give you a box of bakeries made by the chef, which are all delicate and delicious. I definitely will come back again. Big thanks to all the staff here (right, Tanaka-San, and your name can’t be forgot.)

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank neversayevernever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

I've been all over Japan and to many onsen resorts, but this is one of my favourites. We just came back from 2 nights here, which was well timed in the middle of a trip to Tokyo. Getting away from the city to the serenity of Chikusenso was a fantastic break, and the whole experience was wonderful. From our arrival and pickup at Sendai station to being dropped back at the station 48 hours, we felt nothing but looked after and completely welcome. The resort itself is beautiful, nestled away from everything - we were lucky enough to be some of the only guests mid-week, and experience the resort covered in fresh snow.

The rooms were really great - the *only* thing I could ask for would be for fresh milk for coffee in the mini-bar and at breakfast. Other than that, absolutely NO complaints. Speaking of breakfast and dinner.... they were absolutely beautiful. One night we had a dinner of fugu in every course, and it was one of the highlights of the whole trip.

The onsen facilities are also great, with a good mix of public and private baths. The outdoor baths were really special with all of the snow around.

Would definitely recommend this place, and we'll definitely be back on our next trip to Tohoku.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

Rare gem in the foothills of Mt Zao. Immaculate indoor and outdoor onsen facilities. Phenomenal kaiseki and teppanyaki dining. Ready access to Miyagi Zao Eboshi ski resort. Unbelievably gorgeous snowscape!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hiee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews