We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Provided the Honey in our honeymoon!”
other travellers have booked this property
waterfront log cottage 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
waterfront log cottage 2
waterfront log cottage, just above the beach, private and scenic boathouse cottage on inlet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
waterfront log cottage 2
waterfront log cottage, just above the beach, private and scenic
boathouse cottage on inlet
boathouse view dusk.JPG
livingroom Boathouse cottage
beach near boathouse
kitchen log cottage
livingroom log cottage
log cottage bedroom
down at the beach of the log cottages
view from log cottage
Campfire down at the beach
Kayaking around the Island
Protected inlet for safe kayaking
lighthouse kayaking near cottages
St.Peters Canal connecting
the Lake with the Ocean
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St. Peter's, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Matthew W
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Provided the Honey in our honeymoon!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The first leg of our honeymoon could not have been more perfect! We were greeted warmly by our lovely German host, Eberhard. His hospitality made us feel at home from the very beginning. He made it very easy for us to make the most of our time in Cape Breton by informing us of all there was to do in the area. We also were able to share wine and a delightful conversation with him! Cabin 1 was just as welcoming with its rustic and serene characteristics it is literally right in the middle of the woods right in view of the Bras d'or lake which was breathtaking every single time. Our second night there we witnessed, quite possibly, the most breathtaking sunset my wife and I had ever seen. No one else was around and the pebble beach was indescribable. We were surprised to learn that many of the attractions were at least 30 minutes-2 hours away but this was perfect when we wanted a nice relaxing drive. The scenery during each drive was unmatchable. Eberhard is an excellent Kayak instructor and a highlight for us was the morning spent on the lake behind his property kayaking, and witnessing the wildlife while gliding through the crisp and clear water. We built a fire, got to get our drinking water from a fresh spring, enjoyed nature, and explored Cape Breton. A fully excellent stay with sweet memories. We could not have asked for a better start to our marriage and honeymoon!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: can not think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iryna M
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place for relaxing vacation!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in a cottage #1. It's a beautiful place right on a beach (50 meters). Our host Eberhard was very friendly and helpful, he gave us good advice on what to visit. Cottage was clean and very well kept. We knew that there was a cottage #2 close by, but cottages are hidden, so you don't see anyone around, just birds. It's also has a good location if you want to explore Cape Breton. We visited Ile Madame, Louisbourg, and made Cabot trail in two days. And on top of everything it's difficult to beat the price!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lorraine...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint, Romantic, Very Well Kept”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottages were literally the best way to start off our roadtripping honeymoon around Cape Breton Island. Our host, Eberhart was incredible accommodating and lovely. We stayed in cottage 2, which is totally hidden from cottage 1 (and vice verse) and it felt like we were the only people for miles. The cabin is cozy, it was just the two of us but there is another bedroom with 2 small beds. The kitchen is well equipped and the cabins are in great shape and have a homey, warm feeling. The beach is AMAZING. We were there before the season started, so I cant speak for the peak season, but it was totally deserted and the water is clear and beautiful. It was a great first stop for the weekend before we headed off to the Cabot Trail! We would easily stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, coziness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orenba
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene. Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the "boat house" for three nights. It was simple, clean, spacious, and most importantly, overlooked the beautiful lake and the eagles (binoculars provided). We went out kayaking a couple of times. Walked to the nearby beach. Biked. Had a wonderful time. Eberhardt is the perfect host - helpful when needed, absent when needed. Extremely nice and gracious. Highly recommended! We were there with our two boys, ages 10 and 15, and all four of us had a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony
Liked least: The master bed was very hard
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Reviewed July 14, 2010 for a stay in August 2008
7
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Herzogenrath
Reviewed July 7, 2010 for a stay in September 2008
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing