We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fabrice C
Newbury, New Hampshire

Lovely hotel and great restaurant

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 14, 2019
We stayed 3 days at the Auberge and had diner at the restaurant twice. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant excellent with a fixed price menu at around 26 EUR without wine. The host is very friendly. Cucugnan is a great place for a stop between the Queribus and Peyrepertuse castles.
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 km from Auberge du Vigneron
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Auberge du Vigneron
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.1 km from Auberge du Vigneron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    0.1 km from Auberge du Vigneron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Chambre lit double
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    0.2 km from Auberge du Vigneron
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Blick auf den Pool und die Außenküche
      0.1 km from Auberge du Vigneron
      Pool
      Restaurant
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      14.7 km from Auberge du Vigneron
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      23.7 km from Auberge du Vigneron
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      18.8 km from Auberge du Vigneron
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      10.7 km from Auberge du Vigneron
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in Cucugnan
      Reviews (168)
      Filter reviews
      168 results
      Traveller rating
      89
      55
      15
      4
      5
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      89
      55
      15
      4
      5
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 168 reviews
      Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

      A room out of the box! Facilities tick most boxes. Large airconditoned room, kettle, separate toilet, terrific bathroom. Two large opening windows. Facing street ~ but is a quiet area. Some confusion at check in as there is no manned reception area. Key was eventually got from bar across the street. Language is a challenge if speaking only English. Eggs, bread and cereals available as part of self serve breakfast. Best room we have stayed in during the past 3 weeks hiking and biking in France.

      Date of stay: August 2019
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      3  Thank grstoward
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed August 7, 2019

      We had an excellent dinner, especially the pintadeau en croute, with very good local wine overlooking the sweeping valley and across to the Chateau of Queribus.
      Charming service, high recommended. Cucugnan is a lovely old town, ideal for visiting the man ruined castles. They are now called the Cathar Castles, but the first time we came, more than 30 years ago, they were called "Les Chateaux vertigineux", which they are.

      Date of stay: August 2019
      Thank Anna M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed July 23, 2019

      Tiny Cucugnan lies in magnificent countryside between the breath-taking chateaux of Peyrepertuse and Quéribus and is a very practical base for exploring this fascinating land of the Cathars. The Auberge du Vigneron is right in the middle of the village; cars are not permitted in the main street between 10.00 and 19.00 but you can drive up to unload. Other reviewers are right about it being a little confusing who is exactly in charge here ... but don't let that put you off. A little unprepossessing at first sight, the small hotel has spacious and bright modernised rooms with very functional bathrooms, and great beds. The hotel’s own restaurant is down below the entrance level, an atmospheric cellar with a balcony looking over this terrific countryside, wines from vineyards you can see from your seat and excellent food. For variety, there are other eating options within easy walking distance.

      Date of stay: July 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank wanderlustLucerne
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

      This is a lovely spot to stay - clean, characterful and comfortable. Having read some reviews about poor service, we were expecting it to be closed when we arrived so just sat for a drink in the bar opposite. We decided to treat getting in a bit like the opposite of an escape room but the challenge was to get in, not out and we weren't disappointed! No one seemed remotely bothered if we found our way but the key-finding game was good fun in the end. Went for a walk in the black of night and the stars were amazing. Breakfast was simple but delicious and we would definitely stay again.

      Date of stay: September 2018
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      1  Thank Peredvizhniki
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed July 11, 2018

      Cucugnan is very small and out in the country quite a ways. The hotel in which we stayed, Auberge de Vigneron, is central to visiting two of the very interesting Cathar castles in the general area. The place is small and very nicely maintained both in the breakfast area and patio and in the rooms. We had room 1, there are apparently 4, possibly more, at the top of the stairs. There is no elevator. The two beds were very comfortable, the room spacious, the shower perfect. A small air conditioner over the door takes the heat off nicely, in other words, a typically small and underperforming (but blessedly welcome in the heat) French air conditioner. In this, the hotel gets 5 stars. BUT in service, which was not in sight at any time during our stay, it gets zero. We arrived at 5PM (1700) and the hotel was locked and nobody there. Calling the number listed on the front door’s note did not go through. We asked the woman across the street when the owner might show and she suggested around 6PM. The cook, not the owner, finally appeared at 620 and was dour, unsmiling, and unwelcoming, although she did manage to access the computer and find our reservation. We got our key and that was that. Due to total lack of service and the fact the downstairs restaurant had only just begun prep work at 630PM for an opening at 7-730, we felt we would eat elsewhere and did so, down the street at another place. This hotel is not open at all on Mondays which would have been significantly bad had we arrived Monday, given their lack of interest in the guest service department. Parking is down the street, about 300m or so in a communal parking spot, not in front or near the hotel. I am not obsessive at all but at a minimum, a hotel needs to show some heads up attention to guests. So, I would say I would stay here again if back in this area because it is comfortable and central but I would also make sure to communicate with the owner that I expect someone to be on the premises upon arrival. Perhaps the owner had come down sick, perhaps a child had an accident, something or other, things happen, but if so, couldn’t one have arranged a bit of fall back behavior? It is a hotel after all, is that too much to ask? Or stay elsewhere.

      Date of stay: June 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank travel035
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews