We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So glad I found this wonderful retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Povoacao, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
bdahoney
St. George, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So glad I found this wonderful retreat.”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This review is long overdue. My mother, husband and I stayed here in 2014 while spending 3 weeks in the Azores. This was by far our favourite stop. The little cottage is wonderful, well furnished, cozy, well equipped and located in beautiful surroundings.It was so peaceful for us and very relaxing. An easy walk to town. We had no problem making meals in the creatively compact kitchen. I would HIGHLY recommend this cottage and we intend to return. The host was very lovely and accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A rare opportunity to stay in a rare home and wonderful gardens.
Liked least: Our stay was too short.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdnl
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the high expectations we had”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is difficult. The cottage initially seemed wonderful, but after being here for a few days we experienced a serious flaw: the location. This sounds strange as the location is also what makes the cottage unique: it's in the middle of a private forest, surrounded by trees. However, that means no sunshine at all and the need to always turn on the lights.

Negative notes:
- It was very humid and cold during our stay. We had quite bad weather and the provided heaters were not able to make the house comfortably warm. The fireplace was no alternative due to the smoke it caused.
- the kitchen is not suitable for real cooking (only 2 stoves)
- the bed in the master bedroom is very sturdy

Positive notes:
- We had a power outage and the owner did more than we could ask for to get it fixed asap on a Sunday.
- Internet is provided via a mifi which is very handy as you can take it with you during your trips
- The cottage is in a 4 acre beautiful private garden/forest

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free mifi internet
Liked least: Cold temperature in the cottage
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Dear Sander, Thank you for taking the time to review my property and give us your honest feedback. I am deeply sorry that you didn't feel comfortable during your stay. The issues you outlined are being taken into consideration in order to improve for the future. Nevertheless, the humidity and low temperatures definitely had a huge influence in your evaluation so I do hope you’ll give us another chance to see what you can come to expect from this unique property in Furnas. Sincerely, Estevao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veroni H
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The garden is a jewel, like we slept in a botanical garden, amazing!”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house doesn't have a garden, it has a park, a wood! You have your own stream, with a small waterfall, a pond, with a hanging basket above it in which you can sit, read a book, or just look over all the flowers, birds and the clear water. There is a fruit garden where you can pick your own fruit, en so much space to enjoy the quiet environment. There is always the choice to sit in the sun or in the shadow. When you walk to the highest part of the property you have an amazing view.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Dear Veroni, Thank you for your wonderful review, and generous comments on your stay. We are thrilled to hear that our unique property provide you a memorable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Estevao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique cottage in a marvellous location”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The tree house is a modern cottage lying in the middle of a large domain at the outskirts of Furnas. It is well located to discover the eastern part of the island. The huge garden is great at has a nice viewpoint at the top. The cottage is is cosy and well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unieke locatie
Liked least: Weinig warm water in de badkamer en douchen was moeilijk
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Dear Katia, Thank you for your review and generous comments on your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Estevao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip69156...
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
We appreciate your review and those negative aspects will be improved to our future guests. Regards!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maguro75
Dietikon, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Geschmackvolle Einrichtung
Liked least: Viel Schatten durch die Bäume, dadurch eher kühl.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing